We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noticeably improved - simply excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Noticeably improved - simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This visit was part of a business retreat -and the second since the hotel was renovated. While the last visit was very good, on this visit changes were observed- for the better. Quality of service was excellent . Though a little slow in the dining room at peak periods ,the staff were helpful, courteous, friendly and engaging . This applied throughout the hotel. The majority of staff encountered had a friendly greeting at every encounter and the level of staff training appears to have made a quantum leap.

The room was comfortable and spacious. Its distance from the main lobby was actually a positive as it created a sense of privacy. In fact that is one of its advantages and strong points- it never feels crowded, and the further away the room the greater the chance of having a satellite pool to oneself.

The food was always good although on some days it outdid itself in variety and quality. Unable to say whether value for money but any package which includes breakfast would be worth considering. The conference facilities were spacious and workable.

With the added free internet, and staff addressing any minor issue ,there was nothing to complain of ,and a lot to enjoy. This would be my pick of hotels for a short comfortable business or vacation visit to Tobago.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be far from the lobby. If this is an issue then let the reception staff know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you soon again. Hopefully this time for vacation only. We are also happy to advise that all our rooms come with full buffet breakfast! See you soon!
Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    294
    121
    56
    22
See reviews for
232
395
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel located within the beautiful Tobago Plantations. The grounds are well-maintained and the service at the hotel is excellent. The staff are super friendly and helpful and go out of their way to accomodate you, which is a rarity in Tobago, given its poor reputation for service. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a wide variety, which they changed every day, so you were never bored of eating the same thing. The buffet on evenings was also excellent. The pool is wonderful to swim in and had warm water which was a big plus for me! I didn't swim in the beach, which seemed bery rough, but it was lovely to go for walks along it.The bar service by the pool is also to be commended. My husband and I loved that we could go running through Tobago Plantations on evenings for exercise, as it is so scenic and relaxing. This hotel is definitely worth staying at.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We do hope that we can be of service to you soon again. Warm wishes until we meet again.

Regards,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a super week at Magdalena Grand. First and foremost we found everyone we were in contact with very helpful and friendly; Robyn, Ricardo, Kiel and Ana being just a few. We stayed on an all inclusive package, via BA, which worked well for us. It was slightly irksome to be asked to sign bills, which may have been required for internal control purposes. The staff displayed varying levels of competence with the billing system. That said, there was certainly no problem or disputes about supplementary payments when we checked out. There were water outages for two periods. The hotel circulated an explanatory note about this. I was ill on one of the days (I'm not attributing this to the hotel) and was particularly anxious about the lack of water on that occasion. The only other issue was a mixed experience at the golf course. With green fees, club hire and cost of buying some balls and tees (we took our own shoes), it was quite expensive. The overall experience did not meet our expectations. But for these issues, I'd have given an overall "Excellent"rating. To conclude on some more positives, there's some interesting wildlife and birds around the resort. we bought a book of local birds from the hotel shop and enjoyed doing a bit of light bird spotting. The business centre was available to us to print off our boarding passes and the wi-fi of good quality and reliable.The lunchtime entertainment jazz singer on Sunday evening were both excellent and seeing the pelican diving for fish as the sun came up and the evenings will be a lasting memory.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room with a larger bed. No room is more than a couple of minutes walk from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind compliments and taking the time to share your experience with us, and the rest of the world.

Thank you also for mentioning our team members who helped to make your stay more memorable. We are very proud of all of them and would be sure to pass along your comments to them.

We do aologize for the inconvenience with regards to the water supply. This was an island wide problem at the time, however we were pleased to ensure a steady supply of water to the resort, with minimum interruptions.

It was a pleasure to be of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again in the near future.

Warm and sunny wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad WI
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Choose this hotel to stay at for Tobago Jazz weekend. Although it was far from the jazz venue, it was great. The hotel was comfortable and the surroundings were fabulous. The pool was very nice, one level throughout for non-swimmers like myself. The beach not so good on that side though but the pool made up for that. Buffet breakfast and dinner was fantastic with a wide variety of food and desserts. The bartender at the pool bar was very helpful in assisting us with drinks selection. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for selecting our resort for your stay during the Tobago Jazz Experience!

It was a pleasure to be of service and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Chose this hotel to celebrate my birthday. Greeted with lovely cake and amazing view of ocean and jacuzzi.
I also attended the Tobago Jazz Festival and had a great time. On the 3rd day I spent the day in and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and environment .
Met Veniesa at the pool who took time to chat without being intrusive... The staff genuinely seem to want you to have a good time.
I only had breakfast on my last day and after having it I regretted I did not come down in time the 2 previous mornings.
I will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Apparently all views are ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Robert,

It was truly a pleasure to be of service to you for such a special occassion. Thank you for your wonderful comments and for taking the time to share them with us.
You certainly have to visit again and take advantage of our buffet breakfast, but don't forget to try lunch by Salaka Grill and our buffet dinner selection at Pembois!
We'll be here waiting to serve you.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed at the Magdalena Grand with my family from 4/21 through 4/26. While we had a wonderful time in Tobago the stay at the Magdalena Grand was very disappointing. First of all I felt like I was being nickeled and dimed. I ordered a salad to go from one of the restaurants/bars and was told that I had to pay an additional $30.00TT for delivery fee since I did not order through room service. In other words I had to pay $30.00 to deliver my own salad to my room. I understand that the hotel has to make money but everything is ridiculously marked up in price. The compound is located way off the main road by design so if you don’t have a rental car you have no choice to spend hundreds of TT dollars on buffet food.
The staff needs to be a little more friendly. I do understand this might be a cultural things but they have to work at being more pleasant. After all they work in the service industry. . The beach at the hotel is horrible too rough for swimming. The good thing is that the provide a shuttle to Pigeon Point beach for free. They should include another beach option also. The grounds could do with more lighting at nights. Based on my experience I am not sure I will ever return to the Magdalena Grand.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper level near the main entrance since the compound is very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share your reviews. It is indeed unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations, we do apologize for this as it is our aim to ensure all our guests have a memorable experience with us.

Our management team is always on duty and we would have been happy to meet with you during your stay to discuss any concerns you may have had, and to improve on these.

We do hope that you would allow us another opportunity to be of service to you. Please feel free to let us know of your next return and we will be happy to assist in making the necessary arrangements for you.

We remain at your service.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Magdalena is a huge complex and sure there are a few minor issues. We could not fault the staff and the effort Steve the operations manager put in - it was faultless. We felt he and his staff wanted us to have a good time in Tobago - Steve we did It is rewarding when hotel staff actually listen to your comments and constructive criticism.! Ainka / Olivia / Kevin and their colleagues were lovely at breakfast and were attentive to all our needs. The rooms on the ground floor were great and comfortable too. We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay. We would advise hiring a vehicle - Charmaine at KCNN's is an absolute sweetheart to deal with - they are a really reliable firm. Would also recommend Peter Cox for trips etc. Katherina Dumas is also a great tour guide. Rain in the UK - wish I was back in Tobago. Tobago is laid back - I wish I was ?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your stay with us. We certainly would like all our guests to experience our beautiful island, and we can tell you did just that!
We're sorry to hear that the weather is not as great in the UK, but we'll be sending you some warm sunshine until we meet again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.