We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lowlands
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Second time there with my husband and 2 young kids. The staff,food,pool,playground was truly awesome. My kids had a blast in the jacuzzi as well. It is worth every penny you put out. Robyn and Tony are really warm and hospitable. Housekeeping can do a tad bit better when it comes to keeping the rooms that have very small children in it though. All in all great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, we do hope you will make it a third stay soon! I note your comments re housekeeping when small children are in the room; please make sure to tell us when you are here if there is anything more we can do. We are here for you.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    217
    83
    42
    16
See reviews for
163
308
19
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
caribbean
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has something for everyone, my family and I stayed here from May 30 2013 for four nights. we had a one bed room suite which was very spacious and comfortable, my young daughter enjoyed the kids club, although the hotel was full of kids not many went to the club. the breakfast was great as was the choices for dinner dining. the beach is not so inviting and is a little rough, but there is a free shuttle every day to the lovely Pigeon point beach.
Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
So glad to hear we met your expectations; and those of your daughter, we love to hear what our smaller guests are saying about us! Hurry back and best wishes from the Magdalena family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is located a short 10-15 min taxi ride from the airport. we booked return transfers online with www.yes-tourism.com who were very reliable and good value. We were met by a driver at the airport in an Audi Q7 and the return was punctual.
The hotel sits at the edge of a large plantation on the Atlantic Ocean side of the island. This means a nice breeze (windy some days) and the sea has decent waves most of the time. We prefer this but it means swimming off the beach is limited. If you want secluded coves and gentle lapping waves, seek out the Caribbean side. The beach itself is good to walk along but we spent most of our time around the main pool, which is large enough for some decent laps and has varied depths and little nooks and crannies where you can just sit, cool off and take in the views. There are plentiful, very good quality and comfortable sun loungers and the pool bar (swim up available) and other restaurants are just a few steps away.
Free bicycle hire is available to explore the grounds, which is well worth the effort and there is an 18-hole championship golf course, too. Expect to pay around £75 for a round with buggy and club hire - don't forget your shoes as they don't hire. Sadly, we didn't have the opportunity to play this time.
Our room was a Deluxe Oceanfront on the second floor in North wing and was just fine. It was roomy, clean with a good bathroom and balcony overlooking the ocean. We had satellite TV with decent channels and free wi-fi, which is a massive thumbs up. The bed was a little firm, but that's personal preference. The only niggle with the room was the window next to the bed, which we had to cover with a towel to keep out the light from the lamp outside. Also, because the top of this window was made of fixed wooden louvres you could hear every sound as people came and went to the adjacent room or along the walkway.
The food in all the restaurants was very good. The buffet dinner was a different theme each night and the choice was extensive (breakfast too). We've made many trips to Caribbean resorts and the food here was some the best we've had. We were on all inclusive and never had to choose the same thing twice.
A word on all inclusive. You have to sign for everything because some guests are on other meal plans and non-residents also use the restaurants because of their reputation. This is a bit of a hassle, especially as not all drinks are allowed under all inclusive so you have to keep consulting the menus. Also, a personal irritation is that a 10% service charge is automatically added to each bill, which I don't agree with, then a space is left for a 'gratuity'....come on! Oh, and all inclusive ends at noon on your last day.
The hotel has a decent gym and there are his n hers saunas, but they were only switched on once during our stay. There are tennis courts and a spa, too, but you wouldn't know unless you ask lots of questions. You see the hotel is very, very laid back (a positive) and the staff are smiley, courteous, helpful and accommodating. They leave you to get on with it, but we felt they could be a bit more proactive in giving an orientation talk/leaflet/map on arrival. It makes a nice change not to be 'sold' to all the time, but more info on excursion possibilities, local sights and the island in general would have been helpful.
There are many things to do on Tobago. We took a full-day island tour which was thoroughly enjoyable (www.tobagoislandtours.com) and there is a daily free shuttle from the hotel to Pigeon Point, probably the top rated beach on the island.
Overall, we had a great week, despite some poor weather at times. It's a wonderful place to chill. If you're looking for lots of night time entertainment however, you need to be down at Crown Point, as there was very little in the hotel and it's a taxi ride to get anywhere.
We would only go all inclusive because we felt this offered by far the best value.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean views but all rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, Guest Relations Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review. I have noted your comments re orientation, as I do all comments from our guests, and will be discussing this with the team. We get many ideas from our guests I always find. Do hope you can come back and see us,
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The staff are pleasant and welcoming, their breakfast is buffet with a wide variety; very nice and tasty. The surroundings, lobby, bar and pool areas are excellent for a getaway. Restaurants are definitely recommended and hotel amenities with wifi are a sure winner. Not to mention the great view and relaxing rooms.

Room Tip: There is a minute or so walk to the lobby inclusive of main pool, bar and restaurants so if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We much appreciate your taking the time to write and review us. We are indeed glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit from just across the water in Trinidad.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 7 great nights at the hotel and it was relaxing and beautiful, it was indeed a second Honeymoon for us. The hotel is spacious and the staff were very helpful and basically left you alone to enjoy your stay, if you needed assistance they were on hand to help. The room was clean and tidy with a great view of the ocean. If you enjoy a walk on the beach it is fantastic especially if you walk on the longer stretch away from the hotel, it is quiet and felt quite safe. The water was warm and inviting but could be a bit rough after the rain. The smaller pools were nice but could do with better cleaning. Baring that it is a lovely place to stay and you won't be disappointed. The food was good and it is better to share if using the other restaurants if you are not into big portions as it is less wastage. There is a daily free shuttle to Pigeon Point as at times the water is a little rougher on the Atlantic side but Pigeon Point is calm and low level water, which was good, my husband was blown over by the reef and Nylon Pool.

We were invited to meet the manager but missed this due to a lovely day on the beach and a late evening swim, but when we did speak to him he was very helpful and dealt with a matter quickly.

The bathroom is big and the water was nice and warm at times a little too hot but once you adjusted the control it was fine, we will indeed go back there and hope for another nice trip if not better.

There only thing lacking is live entertainment but Sunday night was great with a live band and the music was awesome, most other nights it was background music but you still wanted to get up and dance, with a live Steel Band at dinner. This is a place to relax and unwind and to leave the hustle and bustle behind you.
We had a great time and have been taken in by the wonders of the place, the hotel was always being cleaned and even painted. It is in our estimation the place to be!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Mrs. Gay thank you for your generous comments, as I read your review I know we sent you back to London rejuvenated and refreshed. I can tell you that this week we started a new entertainment package where we have entertainment every night from Tuesday to Sunday. We are hoping this will address some of the comments we receive like yours concerning the evenings. (You see we do listen to our guests :-)

Best wishes from the entire Magdalena family and we do hope we can host you again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just back from a week at the Magdalena and we really had a great time.Really nice rooms with a view of the sea and wonderful to wake up to the sound of the waves. Lovely pool area always immaculate and plenty of sun beds for all. The overall standard of the food is excellent with plenty of variety. It is the staff who really make this hotel with their lovely friendly approach to everyone. I would like to give some a name check who really stood out firstly Valerie Blair a true professional who obviously loves her work and gave superb friendly service always with a big genuine smile and nothing was too much trouble. Her assistant Afesha also deserves a mention and she has obviously learnt from Valerie and approaches her work in the same professional way and has a great sense of humour. Next to mention is Tamkia Dick who runs the Robinson Crusoe bar. Very big on personality and she has that bar totally organised in a very professional manner even at the busiest of times and knows mixing cocktails like the back of her hand, she is one smooth operator.
My only criticism is of the Nylon swim up bar where service is really slow and they are never as busy as the Robinson Crusoe. I gave up going there having on several occasions waited over twenty minutes for a beer. Lennox who seemed to be in charge had only one speed dead slow and allowed the serious drinkers who spent most of their day at the bar to continually jump the queue and he did on occasion have a bit of an attitude problem. If Tamkia was put in charge she would with her professional approach have it sorted in no time.
However this is a minor complaint compared to everything else and I highly recommend the hotel overall and hope to return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We do appreciate your review and your review of our staff members and their service. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes from the Magdalena family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived at the hotel by taxi and weren't disappointed! Nice drive of golf course & grounds leading up to the main hotel building. Check in was quick & efficient and being greeted with a hot towel & refreshing cocktail was a nice touch! The bell boy who helped us to our room (Avalon) was polite & knowledgable telling us about Tobago & the hotel. We were in room 240 which was on the first floor. Nice & spacious room with all the amenities that you need, fridge, safe, iron, hair dryer, tea/coffee making facilities. Tv with some English speaking cable channels, reception was slow and it tended to freeze on occasion. Bathroom was nice, clean & large with bath and a separate shower. Our toilet when flushed sometimes got stuck and you had to ensure the handle was put back up, apart from that no complaints at all. We had a great view of the ocean and you could see it while lying in bed which was lovely! Balcony was lovely & had table & chairs and was great to watch sunset with a cocktail.

3 pools, main one in the centre which was near the bar & restaurants, was the busiest, the water was clean but think it could do with being repainted especially by the swim up bar area. There are 2 "satellite" pools one on each side of the main one. We spent most of our time at the smaller pools as they were extremely quiet (it was pretty much like we had our own private pool - divine)! The beach was ok to walk along, quite a bit of debris and could benefit from a but of a clean. We read on tripadvisor that the sea was rough and it was a bit, but we still saw plenty of people in the sea. Loungers, POD's and rattan beds were comfortable and available at all times.

We stayed on an all inc basis and it was great value. The cocktails were great, piña coladas were our particular fave on an afternoon at the pool bar. Breakfast was lovely with lots to choose from, I'm always a sucker for omelettes, I'd give them a 7 out of 10. Lunch in the Pembois restaurant (made to order for lunch) (main restaurant - buffet in evenings) went a couple of times found it to be very nice! The staff are lovely and friendly! Lunch at the grill restaurant was always good & large portions! Staff here were a little more laid back. The pool bar tended by Kevin & Lennox was great! They were super efficient & polite, a great credit! When they weren't on duty the service wasn't as top notch, but still not terrible. The evening buffet at Pembois was good and there was always a lot of choice, lots of fresh food & local dishes, great, no chips in sight! I'm a bit of a chocoholic so there wasn't enough selection of desserts for me, but hey ho it saved me a few calories! Two visits to the fine dining restaurant was included, one of which we went to for my birthday & we got a bottle of prosecco with compliments. The options were good we thoroughly enjoyed the first time however on the second visit I think we chose the wrong things! The staff were amazing tho especially Emmanuel! Robinson Crusoe pub served food (just 6 things i think, we didn't sample any) drinks good & different cocktails available! The cocktail bar was always pretty empty apart from Sunday night when it comes alive with a local jazz band! Was a great night, Sonja & team were great!

Free Wi-Fi at the hotel was a nice touch. We got the free shuttle to pigeon point which was nice, from there you can go on various trips etc Nylon Pool, Buccoo Reef etc. Walked around the grounds.

It was all in all a lovely relaxing week away with nice surroundings, good food & drink! It was a nice quiet resort, busier over the weekend. We'd definitely recommend it!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard S, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. It was indeed a pleasure to host you. Hurry back!
Best wishes from the Magdalena family.................
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.