We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was it all a dream?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Lagoon Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nalova Bay, Fiji   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Was it all a dream?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Our stay was great fun and enhanced by the interesting mix of young and retired travellers and families from all across the globe. The super menus and food must be a hot contender for the best in Fiji. The attractive location, lovely staff, overall atmosphere and included activities have left us with wonderful memories.

The cost was an issue though. Over £500 for 3 days for two with full board, in the rainy season and facing the back of another building was steep. Hire of equipment, trips and wifi were charged on top. The hard beds with hot synthetic mattresses did prevent us sleeping well.

Overall a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are not going for beachfront then villas 14 and 10 seemed good locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    132
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
211
445
109
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santos, SP
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Just soak up at the sun and relax in paradise among the best staff on earth. The Cave trip is amazing, the beach in front of the resort is just pristine and the meal plan offered by the resort is superb.

Room Tip: Inclusive or dormitórios são excelentes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our 3rd time to Blue Lagoon and it was fantastic to see all our Fiji family again. Since our trip last year the pool has been built which is a great addition and there have been a few staff changes but it is still my favourite holiday destination
.Food and drinks are still great and always served with a smile/laugh by the fantastic food & beverage staff.
New dive manager Jeff is brilliant as with all the dive team and boatcrews who are a real pleasure to be with. Shark Dive was far better than previous years as more bulls coming in now and a lot more active than past years,I would say more exciting than Beqa shark dive.
Rooms are still lovely and kept very clean daily.
Love sitting with the Band Kimoo,Rocky,Ben and knox around the kava bowl listening to them play and waiting for TAKI .
New managers Phil & Antea are really nice/friendly, and invited us to have dinner with them & the owners Joe& Nicole one night.
Helicopter ride back to Nadi was great if budget allows,or seaplane cheaper& just as good.
The only downside is waiting another year till we return again to see our BLBR family.
On checkout try to leave something in the gratuity box in office as this money goes to all blbr staff
at xmas time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The beach! And the water! Just like in every photo! You might think the are photophopped, but they aren't!

They've got something for everone. They have nannies and activities for the kids so the parents can relax. Romantic for couples anyway. Good organised and fun activities every day!

Nice to enjoy for travellers but after 10pm there is nothing happening so for backpackers a couple days might be enough but a must-see are the caves. This is more like a relaxing holiday than adventure & party.

--------------------
ROOM: dorm
clean and enough space, A/C, but take earplugs, gets cleaned every day!
Shared bathrooms ok.

--------------------
FOOD: menu changes every day, very good quality.

Breakfast buffet (if you are a breakfast lover you won't be satisfied here):
++ eggs how you like them!!!
++ fresh fruit
-- no bread, just toast
-- no good cheese/ham
-- this is more a sweet breakfast with jam, pacakes and muffins

Lunch a la carte (changing chef special every day):
things like: burger, wrap, salad, pasta, fish, curry, kokoda, sandwich

Dinner either buffet or 3-course-meal (you can choose if you prefere vegeterian).

--------------------
WHAT TO REMEMBER

Bring cash!!!!! Of course they don't have an ATM but still you can buy nice souveniers from the locals or donate money to the church if you visit a church service.

When you leave: check you bill! A friend was overcharged by $40 and my boyfriend and I were overcharged by more than $100! How could that have happend?

And last but not least: If you go there, remember: this is a resort built on an island far off. It's amazing what they built there for us:
- Toilets & Showers + sewage system!
- Garbage burning place!
- Laundry for all the sheets, towls and guests personal laundry.
- Restaurant with equipment to cook for 100 guests 3 meals a day!
This is both: amazing and disturbing but with these conditions it's just amazing and remarkable how good the offer and the service is!

Room Tip: They are all clean and quiet so it really doesn't matter. I think it doesn't matter if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at Blue Lagoon for a week as a part of our honeymoon. We found the resort to be well ran, clean, accommodating, sustainable, and relaxing. The resort sits on a quiet beach with a reef that is fantastic to snorkel. It had the right mixture of size, good food, friendly staff, and incredible location that made it ideal for us. Also, the resort engages the local villages which made for a nice cultural interface with local Fijian culture and people. The local island staff were friendly and seemed to like working at Blue Lagoon. Food was better than expected. Most of all it was a incredible relaxing week. If you go to Blue Lagoon - must dos: Village Trip, Cave Trip, Snorkel, Relax, talk with the local staff - you'll learn more about Fiji.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden villa and found the accommodations good. The beach villa's have their one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blbresort, Manager at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and for travelling so far to reach our remote resort. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the amazing hospitality of our dedicated team from the surrounding villages. We wanted to say a thank you to you both for taking the time to get to know the team and learn more about the island and Fiji. Vinaka Vaka levu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The island is absolutely wonderful. The beach is simply paradise, you can go for a super nice walk with a wonderful view on the island and the sea.
However the service is really poor. Compared to the other island I went too, people were a lot less nice. Above all, we had a big issue with the booking team as they made a mistake for the airplane booking and did not want to honor the price they had quoted to us in the email. We had to fight for two days and this is scandalous.
Moreover, I was stolen 50fijian dollars from my wallet, told it to the manager who did not care at all, hardly listening to me and not doing anything. What kind of customer service is that ??!!

Would not recommend this resort for its managers although the beach is super nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blbresort, Manager at Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you had the chance to enjoy the spectacular beach and location. We are sorry that you discovered that you had money missing somewhere during your travel to, and reaching the island. We also apologise that you felt the office team did not express their concern highly enough during the task of investigating further. It was taken very seriously and was intended to be portrayed this way. Along with the good intentions of our newest team member who mistakenly misquoted the rate of a 3rd party supplier - for the Seaplane. We try not to ever make mistakes and can only but apologise that in this case, you felt that it was handled poorly. This was not the intention at all and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coogee, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our 2 night stay at the Blue Lagoon was very peaceful and tranquil. We were a group booking of 13 guests and we stayed in the dorms/double rooms. The dorms are first class and not your typical dorms, they are spacious, no bunk beds, 8 single beds, VERY clean and they have AIR CON!!!
The resort had a swimming pool that was used everyday by us, with ball games and its in perfect view of the beach. Sunbeds are provided and the pool area is idyllic.
The food provided was outstanding, a lot of choice was available and the portions are huge!
The night time entertainment was crab racing and the second night was 'relaxation night' whereby we entertained ourselves. The bar stays open for as long as you want it to, and the cocktails are GOOD.
We did the village tour, which was very interesting and enjoyed seeing the school students and how the Fijian people live on a day-to-day basis.
Def recommend couples and small groups (girly time) to stay here more so than a mixed large group as the night time can be quiet. But still there are no complaints as this quiet time was welcomed after the madness at beachcomber island previous.
Highly recommended.......

Room Tip: The dorms are first class, not your typically dorms. the double-bed huts are just as good too, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Lagoon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Beach Resort

Address: Nalova Bay, Fiji
Phone Number:
Location: Fiji > Yasawa Islands > Nacula Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Nacula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new stylish resort located on one of the best beaches in the Yasawas. Right in the middle of the blue lagoon region, the resort is located on a white sandy beach with all tide swimming. Dive shop, snorkeling and many activities. Open planned restaurant and bar with espresso bar and live music nightly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Lagoon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Beach Hotel Nacula Island
Blue Lagoon Beach Resort Fiji/Nacula Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lagoon Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.