We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect business location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Demidoff Country Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Demidoff Country Resort to your Saves list
Demidoff Country Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Lupaia 1556, 50036 Pratolino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratolino
Harare
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect business location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed three nights for business purposes and was delighted by the location, comfortable accommodation and excellent service, delicious and interesting menu, perfect breakfast and good wine list. The staff are friendly and knowledgable, and create an ambience of quiet efficiency. I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in staying close to Florence, and particularly for conferences and workshops.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    106
    39
    35
    12
See reviews for
53
131
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pool ok. Room shabby. TV won't play media files. Pointless motion detectors in room. All that is NOTHING compared to the fact I just killed 3 bugs filled with RED blood (read: PARASITIC). Two were crawling from my wife's pillow as she slept, one from the wall.

Initial search on bed: nothing. Moved bed from wall. Found bugs in a crack where wall met carpet. Took a pic of one (before killing it) Google research points to BEDBUGS.

This is worrisome because they are attracted to warm CO2 (aka what humans exhale) and are known to carry disease.

Thank god we're only staying overnight!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demidoff01, Direttore at Demidoff Country Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Mr. Wilben,
Thanking you for posting your comment after your stay in our Hotel, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our Pool. Regarding the insect founded in your room we activated the company responsible for the disinfestation (the company carries out regular monitoring interventions and disinfection of rooms and common areas of the hotel). The operator of the sanitation informed us about the bugs problem, this insect use to travel on the luggage because the storage rooms or the luggage compartment of the buses are the perfect ambient where they live; therefore are the same Guests whom brought the bugs in the rooms. We apologize for what happened; now we improved our screening and monitoring plan to avoid future happenings. We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel for your next stay in Tuscany in order to prove you our real quality standard.
Best Regards
Salvatore Donadei
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURBAN SOUTH AFRICA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel on new years eve. what a pity. This hotel is located in the most beautiful part of Florence. On one side of the hotel is the view of the city of Florence and the other is the greenery of the Tuscan beauty. Our stay here was very memorable and enjoyable. The rooms in hotel very clean and tidy a bit old fashioned but comfortable. Wifi is free but we did encounter a bit of a problem could have been due to network problem since it was new years eve. We had a special dinner ,we were with the group with Trafalgar and we had an awesome time on the night at dinner. The restaurant staff on duty were really very helpful and efficient being a festive season they worked beautifully with a smile. Breakfast was good and view from the dining room very pretty.. There is also a beautiful indoor swimming pool in the hotel. This property will give one an amazing experience. This place is a delightful hotel to stay in I wish I could have stayed longer... Well recommended , I will definitely choose this hotel again worth the stay. If you need to visit historic sights of Florence I'm sure the hotel could arrange a shuttle to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The location is nice, the Hotel in general ok but the price far to high for the service offered.
Some examples:
- We ordered a package for two, including wellness for two (was mentioned to be for partners) and a candle light dinner, but as well a welcome drink and free access to the internet
- We wanted as well to get the free shutle from the railway station
It worked as following:
Shutle bus: Was taken at 17:00 but was told to be free at 19:00 but as we learned, there was the cycling world championship and the bus wasn't able to run normally. But no one at the reception desk was informing us about so we took a taxi (50 Euro) to get to the hotel with a long deviation the driver had to take (because of lack of the information at the hotel)

Candle Light dinner: Turned to be out to be a normal dinner. Was told by the staff a few weeks ago it was served on the terrace and was a special on

Welcome Drink:
Wasn't offered on its- one we had to request for it. For a hotel in that price-segment, a welcome drink is a welcome drink means it gets offered just on its own when the guest do arrive

The room:
For a Hotel in that price class, we would expect no moisture in the shower

The internet:
for the first day a free-access code was given (never worked on my mobile) and was told we will get a second for the second day. We never got it would need to ask for.

The wellness massage
Wasn't done in special way for a couple (both together), and wasn't offered at all in that way anymore so they handled it as an ordinary massage one after the other. This is misleading on the web-page

We were looking for a hiking map:
Nothing like this was available. the staff had no clue about hiking possibilities or any other recommendation

Targeted audience:
The first morning there was a big traveler group of people (mass-tourism) behaving very agressivily during the breakfast. I can fully understand the hotel needs to make its money, but there needs to be a strategic decision to be made either mass-tourism, or higher level tourism for the price


Overall it was ok and the manager did give a discount of 60 Euro (because of the taxi and dinner issue) on a price of 610 Euro's for two days and the package mentioned. But still it is a good price and I would expect, that the management who was present does take action. In addition, many of the points above were mentioned here several times and it is only a matter of the management to take actions and instruct the staff. E.g. that welcome drinks need to be served without asking for, the internet should be set up for free without a complicated system of a sheet every day, the management should change the web-site in relation to the massage, and as well the dinner shouldn't be named candle-light to raise expectaions (and may be price).. for the regional hiking and cycling maps should be available as it is one of the assets they can offer.
And finally a decision about which tourists they target should be made..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Amazing experience staying at this property. Beautifully located near the country side, surrounded by slopes and all u can see is serene greens all around. The rooms were good, clean and specious. Comfort is d only thing u experience on ur stay at this property. The staff is polite and prompt. Food was amazing and portion quantity of each dish was good and filling. Tasted some delicious Tuscany wine during my stay at this property. The indoor pool was very relaxing.Truly a Tuscany delight :).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Perfect breakfast, relaxing swimming pool, tasty american bar for lunch, amazing restaurant for dinner.And you never wanna leave. If you ever want a great place to stay while going around in Tuscany near Firenze this is right place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Quiet location away from it all. Guests must therefore have to put up with the worst attitude from staff we have ever experienced in Italy. We felt like an inconvenience and on the second of our two night stay we gave up waiting for our wine and just cancelled it. Staff never even asked why! My husband did speak to staff on reception the next day but was simply met with an unresponsive look.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Demidoff Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demidoff Country Resort

Address: Via della Lupaia 1556, 50036 Pratolino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Pratolino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratolino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Demidoff Country Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern building, completely immersed in the nature, with view over Florence. Rooms in contemporary style and in the bathroom, soft towels and natural courtesy kit. Large living rooms, Lounge Bar with charming fireplace. Restaurant InCollina and Gastronomic Restaurant 1556. Heated pool and fitness room. Congress Centre. Free transfer service to Florence (25 min). Outdoor sport activities and water sports on Bilancino Lake. Golf course. Wine, typical food and olive oil tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Demidoff Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Demidoff Country Hotel Pratolino
Demidoff Hotel Pratolino
Demidoff Country Resort Province Of Florence/Pratolino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demidoff Country Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.