We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow blown away by the flavor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saka Cliff Hotel Restaurant

Saka Cliff Hotel Restaurant
Saka kula, Kohtla, Estonia
+3723364900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Kohtla
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Perched on a clifftop overlooking the sea, the two rooms of our romantic restaurant are perfect for receptions, family events, celebrations and wedding receptions. A new restaurant is also situated in the basement of the Saka Guesthouse - a cosy dining room with arched ceilings with seating for 50. Next to this is the Small Hall, which is perfect for get-togethers ranging from birthday parties to business lunches and special occasions for two. This room will seat up to 15 people. In summer you can enjoy our menu on the manor's terrace.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wow blown away by the flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I ate in this restaurant 3 of the 4 night I stayed at Saka. I was impressed each night with the beautiful presentation of the dishes and the layers of favors. A good example was the night I had duck it was so tender and flavorful but when I had ordered it my boss stated oh duck I had it once and made a little face, my meal came and he gaped at the appealing plate, I shared a piece with him a couple nights later he ordered it for himself and it did not disappoint. I could rave on and on about this restaurant and it's food every morsel I placed in my mouth was a treat.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I dined here twice during my visit to KohltaJarve and was pleased with the results. This is a small but fine dining restaurant at the Saka Cliff resort. I had the beef one night and chicken the next. The presentation is first class although the taste is just okay. For the price, I felt it was good value. Service was very good and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in East-Virumaa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The place is mainly a hotel or a small SPA-resort. We went there to stay for one night with family. While there we decided to dine at the restaurant in the cellar of the main house.
The restaurant was surprisingly good. Especially good and fresh were the salads. It is more expensive as the eating-places nearby, but you will get more than you are usually getting for the same money in Estonia. So afterall I woul call the place cheap.
This is the only place that offers such a high quality in the radius of 60 km.
I highly recoomend it

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johvi, Estonia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Restaurant in manor cellar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Maybe best food in Jõhvi area. A bit expensive (compared to other restaurants but cheap compared to Tallinn prices). Try võikalacarpaccio - I have had it couple of times and it has been superb to any scale.
Spare some time before going to eat and walk on sea side cliffs admiring sun dropping into sea.
Hotel-Spa is also good.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Quality food with reasonable price. Nice athmosphere in an old manor house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saka Cliff Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Toila, Ida-Viru County
 
Toila, Ida-Viru County
Kohtla, Ida-Viru County
 

Been to Saka Cliff Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saka Cliff Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.