We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, clean, quiet, hotel, but if you are not diving, probably not worth the drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Speyside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Speyside Inn to your Saves list
The Speyside Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   189 - 193 Windward Road, Speyside, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Speyside B&B and Inns
Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice, clean, quiet, hotel, but if you are not diving, probably not worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

This is a very nice beach hotel. It is located in a less develoveped side of the Island. It is ideal to relax and enjoy the beaches that are near by. However, if you are planning to go to Scarborough or to Bucco Reef you are in the wrong side of the island. It takes 45 minutes to get there from Scarborough because of the narrow, curvy road.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

This is a small hotel with a glorious location in a quiet part of a wonderful island.

Glorious things:
1 sitting on the balcony and watching the ocean
2 sleeping in bed and hearing the waves crash

The rooms are spacious and nicely laid out - esp on the 3rd floor - great great great views of Little Tobago across the bay.
Quiet and clean. Firm mattresses. Simple decor ( one very terrible painting so just
enjoy the view)
Staff are friendly - but remember the pace is Caribbean - it is not DC or NYC .
I did wait 5 minutes early one morning - when I wandered down before breakfast
for a pot of hot water - but they had to heat up the water.

Breakfast is fine - the usual fare. (eggs and a bit of fruit)0
Dinner - quite slow and rather mediocre.

Intenet is available - in the reception area.

For us it was the perfect place - friendly low key - nice to watch the life
roll by from the balcony - very little traffic on the street in front.

It is not the place to go if you want to be pampered but if you want to simply
enjoy the view - swimming - snorkeling- birding and some great roti at lunch -
you CANNOT go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

Let's be frank up front: this is not the Ritz. If you want plush accommodations you are in the wrong place. But there are lots of good things to say about this hotel. First, it's clean well located and easy to find. It's right on the main road, and across the street from the water. You can sit on the porch outside the room and watch the surf as you drink a cool beverage. The air conditioning works well and the beds are comfortable. The cooked-to-order breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The open air dining room was very pleasant. We also ate dinner there one night and had a good meal although it was a little pricey. The cook and waitstaff in the restaurant were lovely.

The negatives? The staff was not there when we arrived. Luckily we found keys behind the desk. Someone (we were later told he was security but he was not on site) came walking up the road... and when he saw we had keys he left without telling us who he was. The attitude of the front desk the next morning was essentially, "Well, you got in didn't you?" By the way, if that attitude bothers you, you DO NOT want to visit Trinidad/Tobago.

But except for that glitch, we enjoyed our stay. The pool up above the hotel and the gardens are really lovely and there are tons of birds to watch. The price of the accommodation was reasonable. It is very near 3-4 lovely beaches.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

We were with a group staying at Manta Lodge, a hotel on the same road in Speyside. We'd had problems with the room and bathroom being very dirty and mouldy at Manta, - we didnt expect the Ritz and have stayed in dive accommodation before, but Manta was just too dirty. The owner, Sean Robinson clearly not investing money into even basic maintenance of the place - we were without water for nearly two days and all he did was swan around the place with visiting family and friends.

We put up with it for a week but did complain to the tour operator and the management - but it seemed the general standard of rooms was pretty much the same - other people in the group were also very unhappy. At the end of the first week we moved to Speyside Inn and felt this was where our real holiday started. Staff at Speyside Inn were friendly, the food was great and varied, our room and bathroom immaculate and spotlessly clean. The pool and garden were great and private from the road. All in all, a great move and whilst almost the same price, a different standard altogether from Manta Lodge.

Interesting to see now that the tour operator we booked with for May 2008 have stopped using Manta Lodge and are now advertising Speyside Inn on their website - so they obviously felt the need to change too. - Wise move!

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

We have stayed in the speyside inn for two weeks in september 2007. The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean and well maintained. The pool and garden were beautifull. All rooms have sea view. The dive shop is located next to the hotel and is run in a very good way by a swiss manager.
Speyside is a quiet place in a beautifull part of Tobago, good for diving or nature. No mass tourism.

  • Liked — dive school
  • Disliked — diversity food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We booked the Speydide inn for a diving trip.
The diving was good, but not spectacular.
The hotel is OK, the best food in town, rooms are nice, but need maintenance. Quality of the staff very different. Some are helpful and friendly, but a number of them is very lazy and socially disabled.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

A lovely little town but had a slightly off-season empty feel when we were there in early January.

The hotel was very clean and simple but felt a bit bleak. There wasn't always anyone on duty at the outside reception area and some of the staff seemed to lack a bit of training. I think this feeling was amplified by the windyness and crashing Atlantic Waves (very noisy at night).

Having said that the hotel was very helpful and organised an excellent rainforest/island guide (Wayne Gray) for us. You can also get a glass bottom boat ride to little tobago from the Blue Waters Inn where there are some lovely sea birds - snorkelling was offered on the way back.

Food at the restaurant was great - we had super-fresh lobster for £10.

I would recommend coming to this area a bit later in the dry season as in the afternoon it wasn't even warm enough to swim. Also watch out for the prices in Jemma's Tree House shop - they blatantly charged us more as tourists, prices differed when servers weren't 'in the know'. Perhaps this is fair enough but please keep it subtle!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Speyside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speyside Inn

Address: 189 - 193 Windward Road, Speyside, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Speyside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Speyside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speyside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your The Speyside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Speyside Hotel Speyside
The Speyside Inn Tobago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speyside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.