We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Spring Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blanchisseuse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Second Spring Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Second Spring Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
Lamp Post 191, Paria Main Road, Blanchisseuse, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
London, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rustic style accommodations at the Second Spring B&B were excellent. Ginette our hostess was genuine and friendly. The meals we had at the Second Spring were of local cuisine and delicious. With Ginette's help we enjoyed leatherback sea turtle watching, the sea, nature hiking in the rain forest, the fishing village, and swimming. The natural environment of Blanchisseuse is beautiful. We used Public Transit and Maxi Taxi while in Trinidad; it brought us to where ever we needed to go. We are from Canada and visited Trinidad and Tobago in June. Second Spring Bed and Breakfast and Blanchisseuse was a great eco-friendly vacation in an amazingly beautiful tropical environment for us. Ginette thank you for sharing your Trinidad and Tobago with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I only stayed for one (1) night but the experience was very nice. The entire compound was well maintained and beautifully landscaped, with terrific views. The room was very well decorated with local art and charming furniture. The kitchenette could have been cleaned a little. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amriswil, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

„Lamp post 191“ is well marked on the main road, but the „Guest House“ sign is somewhat inconspicuous. The studio in one of the cottages was cosy and spacious, the bathroom was nice and clean, although the shower was somewhat dark. The windows had no glass or flyscreens but wooden shutters to keep the sun out in the afternoon. There was a small kitchenette on the balcony including a fridge and a two-plate electric stove. Unfortunately the sea spray had produced a thick layer of rust on the hotplates which considerably reduced their efficiency. A gas stove would probably be the better option. There was a nice view of the grassy slope between the cottages and the cliff, but no actual view of the sea. A bench near the cliff edge allows spectacular views of the rocky coast. Some steps lead down to a narrow sea access for a swim if the sea is very quiet (too rough when we were there). A 5 to 10 minutes walk along the road towards the village centre takes you to a lovely sandy beach. One or two small shops in the village sell basics like bread, but it is best to bring food from Port of Spain if you intend to cook. There is a restaurant at the Laguna Mar Hotel past the village, the walk takes 20 to 30 minutes. Host Ginette Holder is of french origin. She gave us a warm welcome and fulfilled all of our wishes. She brought us a 5 litre bottle of drinking water and free fruit, and she gave us a free ride to the Paria Beach and Waterfall trail head. She also bought us tickets for the Tobago ferry when she went to Port of Spain, and offered us to come along if we needed to do any shopping. She also organized our taxi transfer to Grande Riviere. Thank you so much Ginette, you were so amiable and helpful. Second Spring Guest House is a wonderful place to stay unless you want a beach right at your doorstep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights in that beautiful setting and enjoyed the gorgeous garden and view from our nice room with balconey ... It is a really nice place to relax in front of the sea but if you want to swimm you need to walk a bit.
Blanchisseuse is very little and secluded and don't have much to offer beside rum shops if you need to buy food ! ( Come prepare with all your food and with a car preferably )
We enjoyed our stay very much ... ( more like a peaceful retreat ...)
Aline and Stephane

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have visited Second Spring 3 times (as recent as this past holiday weekend) and it was as beautiful and serene as ever!!! If you want a beach then this place is not for you. Set on the edge of cliffs with a 1-bedroom cottage (with small kitchen), and a building containing 4 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms nestled among the gentle, undulating land in relative close proximity to the main house where the owners (a lovely French and Trini couple) live and breakfast is taken, Second Spring is a rare gem along the north coast of Trinidad at the beginning of the village of Blanchisseuse. Wonderful, warm service, nicely filling and delicious breakfasts in a lovely, lovely setting followed by a walk about the grounds, or sitting on one of the 2 decks at the side of the cliffs reading or just watching out to sea, or watching and listening to the crash of waves against the rocks, or lying on ground cushioned by pine needles and soft grass as the sounds of nature rock you to sleep alone or with that special someone are some of the simple things in life that gives great memories in the years to come. You do leave Second Spring feeling rejuvenated and ready to face the challenges of life if not head-on then at least fortified by your just having spent a totally relaxing and carefree time away from it all...you really do get a second spring!!! :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend, and even though the rooms and grounds were nice and the nearby beaches are lovely, I have very little else good to say about the experience. First of all, Blanchisseuse is VERY secluded and Second Spring is not even in the town. My friend and I didn't have a car and ended up walking A LOT because the public transportation is very spotty. We arrived at the hotel without any food of our own which was a bad situation as there wasn't anything to buy anywhere, and the only restaurant in "town" was at least 3 miles away. I feel that Ginette needs to make this clearer on the website...and also the fact that breakfast is not included (what's a B&B anyway?). We went to the other hotel (that has a restaurant) for lunch one day, and when we told her, she made it seem like we had gotten ripped off, but considering that she charged $10 per person for a "breakfast" of bread and fruit, I think she had a lot of nerve to make that insinuation. Overall, I think it would be a fine place to stay if A) you came with all of your own food and B) had a car. She never offered us a ride anywhere but made comments about how "unsafe" it was for us to be walking around, and I didn't find her helpful or even knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

What a gem! The owner, Ginette is very friendly and goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean and comfortable. The private balconies are the perfect place to enjoy your breakfast, which is thoughtfully made to order by the owner. The grounds are nicely tended, and the views are spectacular!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Second Spring Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Spring Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: Lamp Post 191, Paria Main Road, Blanchisseuse, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Blanchisseuse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blanchisseuse
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Second Spring Hotel Blanchisseuse
Second Spring b&b Inn
Second Spring Bed And Breakfast Inn Trinidad/Blanchisseuse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Spring Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.