We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service and Excellent Pirvate Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romance Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Romance Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romance Bungalows
Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Beau Vallon
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service and Excellent Pirvate Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed 9 nights at the Romance Bungalows.
The managers of the resort very very friendly and organised a bbq for us after we went fishing.
The experience proved very successful, since the fish was deliciously cooked together with local food.
We were so happy with the dinner that we engaged Jenna, the lady who prepared the bbq, for the successive 3 nights. We tried different local dishes and got very good value for money.

Room Tip: It is best to get a bungalow on the upper side next to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
15
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Romance Bungalows is a good option if you're on a budget in Seychelles. For approx. 100€ / night you get a spacious and clean but fairly basic room, and for a few extra euros you also get a simple breakfast included. The only negative about the room is that the bed was a bit too hard for our liking.

The location is good as it's right next to the Beau Vallon beach. The beach is nothing compared to the most beautiful ones in Seychelles but still quite lovely.

There are a couple of surprisingly good restaurants nearby. Would like to recommend La Plage that's directly on the beach, and La Perle Noire which is a short walk off the beach (ask the hotel for directions). Also the pizzeria across the street (Baobab) serves decent pizzas but their service is awfully slow so be prepared for a LONG wait if you go there.

The staff at Romance Bungalows were super friendly and all smiles. However, the reception hours are limited which was rather annoying a couple of times when we needed a bit of advice and found the reception closed.

If you're heading to Seychelles I wouldn't recommend making Mahe and Romance Bungalows your only destination. There is so much to see and experience on the smaller islands, and so many world-class resorts! So my advice is to book a few days at Romance and then venture further into the Seychellois paradise. At least for us that was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BDGertrude, Manager at Romance Bungalows, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We would like to thank epic_fin for this nice review and for recommending our small establishment to others.

However there's just one thing we would like to make very clear. Our office hours is from 07h00 till 18h00 Monday to Friday and from 08h00 till 14h00 on weekends to assist guests with general information, advice, recommendations and also to help guests organize their different activities and other bookings. Furthermore, during weekends, there's a grounds-maid available at the property until 18h00 to assist guests. Furthermore, the Managers apartment is right next door to the office and thus, as the Manager, I am available 24/7. Furthermore, if the office is closed, there's a doorphone (Buzzer) on the right-hand side of the office which is very visible which guests can use to speak through to me in case they need assistance. And if in case I have to go out, then a note will be displayed on the office window to advise guests when I will be next available.

Personally to epic_fin, I would like express my sincere apology in relation to our office being closed a couple of times, but around June and July this year I was struck with illness and had to go back and forth to the hospital all the time. All my staff at the hotel was very concerned for my state which probably explains why our reception was closed quite a lot during this period. I am happy to say that now all is well and I am in perfect health.

BDGertrude
Manager
Romance Bungalows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in the Lys room and it was perfect! Room is spacious, clean and private. Breakfast is pretty basic (small plate of fruit, one egg, a couple of toast and coffe) but definitely saves time in the morning as it is brought up to your room and avoids going to the restaurant. Very convenient to have a kitchenette with fridge also for snacks and water. Could be better stocked with more dishes, coffee maker etc. but I assume you could ask if you need anything.
Location is amazing - right across the street from beach, restaurants and dive shop.
Brian and Simone are super friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just across the street from a great local beach, we had a wonderful stay here. Our room was basically a one bedroom suite. Bes was comfortable (if a little hard) and everything was very clean. Loved having a kitchenette. Fresh breakfast was served each morning on our balcony and when we had an early morning departure they even stocked the fridge the night before with breakfast. Little things like that are greatly appreciated.

Shame there is no restaurant on premises and the front desk hours were quite short on weekends.

But this is undeniably great value in Seychelles.

Room Tip: The big family suite has an enormous terrace with a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

For 90 Euros per night I stayed on the tope floor in a huge bungalow with a massive verandah and had breakfast included. The view from my immense balcony was of both the mountains and Beau Vallon beach. Absoultely beautiful! The staff were lovely, especially Simone, who I had most of my dealings with. She was very sweet and helpful, responded to my hundrend and one questions over email and even booked a taxi for me from the airport (500 rupees). The bunglaow didn't have aircon but did have a fan. Other rooms do have A/C and SImone kindly offered to move me if I found it too hot, but I actually thought the fan was enough and grew very attached to my villa. The property is clean, spacious, located right on the beach, accross the road from the dive shop and close to all the restaurants of Beau Vallon. Definitely a great little alternative if you're looking to avoid the typical resort style of accom or travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

A huge number of double decker in a tropical garden overlooking the garden and mountain views, private veranda, where breakfast is brought. There is a fully equipped kitchen. In the room can hear the surf and the birds. At the reception work nice and polite people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

For those wishing to visit the Seychelles on a budget you cant go far wrong choosing this friendly cosy hotel.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and for an etra 6Euros a night they will give you a breakfast served to you on the balcony of your apartment.
The location of Romance is suberb literally just a few metres away from the wonderful beach of Beau Vallon and within easy walking distance of local shops and restaurants. One tip though take a torch if you visit the shops after dark as the road out of the village isnt very well lit.
Simone and Beryl are both very friendly and will arrange a pick up from the airport for you when you arrive.They can also arrange car hire etc but shop around for better deals around the island.
Getting around the island is quite easy as buses run frequently and are very cheap. Simone and Beryl will give you help with timetables etc.
Would i stay again? Absolutely!!!
Romance is excellent value for money. Thanks to Beryl,Simone and Brian and the rest of the staff for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Romance Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romance Bungalows

Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romance Bungalows is a small hotel situated in the northern region of Mahé, set in lush greeneries and beautiful gardens with mountain and part sea views.It is centrally located at the famous Beau Vallon beach with nice snorkeling areas, shops, diving, fishing and water-sports centres, bus stops and several restaurants and the possibilities of using the big hotels facilities. Victoria, the Capital is 10 minutes by car and the airport 20 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Romance Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romance Bungalows Hotel Mahe Island
Romance Hotel Mahe Island
Romance Bungalows Seychelles/Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romance Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.