We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Waters Inn - Speyside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Waters Inn to your Saves list
Blue Waters Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Speyside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Blue Waters Inn - Speyside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Blue Waters Inn is a little piece of tropical heaven in the quieter northern side of the island. Our room was a ground floor with terrace about 50 feet from the beach. It is a great walking and sunning beach. The staff was courteous and helpful esp. The decor is fresh and blue. No phones in the room. No alarm clocks. Near to rainforests and great beaches like Parlatuvier and Englishman's Bay and Castara. The rainforest and Little Tobago (brain coral and seabirds) are at your doorstep.

It is about a two hour drive from the airport best done in daylight to see all the stunning views and hairpin turns with a new beach at every turn. The hotel will arrange a shuttle for you and simply add it to your bill.

This part of the island gives the traveller a taste of the real Caribbean - before the advent of big four star hotels and non stop action. Come here for nature and to nurture your soul.

Do go for a hike up the Argyle River and take a refreshing dip in Argyle Waterfalls.

Do go into town and eat at the local restaurants esp. Jemma's with its shutters open to sea breezes and its 200 year old almond tree and do savour the fresh shrimp and lobster and breadfruit pie and ginger beer.

Spend a day with Simon touring towns and secluded beaches. He is a gentleman and naturalist and so informative and ready to fashion the tour to suit you (Simon McLetchie Tours-www.tobago-adventure.com)

Highly recommed this hotel and this area of the island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    136
    29
    21
    10
See reviews for
60
185
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I have read the comments on this hotel on a few web sites before going on holidays. I am a restaurateur who loves to dive, but I also love to eat and have a good time when I go on holidays, so I was very worried about the food comments in some of the reviews. Thankfully, I thought, we could always go to the other, local restaurants, which have been highlighted by previous commentators.
On out first day at Blue Waters Inn, we hesitantly sat down to lunch, and were surprised at the very good quality of food served. We then tried dinner the same day and were even more surprised at the choice and quality of the food.
It is right that you do not always get a smile from the staff, but we have seen this in many Caribbean islands before.
We were approached by other guests, dive buddies, to join them in the most famous restaurant in Speyside, “Jemma’s”. Now that was a real disappointment!
It took us a while to understand the other commentators, who “disliked “the food at Blue Waters Inn and “recommend” the food in the village.
This has nothing to do with the quality of the food served at the hotel. What the other commentators want is “cheap food”, which is not available in the hotel, but can be purchased in the village of Speyside. It is part of our life as restaurateurs to be discredited by customers who are not willing to spend what our menus require to sustain our operations; it is unfair though to “bad talk” a restaurant’s quality of food and service because one is not willing to spend the monies necessary.
It would be nice to advise other people on this site to ensure that they understand the difference between cheap food and local food. The hotel has some lovely local food on the menu and on the Friday night buffet with the steel band music entertainment.
I agree with the other comments about the rooms. They are clean, but they really need to be renovated. I talked to the manager, Matt, who met us at the hotel bar every evening of our stay, who confirms that the owners of the hotel have decided to renovate the rooms. This would be really nice!
This hotel is all about nature; our kids were playing with four wild turtles in the hotel bay every day!!! We saw the largest manta ray of our diving career. The amount of birds and other wild creatures in this small spot is amazing!
Do NOT go to this hotel, if your idea of a nice holiday is a cheap, all-inclusive, two mile long, white beach with four twenty-four hours buffets going all the time.
If you are looking for a different, remote place that invites you to rest, to come close to nature, to enjoy the simple joys of life, this place is for you!

  • Liked — This hotel is all about nature. enjoy the simple joys of life
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

The hotel was recommended to us by two different people, but what a sad place it turned out to be. The facilities are ok, rooms look fine, beach is just in front, restaurant looks ok too and everything is clean. But the staff is not friendly at all, they are not service minded and even worse, they don't seem to like tourists. Management does not help by just hanging around. Rooms and meals are overrated, it pays to leave the hotel and go to a nearby restaurant. While there is so much fruit on the island, it seems to be very difficult to prepare a healthy breakfast.

The place has a lot of potential. But today it just does not have a 'soul' and for less money you can have more fun anywhere else.

  • Liked — the bay, the beach, the views
  • Disliked — the attitude of management & staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Having stayed at Blue Waters Inn 5 years ago I was very excited about returning and sharing my fabulous experience with my partner. Unfortunately this never materialized as the experience was disappointing.
Upon arrival the receptionist greeted us very coldly. This was a trend that was adopted by all the staff at blue waters with the exception of the gentlemen that raked leaves on the beach every morning. The food at the restaurant was sub par at best. The room was clean but very basic - the drawback was that there isn't a complete wall between the bathroom and the room so there is little privacy to be had.

Also, we were surprised to find out that the hotel is located on a public beach which is accessible by any and everyone. We learned this the hard way as we were enjoying a quiet read on the beach when two bus loads of young rowdy children with a few accompanying adults of the same nature pulled up to the hotel beach. On my way to the bar I was even sexually harassed by one of the adults that accompanied these children. I reported it to the front desk where little notice was taken.

One positive was the dive shop on site. Although the diving in general is far from the best in the world, the reef is in good shape and the shop is close to the best dive sites on the island. One thing to keep in mind is that the boat comes back to the dock after every dive which gives you greater flexibility on which dives you choose. The second dive of the day is normally the more difficult so you might want to sleep in and dive in the afternoon as I did.

I suspect that Blue Waters Inn is still operational today simply because its location is pretty good. It is located on a small bay that is calm and quite beautiful (although there are many such bays in Tobago). Apart from location this hotel has very little going for it. Poor customer service, tasteless food and very basic rooms. My recommendation is to take a day trip out to Speyside rather than stay at Blue Waters. If you decide to stay at Blue Waters Inn don't expect much and you're better off eating at Speyside Inn (opposite the entrance to Blue Waters) as the food there was less expensive and very tasty.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

Four of us spent last week at Blue Waters and were very happy with our choice. The location is fabulous with great diving and snorkelling (especially if you take the snorkelling trip to Little Tobago). We found lots of birdlife to see and had a really good tour with a local guide - Newton George.
It's best to work at enjoying yourself - we tried the restaurants in Speyside and Bird Watchers is best. Also recommend the (fairly tough) walk to the top of Flagstaff Hill.
Some reviewers didn't like the hotel restaurant - well it's not brilliant but the whole place doesn't have a great reputaion for cuisine. And some have found the staff unhelpful - our experience was that you got the best results by smiling first!
Overall we enjoyed the northern, more relote end of the island and were very pleased with the hotel choice as Blue Waters location is significantly better than the other Speyside options.

  • Liked — The location of the hotel and it's rooms right on the beach
  • Disliked — A bit worn and in need of some upgrade
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tobagp
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We spent our family holiday this year at Blue Waters Inn. What a wonderful location to get away from it all!
The hotel is exactly what it is advertised to be, a remote, truly Caribbean outpost, located right on the beach.
The rooms are just a few feet away from the high water mark. They are simple but clean. The bathrooms need some attention, but the staff told us that the rooms will be renovated soon. I hope that they will keep their easy to use feel. The staff was very attentive, this especially to our three year old son, who had a ball playing all day on the beach. The bar and restaurant, just like the rest of the hotel are right on the beach, and we will not forget sitting at the Shipwreck Bar at Cocktail Hour, sipping on our excellent Pina Colladas and Mojitos, while listening either to the waves breaking on the beach a few yards away, or listeneing to the steel band orchestra on Friday night. It would be nice to have another night of entertainment at the hotel. We were told that this does happen, but only occasionally.
The quality of the food and the service was very good, considering the far away location of the hotel. The restaurant setting is charming (like an old pirate's tavern) and the variety of the menu is o.k.
A few days without radio, TV, newspapers and computers, and you actually feel like you are shipwrecked on the beach of the hotel. This can certainly be nerve wrecking for the " I must stay in connection with the rest of the world" person, for us it was a breath of fresh air and total relaxation.
The hotel has a dive shop on the premises, but we did not dive this year, but will definitely take lessons there when we come back in 2009. The snorkeling was fantastic and the hotel offers free kayaks for adventuring out to sea. We did not know, but there are a lot of birdwatchers staying at the hotel from all over the world. The area is apparently well known for its tropical birds.
If you can stand the remote location, this is truly a paradise for recharging your batteries to face the daily drab world again!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

The standard room that we reserved was basic (no TV, radio, alarm, phone, blow dryer, etc.), but it was clean and the view was amazing. Since we didn't spend much time in the room, we were extremely pleased with the location. Our front door faced the water and each room had a patio with chairs where you could relax and take in the scenery. We had a first floor room, which made it extremely easy to just open our door and walk out to the beach. (I believe the hotel also has upgraded rooms, but I'm not sure what the amenities are for those.)

The hotel has beach chairs and towels that you can use, as well as kayaks, all free of charge. There is a restaurant on-site (not great, but not awful either, so it's edible and convenient if you don't have your heart set on a gourmet meal). There is also a bar on-site--made a great Pina Colada. There is a library room that has books that you can borrow in various languages, as well as a TV and a computer with internet access (for a fee.) There is also a ping-pong table, tennis court, and board games that you can borrow from the front office.

A dive shop is also located on the property, which can arrange dive trips. My husband went out and said he saw more on that one dive than all of his others combined. (Perhaps a slight exaggeration, but nonetheless he was extremely pleased with the experience--saw a school of 10 tarpons, eels and a host of fish.) There are also a couple different companies on-site that arrange snorkeling trips and excursions to Little Tobago for bird-watching. For those who tend to get sea sick, be aware that the seas in this area can get a little rough, so rocking on these boats can occur.

The hotel is pretty secluded and it will be a 15-20 minute walk into the small town, if you decide to make that journey. The hotel is also a little over an hour away from the airport along a curvy, scenic road. When I booked our room about three weeks before coming the hotel said they would have a taxi driver waiting for us at the airport. Unfortunately, that never happened--so you may want to confirm with the hotel if they mention this to you as well. Nonetheless it was easy to get a taxi at the airport and go. The price is preset at $45 (US dollars) each way.

All-in-all, if you are okay with a basic, no-frills room, this is a great place. It is in a remote area so it will be peaceful without anyone trying to harass you for souvenirs, etc. If you're looking for a city with a night life scene you may want to look elsewhere. The hotel does have a Steelpan Band play every Friday night from 8pm to 10pm, which was nice.

  • Liked — The Beach Steps From My Room
  • Disliked — Very Basic Rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Waters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Waters Inn

Address: Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Waters Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just 38 guest rooms and bungalows, Blue Waters Inn sits in 42 acres of tropical gardens directly on the beach at Batteaux Bay, Speyside, Tobago. Getting to us takes approximately 85 minutes from the airport. Speyside is super relaxed with quick access to the Main Ridge rainforest and the key underwater sites of the island. Twitchers and divers / snorkellers are very well catered for and the hotel is perfect for those wishing to simply switch off and enjoy the hotels tranquil location. The beach shelves gently and is considered safe for bathing. Lay by the pool or in the open air jacuzzi and admire the view across Batteaux Bay towards Bird Island and Little Tobago in the near distance. Learn to dive at our 5 star PADI Instructor Development Centre or explore the rainforest with one of the local guides. All our rooms are air-conditioned and face the sea. Most offer fabulous sea views and are only a few steps from the sand. The Bungalows are bigger and offer either one or two bedrooms. Deluxe rooms are also very spacious and have an open plan kitchen / living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Waters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Waters Hotel Northeast Coast
Blue Waters Inn Tobago/Speyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.