We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Rio Sass

Canyon Rio Sass
Val di Non, Fondo, Italy
+39 (0)463 850000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Fondo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was given a FREE guided tour through the canyon and marveled at beauty of this place with every step I took, you would have to be blind not to appreciate this beautiful and historic attraction, and then to have an Italian Ice Cream having completed the walk which is as long or as short as you make it is a real bonus. If you are in the area you must see it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    112
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as impressive as I would've expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went for a drive looking for this "canyon" this evening and after we walked through it were surprised to realize that what we saw was all that was hyped about, and you can reportedly take guided tours through it?
We walked for say five minutes down some stairs through the canyon which was indeed neat, but nothing in comparison to other canyons and sights we have seen. For example, Johnston Canyon in Alberta provides considerably more wow factor and is a much more "worth-it" experience.
It was a pleasant hike and pretty, but nothing I'd call amazing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nature at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you go to Fondo you must walk through the Canyon, it's breathtaking. We went when it was knee high in snow and it was spectacular.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Melting snow and ice from the lake made the cascades wonderful to watch and the walk along the canyon was unlike anything in the UK

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We went here on our last day as we had time to kill, a lovely quiet walk through the canyon with a stream running down one side and woods on the other. It is not a long walk and very pleasant but you must be able bodied as their are some stairs by the waterfall and it takes you to Lago Smeraldo ( Emerald Lake) which was actually frozen when we went.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Rio Sass also viewed

 
Tuenno, Province of Trento
 

Been to Canyon Rio Sass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Rio Sass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.