We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Seychelles Faulty Towers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   St Louis Rd, beach of Beau Vallon | PO Box 526, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Beau Vallon B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Seychelles Faulty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I had to endure two weeks staying at the Coco d’ or as we had been booked into there by the company I was working for.
The guy on reception was aloof and quite off hand with us and not interested in what we had to say. The staff in general are not interested in the guests, in fact it appears they would rather there weren’t any guests so they wouldn’t have to do anything. The first three days we had to endure constant drilling and banging, it was like a building site around us. We had 4 TV channels and most of the time only one was English. At one point we were the only paying guest there and we were informed that as this was the case we would get a very basic breakfast as it was too much trouble for them to cater for just us two. On most mornings the staff helped themselves to breakfast and then consider serving guest when they were ready. This place is the Seychelles version of Faulty Towers but it’s no joke being there when the joke is on you. I have added pictures of:- the filthy empty Jacuzzi, Exposed electricity junction box, Doors and panelling dumped on the balcony, Stagnant water a breeding ground for mosquitoes, I got bit most nights and a missing door handle that would cut like a razor.
There are private houses either side which both have dogs, these dogs when they are in the mood constantly bark at each other for hours on end. In the two weeks we stayed there we hardly saw any other guests as the place was almost empty most of the time. I think it relies on poor unsuspecting passing customers who buy pizza or pop in for a meal. I saw from my balcony on a number of occasions people returning the food they had been served. On most nights I observed the security guard settling into one of his favourite chairs for his night time sleep clearly in front of any other staff who happened to be around. This place is overpriced and a total joke, The Coral Strand is just down the road I have stayed there on other business trips. It is cheaper and run more like a hotel but be prepared for the same staff attitude.

Room Tip: Dont book one !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    6
    5
    13
See reviews for
9
14
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Old, shabby, ridiculously overpriced, with no views, no hot water in the evenings, unfriendly staff, rooms with no mini-bar or even shampoo/shower gel (for 300E per night!), crappy beds, etc... What else do I need to say to make you stay away from it? :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Coco d'Or is more a middle-sized guest house than luxury hotel, especially given the size and quality of other hotels in Seychelles. It is clean, correct, and offers the basic amenities required of holiday accommodation. There is a small but clean pool, a restaurant with a good range of dishes and a bar, and rooms have satellite TV. However, it is a few minutes walk away from the beach and lacks atmosphere - in fact, it was virtually empty whilst we were there. The complimentary breakfast is basic and stops promptly at 10.00; in similar fashion sandwiches and other light meals disappear from the menu in the evenings, and the bar seems to close whenever the bar-lady feels tired and wants to go home. Frankly there are better-value establishments elsewhere in Beau Vallon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The rooms are very obsolete, we felt like in a student hostel, it does not worth for value. The breakfast was poor quality. One pozotive thing that the staff was very helpful us to have a shower in a free room after checking out. In this hotel you will miss the Seychelles feeling.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

The hotel has a nice aesthetic appeal, very friendly staff and good service. The rooms are neat and clean and the hotel is located in teh best part of Beau Vallon with a great view of lovely green hills surrounding the property. The food was authentic and the portions sumptuous. The management was extremely cooperative and responsive to the guest's requests and needs. The place grows on you and gives you a homely atmosphere. Definitely a hotel where you get your value for money. The beautiful beau Vallon beach is just 2 minutes walk fromt he property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Austria, Austria
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

I feel like I cant complain about this little hotel because we were sent here by Air Seychelles due to some unexpected problems with their scheduling resulting in an extra 3 days stay which of course was fully paid for by the operator.

I cant say this hotel was horrible because it was not. It was basic! Breakfast buffet was simple & sufficient. The rooms were ok, spacious enough for 2 however differed quite considerably from my dad's who was across the garden & seemed to be in the 'older' part of the hotel. We made use of the pool which was clean & great relief from the temps. We had some terribly noisy neighbours coming & going quite early & the way the entrances to the rooms work, its quite noisy so beware!!

If I were to say there was 1 single thing to complain about it was the service at reception. They didn't seem to know what was going on half the time & the waiting times were lengthly & quite irritating considering we had the beach calling out to us.

Bear in mind this hotel is a little walk to the beach - not far, but a pleasant walk. Our room did not have sea views so I cant comment.

I did check their rates & although slightly cheaper than other beachfront hotels, i would still have paid a little more for Beau Vallon Bay hotel for instance.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Over-priced, poor value, poor service. we had ants in the bathroom and ants in our bed. Wouldn't this place recommend to my worst enemy, addled food, slovenly service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant

Address: St Louis Rd, beach of Beau Vallon | PO Box 526, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco d`Or Hotel And Restaurant
Coco D'Or Hotel & Restaurant Seychelles/Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco d'Or Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.