We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearby the Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles to your Saves list
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Resort Credit SCR850
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nearby the Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went Seychelles for our honeymoon and we just think we made a right decision. The hotel located at the beach side and we love the beach so much. It's good if you love the beach so much and wanna enjoy it all the time. Basic accommodation of hotel is provided and the price is reasonable. Some stalls open occasionally. Local food and souvenir can be found here.

By the way the facilities are old and the room is quite disappointing. We have booked the sea view room but the lookout was blocked by trees. Balconies of every rooms are too close.

Large windows of the restaurant attract us to stay longer. Food and service are fair.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    142
    95
    39
    40
See reviews for
81
194
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Seychelles being an expensive country this was a good ...their rooms are ordinary but tidy....Their USP being they are right on the beau vallon beach and their ocean view rooms definitely have a good ocean view. Their restaurants are ok but their single elevator is often out of order. The staff are friendly. All in all it was good experience staying here for a whole week and exploring Mahe completely and Praslin and la Digue in one of the day trips.(creole travels)

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beau Vallon is the most beautiful beach on Mahe Island. If you happen to go, visit the Coral Stand Beach Bar for a beer or a drink. They have a wide selection of imported as well as local Beer. The also have the traditional drinks and then some more: huge coconuts with juice, flowers and beautiful decorations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel with my wife and one year-old son. Really friendly staff, informal and relaxed surroundings and a perfect beach. Ideal for anyone who wants to really get away from it all, but not be stuck in one of the stuffier resorts.

Pros:

Excellent buffet breakfast
Good bathrooms
Friendly reception and waiting staff
Lots of good walks nearby
Spotlessly clean
A giant tortoise in the garden!

Cons:

The restaurant can be a little slow at serving a la carte meals
The reception is quite small and can get busy at peak times
Rooms are a little on the small side. Think of a typical Ibis room and add a balcony.

If you want to spend a week on the beach and not be cut off from Seychelles people, then this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We bought an Etihad package which had the Coral Strand as the hotel. As it was an exploratory visit to the Seychelles we did not take an upgrade, and in fairness the hotel was everything we expected of a budget hotel. We found the staff extremely helpful and welcoming, and tested their patience when we asked for a top floor room. We were showed three rooms before we found one that we liked (quiet location). Thanks to Lauren for his patience in this regard. The room we were given was newly renovated, and was adequate but sparsely furnished; the bed was large and comfortable and the AC was very good. The bathroom was large but the shower needed some attention as it leaked quite badly. We reported this after we left the room and maintenance went in to fix it straight away. Hotel is located right on the beach, which was fantastic. Pool was also good but as the sea was so convenient everyone stayed on the beach. Breakfast was a major highlight. I can say that it was the best hotel breakfast I have had on an inclusive basis. Fantastic choice, and even on the morning we had to leave the hotel at 6:20 am for a tour we had a full English breakfast waiting for us (buffet). The restaurant was overlooking the beach, and made dining a most enjoyable experience. There was a nice afternoon tea served from 4 to 5 pm on the balcony above the bar, overlooking the beach. Lovely crepes and cookies and a selection of tea and coffee. We did not eat dinner in the hotel, as there is a fantastic fish restaurant (La Plage) about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Etihad use Masons as their local representatives in the Seychelles. We booked a car (Euro 45/day) and a tour to La Digue and Prasline through them and their service was excellent. Airport collections and drop offs were also first class. For our stay we got 30 minutes free wifi (one off), thereafter it was very expensive.
In summary the positives were:
Breakfast
Location on the beach
Tea at 4 pm
Safe in the room
Sunset (stunning)
Staff attitude and willingness to help
Masons
Overall value for money
The negatives:
Lack of wardrobe space
No chair in the room (two on balcony)
Wifi was expensive (after initial 30 minutes)
Noise from inconsiderate neighbours on their balcony late at night (not the hotel's fault)
Plumbing problems (call them teething problems from new renovations)

Overall if you want a budget hotel in a great location you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Top floor if you want quiet (tiled floors). Sea view or pool view is extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is 3 star, so you need to be realistic about your expectations. We had only one day spend in the hotel , rest of our 3 days were out and about ... excursions and sightseeing... so from that point we only need a clean , resoanbly priced place to stay. Bfast was good and also one dinner we had there was fine. staff was friendly. Location was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited with my wife last New Year's Eve fora week.

The hotel is located well on the beach and whilst not luxurious, it was certainly acceptable for the week.

Food was basic but in hindsight we should have got a taxi around everywhere on the first day as there was some lovely places to go for dinner and see which we did not discover until later.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Address: P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The islands’ best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms . The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.