We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel for our halfterm holiday. The rooms are big and our 2 bedroom suite was actually 3 rooms with the connecting doors unlocked, giving us a king bedroom, lounge room and twin room although we had to get the twin opened up on arrival. So lots of space and an outdoor jacuzzi.
The staff are generally helpful and friendly although service in the restaurant was a bit patchy. The theme night was a fight for a table with the all inclusive guests behaving as if they were entitled to priority seating and little organisation from overworked staff.
Plus points are the pool area and the concierge. Downside was the leak in the lounge after the tropical downpour (we did go in rainy season) and long drive over large speed bumps in and out of the property.

Room Tip: all rooms have ocean views but the hotel is large so you can find yourself quite far from the centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    294
    121
    56
    22
See reviews for
232
395
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and it is once again my favorite place to stay in Tobago. This hotel has just undergone a complete renovation and rebranding and is back to its state when it originally opened as a Hilton. The staff were friendly and efficient, breakfast was a treat with the traditional european/american fare as well as some local treats.

Good to see that this hotel is back to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for two weeks and have just returned from the Magdalana Hotel. We are a family of five, having 3 children aged 7, 9 and 14 this is what we thought of the hotel:
Pros - Rooms are very clean and tidy and a good size, view was very nice too.
Food was very nice all the time
The grounds of the hotel are amazing (although the golf course needs attention if your a golf lover, god help you if you lose your ball! You'll get sunstroke looking for it!)

Cons - Service and attitude of staff serving food and drink sometimes unbelievable!...they could be rude and abrupt even when asking for a cup of coffee! Or a table to sit down....or cutlery..etc we were also rushed out of Kalinas at 10.30pm because the kitchen was closing and we were the only people left..even though we booked a table for 8.30pm but didn't get the table until 9.15pm!..
The Beach in the morning was extremely dirty everyday and they were slow to clean it.
They had a kids club but it wasn't very good and never did I see any kids going to it especially mine which was something we were looking forward too..
Although its hard to keep a 14 year old happy at the best of times there wasn't much for him to do apart from tennis in the sweltering heat..they had table football...but no ball so we used a nut off the beach....and they also had an air hockey table but it didn't work!!...

We did spend the day at the Coco Reef hotel and all my kids preferred it, there is a bay directly opposite the hotel that the children can snorkel in and it's very safe, they also had the choice of a swimming pool. The staff were all friendly and helpful and it was clean. Although the hotel is slightly dated its still lovely and you really feel like your in the Caribbean.

So all in all we wouldn't go back to the Magdalena which is a shame as it could be somewhere really special if they paid attention to details....when your paying a lot of money to stay somewhere you expect your money's worth and we didn't feel we got our money's worth...

Room Tip: Choose one closer to the main part of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Recently returned from a week's stay at the Magdalena.

it was our first time in the Caribbean and we're glad we chose Tobago and stayed at the Magdalena. So here goes the review:

Pros
Nice welcome- cool towels and welcoming drink
Friendly staff
Hotel room was very clean and was well appointed- great air con
Lovely balcony and comfy chairs (slept many hours in them!!)
Quality of food very good, especially in the Kalina restaurant
Location of hotel on Atlantic side- lovely constant breeze and great waves to play in!
Nice pools and plenty of sun loungers
Very quiet


Cons
Debris washed up on beach could have been cleaned up more
Some staff, while all friendly, could have been a bit quicker in taking drinks orders. At the Kalina restaurant (the fine dining restaurant) we ordered a bottle of wine and then our food order. The starter arrived before the wine

The hotel is in extensive grounds which are nice but it's not conducive to go walking out of the resort. There is a shuttle bus that takes you to Pigeon Point each day.

The majority of the clientele was German- always amusing to watch many of my European "cousins" sneaking yoghurts and fruit out of the breakfast buffet each day and in so many different ways for their lunch!!!!!


All In all we had a lovely stay at the Magdalena - from what we saw it does look like one of the nicest hotel on the island.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms 338 to 343 on the third floor have the best views of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We split out two weeks in Tobago with one week at Magadalena and our second week at Coco Reef Resort & Spa. Thank goodness we never booked the two weeks at Magdalena. NEVER before have we stayed at such a disorganised resort with such appalling service. The rooms were lovely, the food was lovely but the level of service was ludicrous. We often had to wait for our table at breakfast and dinner time. They appeared to have no order of doing things. Table service was erratic to say the least with us having to ask the waiting staff to remove empty plates which had sat on the table for fifteen minutes. We ordered drinks at the table which never arrived. There never seemed to be anyone in charge and organising staff. The staff had a very obvious couldn't care less attitude and seemed to sense tha place was in complete uproar. On our last night, it was complete chaos with guests complaining about waiting so long for tables, and just sitting down at any tables which appeared to be available. We ended up walking out after just eating a main course. The whole place is a complete shambles. There appeared to be someone who looked to be the manager and his sidekick going about from time to time, but they may as well have been wearing blindfolds for all the difference their presence made. Meals were always buffet style in the evening. We did get a "complimentary" voucher to use in their fine dining restaurant, but when we booked we were told that even though we were on all inclusive basis, the dinner voucher never included drinks, and they would have to be paid for! We also found that the majority of guests appeared to be on half board. Never before have we encountered such greed, as guests were piling high on buffet breakfasts. We couldn't believe, that some tables were piled with plates full of fruit, pastries and muffins, and this was all after a full cooked breakfast! It really did beggar belief. We also witnessed one couple go up to the evening buffet three times each and come back with three different main meals. It really was disgusting. Rooms were lovely. Very clean, but sometimes housekeeping werent in until almost 5'o clock. The entire hotel appeared to be very understaffed & VERY badly managed.
Think very carefully before booking your holiday and parting with your hard earned cash for this place. As I mentioned before, we spent our second week at Coco Reef, and thank goodness. Coco Reef might be in need of refurbishment and may be a bit rough round the edges, but the service is EXCELLENT. The staff are friendly, and it's such a well organised establishment. The management team of Magadalena should go along there and find out the proper way to run a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince A, General Manager at Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a response related to your visit to our Resort. Please feel assured that we endeavor to provide our guests with the service and efficiency expected at our Resort, and when efforts fall short we do not take the matter lightly. Thank you for the comments related to your positive experiences and I certainly appreciate the opportunity to address the shortcomings. I will review and address your comments with respect to slow service matters in Housekeeping and the restaurant along with staff attitude and management organization, that you felt were not up to par. Thanking you again for your posting and we hope you will give the Magdalena Grand another chance in the future should you return to Tobago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at The Magdalena in September for a couple of weeks on a half board basis, this hotel is definitely the best on the island and would certainly recommend it. We had a suite which was very spacious, stayed in room 207/208 had a lovely view but did have to notify reception 4 separate times due to the air-conditioning unit leaking in the living room but they rectified it and offered to move us on a couple of occasions.
The food was very good for a 4* hotel all the pools were very clean but the beach needed attention. One point of concern we had were the serving staff in the buffet restaurant not as attentive as they should be, often we had to ask for cutlery & coffee at breakfast & was often kept waiting for a long time then they had forgot so had to remind them again, maybe some extra customer service training in that area might be advisable. The A la carte restaurant was excellent.
Hired a car through Spence car hire for 3 days would recommend them & hiring a car to view the island at your leisure. We dived with R & Sea Divers who were pretty laid back as most of the dive centres are in Tobago.
Take a trip on the Sugar Lips boat at the beach next to Coco Reef Hotel, good fun & not over full. We found the island very safe & the people friendly & came home very relaxed a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Located on the wind-swept Atlantic side of Tobago, this resort goes out of its way to try to be all things to all people. There is even a kids' day-camp so parents can escape if they want a break. And you can just go from one section of the swimming pool to the next. Easy on the breakfast buffet, though.

Highly recommended is that you find Sledge down at the dive shop and get him to help you strap on the tanks. Other memorable staff are Vandra, the wedding planner who does it all, and Miss Fun -- really it is her title -- who coordinates activities.

Enjoy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort

Address: Tobago Plantations Estate, Lowlands, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Lowlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lowlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new, 4 Star, Magdalena Grand Beach Resort is located on Tobago Plantations Estate, a 750 acre gated community, and offers 178 Deluxe OceanFront Rooms and 22 One and Two Bedroom Suites. All accommodations are Ocean Front with private balconies. This beachfront resort offers an 18-hole PGA Golf Course, its own Dive Center, Spa, and the largest amount of banquet & meeting space on Tobago. Complimentary wireless internet is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vhl Tobago Golf Hotel Lowlands
Vhl Tobago Golf And Spa Resort
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort Tobago/Lowlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.