We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Waters Inn to your Saves list
Blue Waters Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Speyside B&B and Inns
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Blue Waters Inn on the Atlantic side of this lovely Caribbean island of Tobago
This lovely resort is a very pleasent surprise.
Large accommodations with NEW baths all with waterfront views
Exceptionally good food was served at every meal with 3 or more selections and a special
Friday night a excellent steel drum band came to pool area for a few hours
A birding excursion was arranged to Little Tobago - excellent
Scuba diving ... has been very good with some great dives
Most days had beautiful blue water with 60 ft viz
Rolly on top with surge and current below (this week)
Our 2nd dive was exceptional
Green and murky going in but still visibility opened up to 25 ft or more
The usual suspects were about a golden spotted eel here a lobster there but then it started getting really good
Dive master was pointing out a large green Moray eel, I spotted a nice nurse shark below a ledge
Then a 4" brown seahorse was spotted, and then a golden beauty!
A slipper lobster was spotted then another (my firsts)
Another seahorse and then my dive buddy, Anna spotted a swimming octopus!!
All the while a 2-3 knot current was pushing us around a point!
Lucky I had my 12" pointer to allow me to stop and admire the beauty
1-2' chop on surface made getting into the boat a challenge, but we were up for it
To top it all off the Blue Waters Inn on Tobago is beautiful, plenty of hot water and the food served to you at the table is cuisine!
This island is known for birds ... So we are glad to have done a birding trip too
Many of our dearest diving friends and are all smiles
We will be back
Lots a fun
Paul & Sandy

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
It sounds as though you guys had a wonderful in Tobago and especially at Blue Waters Inn. All our rooms are only a few feet from the beach as is the Shipwreck Bar, the swimming pool and jacuzzi. Glad you had some great dives and your write up will be very interesting & informative to fellow divers considering a holiday at BWI in the future. Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    117
    24
    21
    9
See reviews for
50
162
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perhaps the Caribbean's best kept secret, don't know, but we absolutely LOVED our time at this cozy Inn complete with its own dive shop and private (its not actually - all beach are public, but sure seems so) beach. We opted for a bungalow and were not disappointed; bungalows are separate from the main hotel rooms and with the ocean less than 40ft away the rich and famous could not expect anything more for all the $$ in the world.

All our meals were tasty and well prepared (by Jason - we met him and he was very nice); we loved the wait staff (Erica and Avion), front desk staff, and dive shop dive master (KiKi). The dive shop equipment was well maintained and the reef was world class in our opinion; well worth another visit. We came for the diving, had great food, and left with wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Don't be cheap, pay for bungalow #5, it's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I just got back from a week long dive vacation at BWI. It is a beautiful resort. The rooms are quaint, the pool is wonderful and the views can't be beat. The pictures are an accurate depiction. Be prepared for a very remote experience. There are no shops in the area and the resort has a very limited supply of goods, so don't forget your toothbrush! They also seemed to run out of menu items frequently. Jason the chef was accommodating and is very talented. And Juniper makes amazing rum punch!! If you are diving, be prepared for the currents. This wasn't a slow easy drift diving location. But the dives were spectacular and the dive shop is great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review which we appreciate greatly. Also glad you loved the rum punch! The hotel is indeed away from the main tourist areas of Tobago and perfect for those wanting to "get away from it all". We believe the 85 minute drive from the airport well worth the effort though. Just off shore from the hotel are the bulk of Tobago's famous dive sites meaning guests are a few minutes boat ride away. The currents can be fast at times and drift diving is common in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standlake, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A secluded, quiet haven safely remote from 'the world'. My daughter and I had a lovely time, spending a lot of time in the pool and the sea, swimming and snorkelling. We enjoyed all our meals and for our last dinner chef Jason especially prepared a flying fish for my daughter. Very sweet. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We hired a car to do a bit of sightseeing which was really nice and booked a taxi to go to Scarborough. Our taxi drive with Tyroon was memorable, we had so much fun! Went to Little Tobago and on a snorkelling trip, both with Randy who made sure to find lots of interesting sea creatures to show us.
Would definitely recommend it if you want a quiet, peaceful holiday and when you don't need to go out all the time.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs double room which was very nice. Although close to the bar and restaurant we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Marketing Manager at Blue Waters Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review. Blue Waters Inn is all about the simple pleasures in life away from the hurly burly of everyday life. But there is lots to do if you choose and it's great to see you explored the island and did a snorkelling trip to Little Tobago. Hope to have you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed at BWI for 7 nights, and our stay was idyllic - Beautiful views and crisp sea breeze. The drive is 1.5 hours from airport, but we liked the fact it was far away from the hustle and bustle in Crown Point. We stayed on the ground floor a step away from the beach. Waking up and falling asleep to the sound of the waves. The room was clean with two double beds - so good for family use but unnecessary for couples. We did have a leak in the air conditioning unit, but someone came to check it out the next day.
As for the staff at BWI most were friendly and welcoming, however there were a few who were lackadaisical. This may be due to our young age, as the majority of visitors were of the older generation.
There were quiet a few activities/trips you could go on. We went on a snorkelling trip for the first time at angel reef and little Tobago and LOVED it! Even got to swim with some leatherback turtles. The guys who took us on the trips were very lovely, considerate with a chilled back attitude such as Randy and Keishan. We also went to the rain forest and Argyll falls in Tobago which was a lovely break away from the hotel and got to see lots of birds in the forest.
Food at the hotel was excellent, locally sourced produce and the chef Jason was a delight, especially coming out from the kitchen to check if everyones meals were ok, and at one point he even served us for the evening. My hat goes off to him, he does a wonderful job cooking for all the visitors.
Only downside is we didn't get the see the whole island and more cultural activities and food. Would recommend going to the souvenir market which are very close to the airport and getting a traditional Tobagoan delicacy called Roti which is truly scrumptious.
The hotel is quiet secluded from anywhere, but you can easily rent a car for the day - unfortunately we weren't old enough!

Would definitely recommend staying here, and has made us want to book our next holiday in the Carribean already.

Room Tip: we don't know what the other rooms are like but we had a standard room on the ground floor overv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for a week beginning 29th.May. Although it was an hour and a half's drive from the airport on the very twisty roads, it was a relaxing spot to stay. The scene as you rounded the last bend was absolutely beautiful The really blue bay at the bottom of the cliff looked SO inviting.
We had a very large 1st.Floor room, the furthest away from the dining room and from our balcony, we could see right across the bay and across to Goat Island and Little Tobago. The humming birds visited daily and although we only had just one day without rain, it was always very warm.Fortunately we had chosen to go half board and the food was excellent to start with, only deteriorating as the days progressed. As there weren't any real food shops anywhere near, we would have struggled to self cater. I tried to order a small cake for my partner's Birthday but on being told by reception it would cost 300 TT's I decided against it!!!
We took a boat trip, arranged by the hotel on our first full day and then we hired a car, also through the hotel.As there was very little to do at the hotel, we really needed the independence of a car as we thought the arranged trips very expensive..
The rooms were cleaned very well daily and the ice vacuum refilled. We didn't miss a fridge because of this.
Some of the staff were excellent but many of them definitely needed Customer service training!
Having said that, Many of the Tobagan people we also found very sullen and unfriendly, unlike anywhere else we've visited in the world. All other tourists we spoke to while there, thought the same.
I wouldn't want to revisit Tobago because I don't think most Tobagans really welcome visitors and I spent every day, soaked to the skin because the rainy season had really started.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

You have a beautiful hotel, in a beautiful location with friendly general staff.... Our respect to Oswyn, the lovely barman, Avion who smiled us through breakfast lunch and dinner, the lovely Juniper, the front desk staff and in fact all the general hard working staff, were absolutely faultless...because of theses reasons we would love to come back.
However, your upper management are unsociable unfriendly and downright rude. One is too into his body building and entertaining his lady friend instead of greeting his guests or even acknowledging they exist and the other Jason Radic is probably the rudest man we have met in our many years of travel, an extremely discourteous and dictortorial man. Beware if you go sea fishing and catch a fish he will not allow his staff his to cook it for you nor allow you to cook it yourself, so to avoid any confrontation we donated our catch to the staff.
So I please ask the owner Mr Tucker to train his management in the etiquette of customer service,
Or in fact how to just be polite to his guests who have traveled from afar and spent their hard earned money to come on vacation to spend it at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI Instructor Development Centre or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. Deluxe rooms are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago/Speyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.