We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   St Louis Rd, beach of Beau Vallon | PO Box 526, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Beau Vallon B&B and Inns
Molde, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I went stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and I was most happy with the location. It's close to the beach, casino, nightclub etc. Lots to do when you are travelling on your own.
Yes, it is pricy, but what do you expect in a holiday resort like Seychelles? The breakfast that's included was average. Good selection of fruit and you can order eggs.
The rooms are nice, the bathroom got a nice hot tub as well as shower.
very good service by the staff

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    4
    5
    13
See reviews for
9
12
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed one night only before boarding the day after on the way back from La Digue. We paid 165€ for obe night. Quality is a low 2 stars!! Bad maintenance, cold and unfriendly welcome at reception and we had to pay in advance. The room was small, dark. The light didnt work and after a heavy rain we had water in the room. Unacceptable!! This is the level of 1~2 stars hotel and i normally would never pay more than 30€! We complained strongly and the receptionist didnt care too much. We later talked to the manager who agreed with the poor quality of the room and upgraded us to the suite. A complete other story: spacious 3 rooms apartment with kitchen, balcony and two bathrooms. However, tv with only 4 channels. Swimmingpool was dirty after the rain and nobody cleaned it and the small whirlpool had yellow water no one dare too touch. Not reccommended at all. The only positive is its central location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Visited twice for dinner , service and food was good the first time for our party of 4.Reasonably priced draft Seybrew.Well cooked food. The second time it was Sunday and this time with a party of 11. Many restaurants are closed Sunday . As this is a hotel too, it was open.Service was slow and the beef items were off the menu and the food wasn't cooked to the same high standard.There is a pizza menu, La Palma Creole restaurant and a separate Chinese dining area.Also is some outside tables. We had the La Palma menu. Tip go in groups of not more than 4 , get there no later than 7;30pm,avoid Sundays.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms are good,clean and comfortable

I have used the Coco D'Or hotel for many functions . I find that the service extended by the staff is extremely good. There is a friendly atmosphere and the food in the especially the Chinese restaurants are also good and Value for money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarin, Maurice
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel very expensive and they charge for internet : 6 euros an hour
swimming pool out of service
rooms with no charm
3 restaurants (chinese, kreol and pizza) that all serve tasteless food
5 minutes walking from the beach

conclusion: pass your way

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I had to endure two weeks staying at the Coco d’ or as we had been booked into there by the company I was working for.
The guy on reception was aloof and quite off hand with us and not interested in what we had to say. The staff in general are not interested in the guests, in fact it appears they would rather there weren’t any guests so they wouldn’t have to do anything. The first three days we had to endure constant drilling and banging, it was like a building site around us. We had 4 TV channels and most of the time only one was English. At one point we were the only paying guest there and we were informed that as this was the case we would get a very basic breakfast as it was too much trouble for them to cater for just us two. On most mornings the staff helped themselves to breakfast and then consider serving guest when they were ready. This place is the Seychelles version of Faulty Towers but it’s no joke being there when the joke is on you. I have added pictures of:- the filthy empty Jacuzzi, Exposed electricity junction box, Doors and panelling dumped on the balcony, Stagnant water a breeding ground for mosquitoes, I got bit most nights and a missing door handle that would cut like a razor.
There are private houses either side which both have dogs, these dogs when they are in the mood constantly bark at each other for hours on end. In the two weeks we stayed there we hardly saw any other guests as the place was almost empty most of the time. I think it relies on poor unsuspecting passing customers who buy pizza or pop in for a meal. I saw from my balcony on a number of occasions people returning the food they had been served. On most nights I observed the security guard settling into one of his favourite chairs for his night time sleep clearly in front of any other staff who happened to be around. This place is overpriced and a total joke, The Coral Strand is just down the road I have stayed there on other business trips. It is cheaper and run more like a hotel but be prepared for the same staff attitude.

Room Tip: Dont book one !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Old, shabby, ridiculously overpriced, with no views, no hot water in the evenings, unfriendly staff, rooms with no mini-bar or even shampoo/shower gel (for 300E per night!), crappy beds, etc... What else do I need to say to make you stay away from it? :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

Address: St Louis Rd, beach of Beau Vallon | PO Box 526, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco d`Or Hotel And Restaurant
Coco D'Or Hotel & Restaurant Seychelles/Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.