We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cascina Christiana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nizza Monferrato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascina Christiana
Save
You added Cascina Christiana to your Saves list
Strada S.Michele n 24, 14049 Nizza Monferrato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Holmfirth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

My wife and I were booked in by my cousins wedding coordinator so you can imagine we were'nt sure what we would find.After being misguided by sat nav a couple of times we eventually arrived in paradice,the welcome could'nt have been warmer the accomodation more comfortable,not to mention the scenery(you really can see the alps on a clear day.The only downside to the whole experience was that we were only there for two nights which had to include a wedding,my wife had to drag me onto the plane kicking and screaming like a 3 year old.In the words of a great man "I shall return"

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Excellent rooms, service, wine and breakfast. Beautiful place, nice pool. I hope I come back some day.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2007

How Chosen:
Lavilla Hotel was booked up for the remainder of our stay in the area around Nizza Monferrato. The owner of Lavilla suggested this property. Booked via direct email contact from the website: cascinachristiana.com

Pros:
* en suite rooms have a functional kitchen and loft; excellent options for family, and longer stays as you can buy a lot of typical products and cook a rapid easy meal
* just a stone's throw from Nizza Monferrato and two petrol pumps
* hard wood flooring in some rooms
* owners are English and speak English
* priceless suggestion for multicourse dining at La Sosta (in Montebone, a death-defying drive South of the property into a sleepy hillside town) owned and waited by Luca, with food prepated by his lovely wife Locanda. All spelling phonetic.
* good bath products
* rooms contemporary and not a restored property
* very clean. Mind the silly June bugs.

Cons:
* no air-conditioning, only a ceiling fan with suggestion for timer use. I am in the habit of letting a room cool down in the evening before I return from dinner, but someone let themselves in (perhaps because my loft level room was also the linen closet) and shut the fan. Could be a bit stifling in September
* tiny television but you can catch BBC2 and world news
* very restrictive shower stalls with curved sliding doors - I accidentally shut the shower stream every time I attempt to wash the opposite elbow. Be prepared as you will let the pounds pack on!
* this was the only place where breakfast was charged extra and we were requested to indicate in advance how many would have breakfast
* one of the host's daughters had her wedding reception on the property the week end before we arrived and the harvest was in progress - thus the hosts (this inn is part of a functioning cantina) seemed a bit distracted, though Mr Kaplanski did apologize at breakfast that he could not arrange for a wine tasting, as would be typical

Cost: E70-90 per night per person (including all local taxes; breakfast extra E8 per person)

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Did not get to taste the wine
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon travelling around Italy and all I can say was that this place is brilliant. The views are unbelieveable, the rooms are spotless and comfortable and the price is extremely reasonable. Our host Peter helped us out a great deal with where to eat in the area and sites to visit. We were only booked in for 3 nights but stayed for 4. Would absolutely go back here when we visit Italy again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2007

Cascina Christiana was recommended to us by a friend and we booked to spend our first wedding anniversary there.

It is located in the remote Piedmont region of North Italy but within easy driving distance of Genoa airport. Following the directions provided by Peter and Christiane Kaplanski (the owners), the journey to the house was quite easy, even for nervous drivers !

We stayed in one of the self catering apartments which was spotless and spacious enough for the two of us. The kitchen was well equipped with essentials and even had extras.

Peter and Christiane were excellent hosts who leave you to your own devices but were always happy to offer advice on where to go and where to eat.

Cascina Christiana is a working winery and Peter K was more than happy to give us a guided tour and share his in-depth knowledge of wine making.

Some essential "hot spots" to visit would include Asti, Alba, the local village (Nizza Monferato) and our favourite - Acqui Terme. All are within easy driving distances of the house.

Restaurants to visit include La Due Lanterne (in Nizza M) where the staff speak very good English and provide an English menu for those not fluent in Italian, but the gastronomic highlight of the week was La Sosta in nearby Montabone - reached via a very scenic windy road (not for the faint hearted), our host Luca had opened the restaurant solely for us (at the request of Peter K) and provided the most sublime 7 course meal with accompanying wine - all for a ridiculously low price !

We would definately return to experience a little piece of heaven in Northern Italy !

  • Liked — The location, views and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The starlings nesting in the roof & the "shared" balcony with the 2 adjacent apartments.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

My mom called Cascina Christiana 'Simply the best' and that it is...we
spent an amazing week at this B&B in October 2006. It was our first visit to Italy.

The rich awe inspiring autumn colours of the vineyard was something we will never forget. An artist’s dream! Relaxing at the infinity pool with its wonderful views was good for the soul!

Peter and his wife, Christiana are so hospitable & friendly & they happily sent us off in all directions visiting local areas of interest. They also directed us to the local markets with their wonderful local produce. We spent an enjoyable day seeing the sights at Turin. Our trip to Alba, Barolo and Monforte D’Alba was certainly worth it. Acqui Terme was our favorite “spot”

We had a really luxurious apartment with stunning vineyard views. We will definitely be visiting this 5 star B&B again and recommend it to anyone visiting Piedmont. Outstanding value for money


Isabel and Nicola Anderson

  • Liked — Hospitality of the hosts, amazing ssurrounding areas & views, the Wine!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed for 3 days at Cascina Christiana at the end of Sept 2006.

We were after a nice luxurious relaxing break at the end of a tour of some of Italy's beautiful cities.

The B&B is also a vineyard and winery where they make and sell their own wine. The grounds have a stunning view across the valley filled with vines-also is a beautiful infinity pool.

We stayed in a large spacious room with en suite facilities.They also have 4 self catering apartments.
Breakfast was served each morning (in a beautiful wine tasting room!) downstairs.

The Cascina (we later found this meant farmhouse) is run by Peter and Chrisiana Kaplanski. The hosts are charming, knowledgeable and went out of their way to make sure we had an excellent trip.
They provided lots of information (too much for our weary souls!) on the surrounding towns and villages.

We were intrigued by the wine making side as the B&B is a working vineyard and winery. We got a tour of the whole setup and even had a wine tasting session too. The La Mota and Reiss wines are fantastic, both winning awards.

One evening we were also directed to a restaurant called La Sosta in a nearby town. Seven courses of amazing food for 35 Euros - they even served some of Peter and Christiana's wine!

Peter and Christiana add the personal touch that made for a super break.
We'd highly recommend this B&B which is slightly off the beaten track. A must for anyone interested in staying in the idyllic countryside location with 5 star treatment.
The B&B and area were so nice that we'll definitely be back as there is always so much more to see and do once you scratch the surface!
Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cascina Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascina Christiana

Address: Strada S.Michele n 24, 14049 Nizza Monferrato, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Nizza Monferrato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Nizza Monferrato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascina Christiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.