We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How could you not love this place?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Octopus Resort

Save Saved
You added Octopus Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Octopus Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Likuliku Bay, Fiji   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waya Island
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“How could you not love this place?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

We received a recommendation to travel here by a co-worker and we not disappointed. We actually spent the first week of our honeymoon here and then the second week in an upscale, smaller property on another island.

All of the other postive comments are correct...this resort has something for everyone. From families, to backpackers, to couples wanting romance. If you are on a honeymoon or can afford it, try to stay in one of the Point rooms..they have air conditioning (although you don't need it) but are more private. The beachfront bures are great too.

We found the prices quite reasonable. Many of the activities did have a cost but the cost was not great. Make sure you do the hike which allows you to visit a neighbouring village and the snorkling tours. The dive costs were reasonable.

The food was good and the portions were huge. The massages were a great deal.

The best part was the staff and the other guests...The staff went out of their way to make sure you were happy and we met such a great mix of other travellers...from people who have been coming since the resort opened to solo travellers to other couples...we were honoured to be witnesses at wedding.

The beach is gorgeous with white sand and there was great snorkling just off the beach.

I hope to return in the future

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    526
    168
    46
    15
    13
See reviews for
162
378
76
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

There is no better location in the Yasawas than Octopus, where one can snorkel right off the beach and find a thriving reef with a variety of fish and coral. Hiking to the top of the hill behind the resort, there are magnificent 360 degree views that take your breath away. There is a volleyball net, swimming pool and activities to engage in or one can find a quiet spot and feel as though no one else is there. Most nights there is a magnificent sunset.

Even though there can be up to 90 guests, including children, it is mellow and there are bures that are away from the pool area (where most children hang out). This truly has something for everyone - romantic couples, singles (best dorm in Fiji!) and families. We travel yearly to Fiji and have stayed everywhere in the Mamanuca and Yasawa Island chains and have found the quality of food to be the best here, despite higher costs at some resorts. There are 12 choices of meals to order for lunch and quality buffets 3 nights a week for dinner, with other pre fixed evening meals that include dessert, all prepared by a great kitchen staff headed by Ana, who will accommodate special requests. All staff are friendly and helpful, which is one reason why we feel like this is our second home and keep returning yearly. The owners, Nick and Amber Wood, are the nicest people anyone could ever meet and have turned this resort into a popular, fun, yet relaxing place to vacation. If you are expecting the Ritz, this isn't for you - but the amenities are unbelievable considering you are in the middle of the South Pacific. If you must have internet access and phone service, these are available at a reasonable additional cost. We think the Sunday evening movie night is great - lying on turkish day beds by the pool with a movie playing on a screen on the other side of the pool. They even have popcorn! The bar serves drinks, to include smoothies, and snacks. We are totally happy either in our bure, on our lounge chairs, in our hammock or walking the beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We are due to stay at the Octopus Resort later this month and booked in August. The resort take your money out 21 days before arrival from bank details already provided. Without prior contact the Resort took an extra US$300 more for our stay than the quote they provided less than 2 month previously.

This is money I doubt we will get back and it is a shame as I am really looking forward to the stay.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed in Octopus resort for 2 nights. It had been arranged online in advance and we arrived armed with a reference number and confirmation. However there was no record of our booking at the resort. In fairness they put us in a nice beachfront bure in way of an apology and we enjoyed two relaxing days in the sunshine. On departure we paid up, although they again had no record of the $50FJD deposit that we'd paid and were told we'd have to chase that up on our return to the UK. It was chaos in the reception office, scraps of paper were strewn across desks and random numbers punched into a calculator to come up wiht a magic figure to put on your bill. Little wonder that our original booking had gone AWOL. However, on arriving home I received an email confirmation of our booking from Distinctive Holiday Homes who had sent an invoice and a holiday voucher to print off. This email was sent on 9th October - 10 days after we'd stayed at Octopus. Not only that but Distinctive Holidays had taken a further two days accomodation charge from our account - seemingly unaware that we had already paid direct at the resort. The result now is we need to do alot of long distance chasing by email to recoup somewhere in the region of £250 which we have been overcharged. This has left a distinctly bitter taste. Beware.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Spent an amazing 6 days at Octopus - read every review and did all my homework and was still blown away! As long as you do your research and don't have false expectations, you will be happy to have found this secret treasure. 5 star this is not, no motor sports, no gym or business centre... what it is, is a unique eco destination to enjoy real Fijian hospitality and appreciate the natural beauty of your surroundings. Our children were more than entertained with simple delights such as crab hunting or playing with helicopter seeds. We loved how the Resort supports the local village and has scholarship programs for the local school children. The food was amazing... fresh organic fruit and salads from the local village gardens teamed with locally caught fish. Every meal was first class. They even went out of their way to cater for my gluten intolerant sister, baking her a special wheat free loaf of bread. We were fortunate to stay in a premium beachfront bure and were prepared for rustic, but were pleasantly surprised to find beautiful coloured weaving in the roof, spacious rooms, comfortable beds with fresh flowers every day, a lovely balcony to enjoy a sunset drink and our own comfortable reserved sunloungers on the beach. Snorkeling in front of the beach (10 steps from our Bure) was first class and we have been all over Micronesia and the Great Barrier reef. Octopus is not cheap but either is any resort in Fiji. You are paying for the location, not 5 star luxury. However, there are many value added extras such as village trips, mountain trekking, local village dancers and singers, and every day another activity such as basket weaving or bead making, all at no charge. We went to the Shangri-la Fijian afterward and all these activities were charged at a premium - $90 for Fiji dancing show, $150 for village tour and hike, $90 for kava ceremony, $10 for a woven hat, etc, etc it all adds up, so when you consider this, Octopus is good value for money. Additionally the food at the Fijian and our hotel in Nandi were not a scratch on the food at Octopus. Definately recommend the Fijian Flyer for those with a delicate stomach on the sea. It takes longer but is a comfortable ride with movie, drinks and snacks and you get to see all the other islands along the way.
We also loved the sand floored, communal dining and the opportunity to meet new friends, anyone from Backpackers to Corporate executives sailing the world on their private yacht... once again, if this is not for you, then don't go.
Happy hour during sunset will forever live in our memories, as will the smiles on our children's faces and the friendly hospitality and voices of the local villagers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

This place has a lot going for it and hosts a myriad of accommodation choices which is exactly the point - ensure you get the right one. Choose a Premium beachfront because that is exactly what it is, right on the beach, own balcony, private beach umbrella and beach loungers. The others such as oceanside garden are set back from the beach and do not have any of these things. For the extra price it is worth the upgrade. The staff are amazing and their meke was the best I've seen. Very impressed with the bula greeting on arrival and the Isa Lei on departure. Lunch and dinner are communal - seating on long tables so be prepared to mix in but there is an option of more private dining by the pool. Great activities and if you miss the manta ray tour ask Lai for a private charter, very reasonable price and swimming with manta rays was an unforgettable experience. The only down side is the boat ride, the open ocean is pretty rough for the small boat, do the Yasawa flyer which just cuts through the water if you can. Great place with lovely long curved white sandy beach!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

THis is the place you see in movies, the location is the perfect tropical island. It is a truly amazing holiday destination in many ways. The location is spectacular, the resort fits perfectly with the environment, the vibe is completely relaxing and the balance of activities is just right. The snorkelling off the beach is better than many sites I have been to on the Barrier Reef. Perhaps the best thing about this place is that it supports the local fijian village on the island by employing all its staff from there, so being there gives you a good feeling, It's a win win thing. But if you want 5 star comfort, air con, power sports, and a town close by this is not the place for you.. But it was definately the place for us and we hope to go back again and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Octopus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octopus Resort

Address: Likuliku Bay, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Waya Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Waya Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Octopus Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The minute you step onto the beautiful mile long, golden sand beach at Likuliku Bay, you will be on ‘Fiji Time’. You will find some of the best snorkeling and diving in Fiji, just step outside your front door. Our beautiful reef is only a few meters from the shore, and is a protected marine reserve. Octopus boasts some of the warmest, friendliest smiling faces anywhere in the world, come and meet the “real Fiji”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Octopus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Octopus Hotel Waya Island
Octopus Resort Waya Island
Hotel Octopus
Octopus Resort Fiji/Waya Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Octopus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.