We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not horrible, not the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coralview Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coralview Island Resort to your Saves list
Coralview Island Resort
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   PO Box 3764, Tavewa Island 000679, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not horrible, not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

First off the beach that is on their website is not directly at the resort. Their beach is nothing compared to
Blue lagoon resort which is right across from that resort. The people are friendly and try hard but the activities are again not as good as blue lagoon. If you are going to take the flyer all the way out to that spot, spend the extra cash and go to blue lagoon. Better food, trips, rooms and service.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    59
    27
    16
    16
See reviews for
20
110
68
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our bula combo pass. We were really impressed, especially as coral view is one of the resorts you don't have to pay any extra at.

The dorms were really nice, and air-conditioned. We spent our first afternoon at the resort inside because it was so nice! Our only complaint was that the bunks were a bit squeaky. The showers are great and everything is well maintained and clean. I also liked that you don't have to go outside the dorm to get to the bathroom, as you do at some other resorts, as it was connected.

The resort has a well thought out layout with plenty of deck chairs and hammocks. The dining room has a great view out to sea and is very nice. The nightly entertainment and games were great too.

The meals were great too. Dinners and breakfast were buffet style and lunch was set (but we were able to request a special meal when necessary as we are gluten intolerant). The staff were all very nice and came around offering seconds so no one was left hungry. The chef was great - he made sure that my sister and I had gluten free food - and not just fried rice like some of the other resorts. There were so many different foods, and fresh foods. Very impressed.

When we weren't eating or lazing around the resort we went for a walk to the back beach, which was quite nice. We tried to go out snorkeling but can't say whether it was good or not as we were only in the water for less than a minute because of the jelly fish. We were stung at lots of resorts. I think June must be jellyfish time because I've been to Fiji 3 times before (October, April and September-December) and never found jellyfish a problem until this time.

Anyway we had an excellent time and would definitely recommend this resort as one of the best in the Yasawas! Vinaka vakalevu!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Please whatever you do ignore the review before from the Spanish naive human. This resort is truly wonderful and the staff here are the best in all the islands. Having been to several i ended up staying here for 2 weeks and this place was like paradise. Yes the beach isn't the best the door step snorkeling and family like atmosphere and superb dorms more than make up for it. The dorms are air conditioned which is one of the only islands to have this and the food is not bad at all. It's very Fijian orientated which after all if your coming away you should eat the local food and not eat your boring western same old rubbish. About asking for seconds they are more than delighted to help you out with everything and anything. With regards to trips they offer so many and why would you expect things for free after all they are a business and they have to make money. If you can afford to come all the way from spain you can afford the 2 dollars 50 cents for a coke. anyway this place is wonderful and i strongly advise anyone to go!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The location of that resort is just awesome, i stayed for 2 days, went snorkeling and diving! And Robs bubblerings under water are incredible! Also near to the blue lagoon, where the movie the blue lagoon was shot! The colors of the corals direct in front of the beach are perfect! The staff are very friendly and the food is good and enough, you even get a second plate! Atmosphere of the people staying here was also great! I would definately recommend that resort!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiji
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Travelled by myself around the fiji islands. Got to coral view and the first impression was this was going to be a great spot. I read that it was a family run place, and getting onto the beach there was a serenation, and every member of staff introduced themselves. The place is clean, well run, friendly staff with everyone having a smile on their face. I was meant to stay here For a night but ended up having such a great time extended my stay for longer. I met some really cool travellers and had a great time. The hammocks are great to chill out.
I def recommend this place. They have great corals, with some friendly dive masters - rob, nicko, pau! Definately need to see sera get her groove on!
The place is one of those locations where I will be coming back and I know will be guranteeed a friendly welcome from my new friends here at coral view!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Accommodation here is lovely - we stayed in the bure and it was very nice. That's the only nice thing to be said really about our time here. Apart from the really charming and friendly manager on the front desk, we found a lot of the young staff rude and unprofessional. Examples included ignoring your questions, laughing in your face if you asked for something else. The food was the worst part...absolutely appalling for the price paid. Neither of us are fussy eaters but this pushed us too far. Every meal we were left hungry and often asked for seconds (which we were told to do if hungry as we raised it as an issue) to which we got a really negative response...and rarely received more food. The quality was poor and there's really no excuse - one evening we served a stew with rice...old green beans were the only veg and lots of bones...I went through every piece and there was not one piece of meat on the bones...absolutely disgusting. For lunch the next day we were served pancakes (two very small ones),...the filling??? It was the same stew from the night before...but older and colder!! Soft drinks are not included in any of the meals...most other resorts do include juice.

The beach is rocky and non-existent...you have to walk 30 mins to the north to get to a decent beach. Nothing is free here....we did some islands trips but again they left late and we were picked up early...definitely no value for money. When raised with staff...you get a blank look and ignored!!

These islands are so beautiful and we enjoyed everywhere else we stayed...skip Coral View...there's way better out there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stayed two nights in a dorm at Coral View resort on my one week stay at Fiji. Place was wery welcoming and the people who worked there were friendly. It was one of the best resort where I stayed on Yasawa Islands. Clean, beautiful and relaxing. Food is not the best, but still good value for the money. If you are staying on the island you go to visit nearby island where you can swim in a cave. It is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coralview Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coralview Island Resort

Address: PO Box 3764, Tavewa Island 000679, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Tavewa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Tavewa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coralview Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the magical island of Tavewa in the Yasawas where rich Fijian heritage extends warm traditional hospitality, Coralview Island Resort welcomes you to indulge yourself where our passion for service, nourishes your senses in more ways than one. If you like adventure, try out the thrills of our jet-ski, experience shark diving or explore the reef while you snorkel with the beautiful fishes. There will always be a loud "BULA!!" to walk away from, chat with the staffs at work or relax with an island massage. We invite you into our little Fijian Village and offer our culture to be part of yours. Even if you just spend the entire day with a book.....it will always be enjoyable at Coralview! Enjoy Fiji Living, Island Style !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Coralview Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coralview Island Hotel Tavewa Island
Coralview Island Resort Fiji/Tavewa Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coralview Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.