We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect week in Tobago, thanks to the Magdalena Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Peterborough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A perfect week in Tobago, thanks to the Magdalena Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had the very pleasant experience of staying at the Magdalena Grand Beach Resort over the Christmas period. The Hotel is set in very large grounds that they call the Lowland Plantation, that corporates an 18 hole champion Golf course, several lakes and some private housing. Leading to the entrance to the hotel you have a very impressive water feature, then you enter a large comfortable lobby/reception. In the main building there are several restuarants, bars and a shop. All the bedrooms are incorporated in two wings, one on each side of the main building. There is a covered walkway leading to all the rooms giving protection should it rain. All the bedrooms have a sea view.

I have noticed that on several trip reports, advice was made suggesting that the rooms nearest the main building are more convenient in general. Yes this may be true if you are elderly or infirm, but personally we found the rooms at the furthest ends much quieter and relaxing as they were away from the noise coming from the swimmingpool and the hum coming from the plant rooms close to the main buiding. Wherever you are, it is no further then a five minute stroll and as the grounds are picturesque, we found the walk to and from the main building extremely pleasant.

We were on a Bed and Breakfast arrangement, and that suited us fine, as it gave us more freedom to choose where we were eating. We indulged ourselves on three occasions by visiting the "Kalina" (fine dining) restaurant, as I believe you can only have the pleasure twice if you are on an all-inclusive package. The food was excellent at all venues, but we did find the buffet restaurant a lttle limited. Breakfasts were a sheer delight, having a huge choice and being able to sit outside was refreshing, especially early in the morning. (worth getting up early for!)

If I have to give any criticism at all, it was the absence of some facilities over the actual Christmas period, as some of the shops were closed, also the Spar was shut for three days and we were unable to book any tours from the hotel on those days. It was a bit of a shame those facilities were unavailable, but I do understand that staff like to have some time to enjoy
Christmas at home with their families. My wife did have some treatment later at the spar and was extremely happy with the service.

All the staff we did meet, were extremely friendly and efficient. It is tempting to name a few but that would unkind to all the rest, as they all did a superb job.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and given the chance, we would love to return ourselves

Paul. D. Gallagher.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor have better sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    251
    98
    45
    18
See reviews for
203
345
21
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is newly refurbished with all the amenities you may want like a/c which helps fend off the mosquitoes in a stunning setting. All rooms are ocean view and the beach and its great Atlantic waves are literally a few footsteps from your room.

Breakfast is excellent - a wide choice and the staff throughout are friendly & helpful. Tobago is slow paced and the people often reserved. Appreciating that helps avoid any misunderstandings.

Sunrise is spectacular on the beach.

It is a superb base to visit other parts of the island by car. If you like to explore then dont even think about going all inclusive but enjoy the relative comfort here then enjoy day trips to stunning less developed places like Castara.

This is not luxury by western standards but is comfortable and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ground floor so you are steps from the beach is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel minutes away from breath taking beaches, wonderful facility, good food. Clean facility
Just wish there was an all inclusive option
We had an ocean front view which was gorgeous
Suggestion: bottled water should be provided in rooms

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's the newest resort, recently done over. Everything was perfect except the food and beverage staff needs to offer friendlier service!!!! There was a small issue with black birds attacking your food when left unattended at breakfast time . And I would recommend having a rental car to get around .
Fantastic ocean view with lounging!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Abit late with my review but I must say it was a very good hotel. I only have a 3 very gripes with this hotel so let me get them out the way first. 1. For some reason there was a leak in or room so the bedroom floor was soaking due to the air con. But they swiftly moved us to another room so not too fused about that. 2. The only other gripe is the fact that the hotel is situated on large plantation grounds so which means you need a car or its a 30 minute walk out of the grounds. if you call a cab from the hotel the charge you 3 times the outside the hotel price. 3 the beach is unswimable unless you wanna commit suicide as its rocky and rough as its on the Atlantic side. they do compensate for that by doing 2 free journeys in the morning to 2 different beaches store bay and pigeon point. Pigeon point you have to pay to go in food and drink is overpriced there and the beach aint that great, Storebay on the other hand is free to visit and is a much better quality beach and food and drink there is very cheap. A good tip is not to book with the driver for trips he will rip you off as all he will do is pay the real price for teh trips and charge you near double. when you enter the beach haggle for the glass bottom trip as it very enjoyable do not pay beyond $70 each for adults which is equal to about £7 a good tip is to say someone before the person hustling you offered you that price. The hotels breakfast is also super lots to eat and the gym and pool are great also they have pay workers incase you wanna leave your children for a few hours.

The island is very cheap when it comes to going out to eat I liked eating at chef and bar b que you can get loads of different dishes on one plate for about £4. Taking cabs on the street was safe and extremely cheap if you are driving you wont believe it because petrol is equal to 15 p a litre BARGAIN BUCKET or what.

Back to the hotel all the staff are very helpful the door staff and security will give you the best tips on places to go and prices you should be charged so tip them well. Also be sure to go and eat at jemma's treehouse restaurant that is actually on a tree very good food.

Room Tip: anywhere to the left off the hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed 1st week of December on All inclusive basis.

THE Hotel

Turned off the main road into a gated community, the hotel is about 5 mins drive through the golf course. The hotel has a beautiful entrance and lobby all decorated quite beautifully for christmas. Check in was quck and efficient, even though all inc you need to hand over a credit card for any extras you may incur. You are greeted with a cold drink and a refreshing towel whilst checking in. Whisked off to our room by buggy. We were told we could use the buggys whenever we wanted to just call, our room was a 2nd floor room in the south wing and it is only a 5 min walk to reception and we never used the buggys again until we checked out. Check out is 12 noon, but we asked for a later checkout as we were not leaving for the airport until 3. So checkout was extended until 1 pm free of charge.

ROOM

Our room was lovely, just like the photographs. It had a large bed, which was very comfortable. There is a TV with 15 channels, an iron and ironing board in the closet. The closet has ample space both hanging and shelving. There is also a mini bar which is empty on arrival, you can request this be stocked at an extra charge from AI. We had ours stocked with 6 diet coke,6 beers and two orange juice and it was quite expensive about £30. Thhe rooms also have a coffee maker and if you run out of supplies you can always ask for more either by asking a maid if there is one about, or calling reception and it would be supplied within minutes. This is included in the all inclusive.

The bathroom is nicely appointed with walk in seperate shower, wich always had hot water, a seperate bath, plenty of towels and face cloths which you don't always see these days, and a supply of toiletries. We didn't use the toiletries as we had our own, so I am unsure if they are restocked as used.

I loved our balcony, they are all sea facing and I enjoyed reading my kindle out there early morning waiting for the sun to come up, listening to the ocean breaking on the shore.

FOOD

The breakfast is very good and has a variety of dishes every day. I personally liked the made to order omellettes. You can eat inside or outside on the terrace, which we did daily. Lunch can be taken at either the restaurant where you order off a menu, or the grill where they do a variety of sandwiches and wraps.

Dinner is where I struggled but then I only eat very plain food, my partner found the food varied and very good. The buffet varies ever night they have carribean night, asian night and BBQ night and seafood night to name a few.

The AI includes 2 visits to the fine dining restaurant and the food and service is excellent. You book this with the concierge and hand the vouchers over in the retaurant.

There is also a coffe shop at the entrance to the hotel. Excellent lattes and cookies although this is not part of the AI but prices are very reasonable.

BEACH AND SWIMMING POOL

We didn't use the beach at the hotel but there were sunbeds and umberellas. We used the free suttle at 9.00 am to go to pidgeon point twice. The shuttle is free but there is a 20 TT charge to enter the beach. There are sunbeds for hire as an extra. Pidgeon point is a lovely calm sea. We took the return transfers at 2.00pm and were back in time for the end of lunch service.

Thepools are chilly once you are in they are ok. The girl at the swim up bar makes great pina coladas. There are sunbeds and just a few umberellas around the pool.

DRINKS AND BARS

There is a good selection of all all inclusive drinks and each bar has a menu showing wich drinks are included in the AI. I spent the week drinking white russians and cosmopolitans at night and pina coladas during the day. My partner worked his way through the cocktail menu.

There are two bars, the piano bar and the pub" both are excellent, brilliant service and very friendly staff. The pub has a band on Friday nights and the piano bar has a singer on Sunday, my partner said she was brilliant.

OVERALL

This was a very relaxing holiday. You have to sign for everthing apart from breakfast, so you can see the cost of everything and it would be quite expensive to not be all inclusive. The hotel is beautiful, all staff are warm and friendly. I would return in a heartbeat and reccommend it highly.

Room Tip: All rooms are seafacing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

To start off with, we had a great time and most likely it is the best hotel / resort on the island. The location is great, but if you want to see anything of the island besides Pigeon pont, you'll need a car or take taxis.

The staff in general are friendly, but it is a wild mix between very relaxed and blatantly incompetent. The Bell boys are great! But the bar staff at the pool side have no sense of time and are uninterested. the concierge was brilliant in organising a rental car.

Our room was never properly cleaned and the maid never emptied the coffee maker. It wasn't dirty, but also not clean. They also forgot to come all together one day. After we had reported this, they only showed up with fresh towels (although they had a couple hours during dinner time)

Do not take the Dinner buffet. It is of medium quality, but a complete ripp off for 260 TTD per person. There are very nice restaurant just a couple minutes drive away (Me Shells, La Tartaruga, La Cantina for instance). The breakfast buffet however is very nice.

In conclusion: we'd probably go here again, it is a good hotel, but it is not top class. Probably 3 european stars.

Tobago is great though! Go for a hike with Emile Serrette, brilliant guide (http://www.naturetrektnt.com/)

Room Tip: I would stay away from the main building (room274 for instance) the air conditioning unit seems loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.