We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not worth the drive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Acajou Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Acajou Hotel to your Saves list
Acajou Hotel
209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and not worth the drive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The trip to Grande Riviere is a long trip through beautiful scenery. When you arrive you are greeted with a beautiful private "cottages". At entry the staff are friendly and even gave us a free complimentary watermelon beverage. The dining was where it all started to go down hill. The menu tried to be way more upscale than it seemed the kitchen staff could handle and the wait staff (also bus boy/porter/bell hop/waiter/bar tender) had little to no instruction. After bringing the wrong meal and wine on more than one occasion and not even knowing how to open the wine, we were given direction with "this is chicken and some sort of grill something" and "Ya, i don't really know. Breakfast was not any better. We were over charged for our turtle watching as well. If it wasn't for the staff, awkward menu, poor execution of food, ripped mosquito netting, etc... this would be a pleasant place.

Room Tip: Select another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Point Fortin, Trinidad
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at Acajou for one night and I must say I was simply horrified with the service and management.
The place is really quite remarkable and beautiful, but the staff gives you a run for your money. Could not prepare lunch was the beginning of the nightmare. Dinner was so overpriced and though they state on the menu some 'local' dishes, none were really local, they had their own flavor. The staff even refused to make simple drinks as there was no one who could make it.....really? no one knows how to make virgin pina-coladas? seriously????

Then there was the night time music from Rampie, the beach house next door, who insisted on playing music all night long. Seems as though he has some 'war' plans of revenge or a vendetta with Acajou for some reason.....bass was so loud we could not sleep a wink.

Called the manager Christine next morning and was told....well there is nothing we could do in a very rude and nonchalant manner...in other words, you can take your business elsewhere.

I must say the place itself with these beautiful little cabins is picture perfect, but with horrible service and terrible management manners, it's not worth the price of stress.....it's probably time to change the entire staff and bring on board a whole new group of people who have pride in their jobs and love what they do....

Room Tip: Find a place where service and management are more tourist friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

atrip to grande Riviere to be immersed in nature and learn about the ecosystem of the area.The lodge are comfortable and airy with privacy and i was not bothered by insects ,maybe because of the time of the year.The local guide is knowledgeable and helpful.the local roti beats the port of spain roti anytime lol

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In my opinion, this hotel is perfect for a couple on a romantic getaway. We visited with a small child and found this hotel simply not suited to our needs. The cottage was lovely but very small. For the price we paid, I think there could at least have been fresh things for making coffee and tea available. The items provided were very old and could not be used. We stayed during Carnival and therefore was subjected to two nights of extremely loud music. The owner told us that we were supposed to be informed about this when we booked, however this never happened and we were in for quite an unpleasant surprise. The food at the restaurant was good, but again a bit overpriced.

A word of advice, read all the reviews, both good and bad. The real Acajou experience lies somewhere in the middle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My daughter Ashley , insisted that she see the leather back turtles lay eggs, so we decided to plan a trip to Grand Riviere Toco and book two self contained houses at Acajou Hotel . At first we were very worried as the accommodation had no air condition or no TV , but to our surprise none of this bothered us as the rooms were clean well designed and was very comfortable and soon we all felt relax and forgot all of stresses.

We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food was great service and staff was so nice and friendly that our families felt like home away from home .

The location was perfect as we were walking distance from the laying turtles, we drove to the light house and we bathe at Shark river .

All all time we felt safe and comfortable on the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed one night with friends that are living in Port of Spain. Our main goal was to see the leatherback turtles nesting on the nearby beach. It's in a very remote area which is unbelievably natural and forested. Upon arrival we were shown to our room which was an elevated cottage with wide sliding doors opening on to a private deck. Complimentary Ice cold drinks were brought to our room which was a nice touch. The room was a nice size with a couch, rear deck with chairs and a hammock. The staff were very pleasant and the owner was eager to assist us. Dinner was served in an open air dining room,very traditional Trinidad ambience. Our hostess arranged to have someone take us over in the evening to see the turtles nesting. A very unique experience.

Room Tip: It's a great place to stay if you're there to see the turtles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a great retreat...laid back, simple, comfortable and pure relaxation. Great food available at resort restaurant...bake and buljol not to be missed as is the fresh fish for lunch. Definitely worth a visit or 2 or 3!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acajou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Hotel

Address: 209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Grande Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACAJOU is a small, eco-friendly, family run hotel situated on the beautiful and dramatic northern Coast of Trinidad in a little fishing village called Grande Riviere. The hotel is built as a group of traditional cottages nestled in between the beach, a crystal clear river and lush rainforest covered mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acajou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel North Coast
Acajou Hotel Trinidad/Grande Riviere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acajou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.