We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"best place to run away too"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
1 review
“"best place to run away too"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

the trip was worth the amount spent not forgetting to mention the friendly staff at the hotel. i will definitely go back this year. must say when visiting go the spa. you feel like heaven after all the treatments.

Room Tip: always go for the ocean view. you cannot beat an ocean view in the morning and late evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of the world.

If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please do not hesitate to let us know.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    251
    98
    45
    18
See reviews for
203
345
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I went to have our birthday breakfast. The waitress Shenika Williams and her supervisor Valerie Blair went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed it to the fullest. We didn't even request it, but they brought cake and ice cream for us both, as well as glasses of champagne (non-alcoholic of course). It was incredible!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Magdalena Grand to share your birthday! We were delighted to make the special moment an even more memorable and enjoyable one.

We hope to welcome you both soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My visit to The Magdalena Grand was truly amazing, especially since we've been to many other resorts throughout the Caribbean. The friendliness of the staff at breakfast to the room accommodations were truly fantastic. Magdalena can definitely be branded as the "perfect" beach resort in Tobago. The food is very delicious and the buffets are diverse to suit the appetites of local and international guests. We're back home now and I truly miss the pool, biking through the trails, the relaxation that the ocean offers you but most of all I miss the warmth of the staff at breakfast each morning. Thank you Magdalena!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful reviews with us.
It was indeed a pleasure being of service and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We came for a week from Sweden and we brought our baby along. We didn't get the crib we requested but the efforts of the staff for making us feel at home and comfortable must be commended. My husband and I would specifially like to thank Jason, the young man that is usually in the hallway, for being ever so helpful. The room was great, the food was awesome and the views stunning. The warmth of the people will bring us back to Tobago and the care from the staff will see us returning to Magdalena Grand.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with babies ensure that you enquire and confirm cribs before hand. The seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your reviews.
We're truly sorry that you did not get the crib you requested at the time of booking. We are not certain that this was communicated to us from the Tour Operator, however our team is always available to meet your needs and we would have been happy to provide this to you had we known.
Nonetheless, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that everything was to your liking.
We do hope to welcome you soon again and to provide you with an even greater memory.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We only stayed for a couple of nights and chose the Magdalena as we were told that this was the best hotel on the Atlantic side.

Room was OK and clean. In the north wing close to beach and small outside pool. Hotel was surprisingly not very full so we had a good rest as everywhere was quiet. Central pool very pleasant. Like many hotels in the US, it is expected that you make tea with a coffee filter machine and this just does not work!

Nice buffet breakfast. However other food was dreadful. Buffet evening meal followed a Mexican theme and was virtually inedible. So much for sizzling fajitas more a question of filling up a tortilla with tepid per-cooked chicken and vegetables. A la carte restaurant closed.

Room Tip: Probably best to be close to the central pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you took to share your reviews with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the facilities and the pool. March was actually a busy month, but the resort offers enough space for our guests to enjoy those quiet and relaxing moments.

We understand that you were only with us for a couple of nights, but the Magdalena Grand offers a variety of options for dining. Our buffet night themes change every night, and while tortillas would have certainly been on the line for the Tex-Mex night, we would have also served a varity of other dishes to suite any taste bud.

Although our fine dining restaurant, Kali'na only closes on Wednesdays and Sundays, you may have also preferred to dine at our oceanfront restaurant, Salaka Grill, which offers an a la carte menu, or perhaps you may have enjoyed our famous steak and ale pie from the Robinson Crusoe Pub, among the many other dishes offered there.

We certainly hope that you would have the opportunity to return and perhaps try our various restaurants. We would be honoured to be of service to you again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I just came back from a week vacation at The Magdalena Grand hotel and the experience was excellent.I must say this hotel deserve the five star rating that it has.The hotel`s staff were very courteous and must give mention to some of them(HILDA ALEXANDER,CAMILLE,VALARIE and ANIKA).The food was excellent especially breakfast and i`m not much of a breakfast person.I have just one issue and that is the flooring of the facilities could be cleaner.I must give kudos to the bellboys,always there as soon as they are called.I assure you,you will have no regrets with this place and the ambiance and scenery of this place is just breath taking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your reviews. We are delighted that we could have been of service to you and your wife during your stay in Tobago.

Thank you for also mentioning our team members. We are particular proud of them and will be certain to pass along your warm sentiments.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

A big thank you to the concierge who went out of his way to help! Overall, a decent hotel an ex-Hilton, lots of workers keeping the ground tidy and well kept, good for relaxing - but suggest you hire a car and explore ! It was such fun!

Room Tip: Compared with other hotels in and around the area this is top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachael N, Director of Sales at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your short, but sweet comments with us. It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you soon again and to providing you with an even more memorable experience!

Warm wishes,
Magdalena Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.