We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Highly Recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Kuata Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuata Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Kuata Island
Save
You added Barefoot Kuata Island to your Saves list
P.O. Box 6353 | Yasawas, Kuata Island, Fiji (Formerly Kuata Island Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Dive Barefoot & Stay Free
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, Highly Recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on Kuata for 2 nights using our Bula Pass and it really was amazing. From the second we arrived the staff couldn't of done more for us, we even got a welcome dance on the beach!!

We stayed in the Beach Dorm which was ideal for us, and a lot nicer (and cleaner) than accommodation on other islands which we visited.

The food was always good, and good portions, and it was nice to sit with everyone, we made some good friends while at Kuata who we are still in touch with now. The whole island has a really friendly feel about it, everyone just wants to have a good time.

The highlight of our stay for us was the shark snorkel. I've snorkelled before but never done anything as amazing as this, it really was such an experience that i'd recommend to anyone visiting Kuata. The guide who took us was so knowledgable and passionate about the sharks. There wasn't a question we asked which she didn't know the answer to. She really encouraged us to respect the sharks which was refreshing as we've heard a few bad stories about some of the shark dives/snorkels on other islands which actually put us off doing them.

Aswell as the shark snorkel there were lots of activities to do on Kuata, we went on a guided walk around the island which was really good, and again, the staff are so knowledgeable about their island (plus the sunset was incredible). There was kayaking, scuba diving, fishing trips etc etc available.... some people we met just chose to spend their time chilling on the beach. There's something for everyone. Also, the island is in the middle of a renovation so i'm sure in time there is going to be even more things to do/more bars to drink at!

We'd definitely live to return here one day and see the work complete. Thanks again to all the staff who really looked after us and made our time so memorable (especially mary, kuro & atelini) Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the private room was nice, clean and modern, it was under furnished with only a bed in it. There wasn't even a small table to put your things on so we had to place everything on the floor. In the bathroom, the shower was barely more than a trickle and the tap wouldn't turn off properly - not what you expect from a newly renovated resort.

The beach was nice, but it just didn't compare to the other islands we have visited. In addition, we were not told on booking that construction work was being undertaken - the drilling and banging continued until 9.30pm - not great when you are ill and really need to get some sleep! There was also no wifi, no proper bar, and no lounge as advertised.

The staff were lovely, and the food was nice, but the portions were just too small and they did not cater for one girls gluten intolerance, despite asking about dietary requirements on arrival.

We had stayed at blue lagoon the previous few nights, and the difference in service and quality is immeasurable, especially when there is such a small difference in price! The only redeeming factor was that they made it easy for us to check out a day early, however they would not give us any compensation or the full deposit back.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Vinaka Kuata! Myself and partner spent 5 wonderful days on this paradise island. We did the Bula Combo pass and struck gold here! Everyone was so welcoming, nice and always smiling and laughing! Plenty of activities to take part in, from swimming with sharks (100% recommend) to visiting a local school and hiking to the incredible sun set lookout. Meal times were sociable and delicious, with great cuisine and plenty of it! The rooms were cosy and traditional with everything you needed to rest after a day of activities or simply laying in a hammock, watching paradise. Kuata was absolutely stunning, welcoming and equally as fun! We only left yesterday and miss it already! Special thanks to Kuru and Abdu (sorry for the spelling) for giving such amazing hospitality and to Kris and Rachel for introducing us both into the world of scuba diving :) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be recommending it to everyone!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We cannot understand all the good recommendations for this hotel. The island is not a south sea dream at all. In comparison to the other Yasawa islands this is the most unattractive one regarding the beaches, landscape and staff. Food was served only at specific times and in limited amounts. We were still hungry after the meals. If you come to late, you don't get anything. Furthermore all guests have to sit at the same table. Absolutely not romantic. Room has never been cleaned, even though we complained to the manager! Shared restrooms were dirty and smelly. Very disappointing experience. Would never go there a second time.

Room Tip: Never go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barefoot_Manta, Manager at Barefoot Kuata Island, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Bula Marianne

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback. I am shocked and saddened to hear how disappointed you are following your stay at our island. Barefoot Kuata is an eco-lodge run by seasoned hospitality and dive professionals and the friendliest locals around. We pride ourselves on managing it simply and sustainably but we do not believe in compromising on guest comfort, cleanliness or value for money. So, while you won't find fine dining, you should find simple, hearty meals, staff who make you feel like family and unsurpassed natural beauty.

We removed our individual dining tables because our guests really enjoy the conviviality of dining with others. It is certainly something to reconsider following your feedback. We will also investigate the issues raised regarding cleanliness and meals. We have only recently taken over the management of this island and are currently busy with many upgrades. If you have any additional feedback or suggestions, we would welcome them at info@thebarefootcollection.com.

Warm regards
The Team@Barefoot Kuata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

Brilliant everything.
Food was absolutely delicious, fun free activities that got everyone involved. Kuru was the best Fijian in the whole world, really got involved made everyone laugh and was nice to each and everyone there made you feel special! Great activities also. Couldn't recommend going enough

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

This place is AMAZING! Please don't be put off by the amount of reviews it has because you will miss out! We arrived onto the island with the best welcome we have received in Fiji by all the happy staff :) the food is amazing - lots of variety and enough to fill you up. The staff know you all by name and the activities they do are great. From shark snorkelling to sunset hikes to village trips. The accommodation is clean and some dorms have fans. Electricity is on 24hrs a day. The beach is lovely even at low tide - we saw a little reef shark not even a metre off the beach! They are building on the island to cater for day trippers so go NOW while it's still small and intimate! And say hello to koro from Katie and Greggie :) ENJOY!

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

The best place we stayed in Fiji, it was amazing! Food was good, nice beach and good facilities. It was very homely and welcoming. We had a buro right on the Bach front with amazing views. We shall defiantly be going back.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Kuata Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Kuata Island

Address: P.O. Box 6353 | Yasawas, Kuata Island, Fiji (Formerly Kuata Island Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Kuata Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kuata Island
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the Barefoot Collection, Barefoot Kuata Island is about the feeling of freedom and living in harmony with our environment. We don't refer to our island as a "resort". Our eco-lodges are about living simply and sustainably. Rather than a tourist destination run by technology, Kuata is run by the warmth of its' people and the beauty of the environment. Our island is deliberately uncomplicated, unfussy and unpretentious. The breath-taking coral gardens, situated just off the coastline are amongst the finest in the world and allow you to snorkel right from the beach. We offer visitors a tranquil environment and our eco-lodge is the perfect destination for nature lovers in search of a one of the few Fijian islands unspoiled by man. Guests can expect unparalleled snorkelling excursions with reef tip sharks, beautiful coastal and forest trails, visits to nearby Fijian villages, kayaking...the list is endless. Step onto our island and lose yourself in the world of Blue Lagoon and Castaway. Settle into "Fiji Time," and you'll come to discover a virtual treasure trove of things to explore - both on land and in the surrounding waters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kuata Island Hotel Kuata Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Kuata Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.