We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So chic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acajou Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Acajou Hotel to your Saves list
Acajou Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“So chic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2006

Acajou really is a hidden gem and one of those places I dont really feel I want to write about for selfish reasons - I want to keep it all to myself! There are only 5 wonderful huts in the grounds and they almost feel out of place in rural Grand Riviere they are that... chic! They are private, reasonably sized, but with a fabulous sundeck and hammock. The decor is what makes them so special - muslin drapped 4 poster bed, crisp white sheets and asian inspired accessories. The restaurant wasnt bad, a lovely setting but we recieved quite poor service (we waited 1/2hr to order a drink and over an hour for the food to arrive from ordering) and many of the items were off the menu. However, I must point out we went in low season and the restaurant was full with just one waitress - I think it was possibly an unexpectedly busy night so I would be willing to give them the benefit of the doubt and go again.
The staff can help you arrange a hike in the jungle to a great waterfall with a local guide from the conservation group - I thoroughly recommend it.
Ssssh, I have a feeling this place will be booked up for months once people get wind of it.......

  • Liked — The decor and ambience
  • Disliked — the crabs that are EVERYWHERE (not inside though!)
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont tell everyone!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
21
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kettering
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

Having stayed one night in the resort, we found the room to be of a very high standard with a very comfortable bed, complete with a much needed mosquito net. The location couldn't have been better being approx 80 M from the crashing waves. The bar and restaurant compliments the style of the rooms well, in keeping with the eco theme of the resort, resulting in a very relaxed environment far from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Whilst the food wasn't cheap, it was of a reasonably high standard, served by the very friendly and professional Miranda.

As the resort only has 5 beach hut style rooms it is a very quiet place and we found ourselves to be the only guests which meant we had excellent service throughout our stay. It should be noted we were there in September which is the quietest time of year for tourists.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Trinidad in need of some rest and relaxation.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2006

Warning - this place will steal your heart! Will make you want to stay there forever!
Beautiful! More stylish and elegant than anything else in T&T, while wonderfully understated and modest!
Quiet!!! If most tourist places advertise themselves as "paradise beach" "paradise retreat" - this one should call itself "metaphysical", if only this wasn't too pompous!
The location, the architecture of the bungalows, the interiors, the views - everthing is simply awesome!
The restaurant is great too, parhaps the menu should be more focused on Trinidadian food rather than international cuisine, as the former is parhaps tastier and simply better that the latter :-)
But our dinners there were gourmet experiences, and Annika was an otherworldy waitress :)

A place for those who really, really need to find where the end of the world actually is!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2006

Well, depending on what are you looking for, this could be teh better choice for somebody trying to hide away from the modern life, there is no TV or radio, just the sound of the waves, the birds, the wind and sometimes the rain. It's totally relaxing, the view of the sea from the restaurant and the cottages. The friendly and smiley staff is always there to meet you requirements and the food.. WOW! is very tasty and homey. It's quite far from the capital but it's worth to drive all the way there, you won't be dissapointed. Visit www.acajoutrinidad.com for more info and pictures of what you've been missing! ;). We are foreigner living in Trinidad but everytime we have a chance to go to Acajou... we'll be there!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2006

A beautiful surprise, as soon as got there we were welcome by friendly staff who took us to our cottages, looking beautiful rustic from the outside all in hardwood, but to step inside each one is to find the decor and design stylishy elegant yet supremely confortable with double doors which open on to with relaxing views accross Acajou's magnificient tropical ground, like a botanical garden, to the beach and river. The staff hang hammock for us and we started to be in paradise.
The restaurant is open breeze on the river and the beach, the food was great. The cook Maggie is willing to cater waht ever you feel like eating beside their menu. Acajou is the best place in Trinidad and may be one of the greatest eco-retreat of all the caribbean.
I recommend it, it's a new place so it is not much advertize on the net nor in guides.
Candice

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2005

i re-spent lovely days in acajou in trinidad
the food was very good
the site is wonderful like the architecture of the cottage
i ll go back there again

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

I read the reviews about Acajou. I did not stay the night at the hotel so I will not comment on the cottages. The cottages look nice, but I can imagine they get very hot-- with no air conditioning.

I ate at the restaurant. Besides the fact that we had to wait almost an hour for our food, the food was not very tasty at all. I don't know who this restaurant caters to.. but the food did not have any Trini flava.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acajou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Hotel

Address: 209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Grande Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acajou Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACAJOU is a small, eco-friendly, family run hotel situated on the beautiful and dramatic northern Coast of Trinidad in a little fishing village called Grande Riviere. The hotel is built as a group of traditional cottages nestled in between the beach, a crystal clear river and lush rainforest covered mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acajou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel North Coast
Acajou Hotel Trinidad/Grande Riviere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acajou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.