We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don’t want to leave this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles to your Saves list
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Resort Credit SCR850
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Krasnogorsk, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I don’t want to leave this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I and my boyfriend spent our holidays here on Seychelles. And now I’m sure that I’m in love with the Island. Only several hours left before we’re leaving to the airport, and salted water from the ocean mixed with the tears. I don’t want to leave this place!
We arrived on 3rd of January, after 17-hours trip. The weather was so hot outside airport! I want to admit that transfer is a bit expensive, cheaper to take taxi (especially if in your group more than two persons). So we got deluxe side-ocean view room on the first floor. Better to rename this location as pool-view, because I couldn't see the ocean from the ground. Anyway, we liked our location, because we could run to swim right from the room.
Room wasn't large, but there was enough space for us. The most important is a king size bed, very comfortable. Unusual that bed was fitted so high over the floor. TV is ok: several sports channels, some with movies and tv-series, there are two Russian channels (it’s important to stay in course of what happening in out native country). Once we had problem with air-conditioner, but it was solved during the day while we were absent.
On orthodox Christmas there was a special Russian menu in the restaurant. It surprised us a lot! We expected acute food in restaurants, but it was absolutely European kitchen, means no problems with stomach. But if you like spices, you can visit Mahek restaurant – Indian food guarantee. Pool bar and restaurant are the perfects places to enjoy dinner or just drink cocktails watching the sundown, for example.
The beach is awesome! Simply as a picture: white sand, palms and the ocean. First days there were a little bit stormy, but fun to play with waves. Be careful, a very dangerous sun, my boyfriend said that all safety creams are for girls only, and he had sunburn on the second day. :-)
Wi-fi wasn't good enough: some days was too slow, other – just slow. I guess this problem is ordinary for the Island.
Summary, we enjoyed our holidays! Hotel provided us with a good quality service. My boyfriend asked me to be his wife, and we both suppose that we will come back here for honeymoon next year!

Room Tip: The best view to the ocean from the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    176
    110
    43
    45
See reviews for
107
236
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
zambia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a week here over New Year Eve and were spared the 'compulsory surcharge' for the New Year dinner which was pegged at an expensive Euro 110 each as we were on a bed and breakfast tariff. The main dining room is awful, like a school canteen, with bright orange and green steel chairs, very uncomfortable and whilst we were there we got bad weather with wind and rain so the windows were closed and the atmosphere stuffy. Once the windows are folded open you have a great view of the beach and ocean, with fresh air and if they could change the chairs and food and service this could be a fabulous place. The service was very, very slow made worse by a full hotel and it seemed many staff were off and they were understaffed, The rooms are not too bad, althought the air conditioning kept turning off, we stayed in a standard double which had views of the ocean and my kids were in the deluxe which was 2 rooms with an interleading door.
Good points:
*The hotel is in a prime position right on the beach and it is a beautiful beach with paragliding, jetskiing and wakeboarding next door, and scuba diving to the right.
*There are beach beds from the hotel on the beach and that is nice for comfort.
* Bedroom was clean and bed was ok.
* Staff are very friendly and relaxed.
*The Indian restaurant which is part of the hotel is good, when you eventually get served.
*The swimming pool is nice and it makes for a comfortable stay if you have young kids, alternating between the beach and pool.
*There are some nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, La Perle Noire was good.
Bad points;
*The main restaurant needs an overhaul, it could be so much better, but at the moment it lacks management.
*No drinks or food service from hotel on beach.
*If the weather is bad the water sports are closed and over New Year both the 1st and 2nd of January everything is closed as a public holiday.
*The staff could do with more training, again management.
*There is no taxi rank at the hotel and there were no cars available to hire, so we had to wait ages and ages for a taxi and there were very few 5 seater taxis available.
*Seychelles is very, very expensive for what you get and I would only stay here if you get a very good deal, which then makes the bad points easier to put up with!
*Overall restaurant prices seem very over inflated.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We made the biggest mistake of our lives by booking this hotel.service is slow and despicable . Except for a few staff the rest are irritating and dumb.we were very a angry with this lady who walked right inside my room within 2 hrs of my checking in inspite of asking her to wait till i open the door a few times only to hand me a review sheet. What the hell. There is no such thing as room service. Even water is charges at exhorbitant rates of more than $15 per ltr and that too has to be taken from the bar near the pool and will not be served to ure room. The air condition either stops working or drips and guests are forced to check out at 10 am regardless of us not getting enough sleep inspite of the ac nt working for almost two hrs during mid night.Was wrongly charged more than $30 for drinks i never had.heck i dint even go to the bar and was asked to pay at 11 pm even though i was checking out the next day. Waited 4 hrs to be given a room. The hotel called a taxi for me but the bell boy didnt load the luggage cause he was busy chilling around so the cabbie hotel. What a pathetic experience.Please dont stay there and avoid mental trauma.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyfada, Greece
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The best hotel on this particular beach (even though there is another 5 star hotel around). The beach in front of the hotel is great with waves most of the time to play. The hotel is average but not bad. Restaurant is not so great with iron chairs that remained you beach frond café. Food on the restaurant is plenty breakfast and dinner (costs €30/person)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Around mid December my family (myself, wife and 2 kids (6 and 11)) spent a week at the hotel.

Let me start on a positive (it goes downhill from there).
The location is magnificent. Beautiful views, swimming, beaches etc. The hotel cant take much credit for this apart from the people that put the hotel there in the 1st place.
But I cant fault the location.

Hotel
- Is very 70s (which was very boring architecture. Barely functional)
- It recently has had a revamp and if I room was finished it might have been passable. There were clearly unfinished tasks and missing furniture. Little things like the room safe was not bolted to the wall.
- Small positive - The suites were quite large

Sleep Quality
- Awful, awful. There was a function there the night we arrived. Loud music till 2am. Private function so we could not even have attended if we wanted to. Music from the poolside bar was loud and whilst it did not go on for too long each time it was still a pain

Service
- Poor. Staff not properly trained and seem unsupervised. I dont blame the staff here as they seemed to try but they were clearly missing a level of management

Restaurants
- Mahek. Indian restaurant in the hotel was good. The rest were poor to average and quite expensive
- Restaurants closer to hotel were better but still quite expensive. Scandanavian type prices.

Room Tip: Sea facing more beautiful but if you go to bed before 11 rather choose one far from reception and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As an extensive traveller, i am very open minded and have never written a negative review .. till now. This hotel appears to have no management function at all. Service is terrible, staff are not trained but the biggest problem is the loud music they play till 2am. There is little in the way of sound proofing - it is impossible to sleep even with all the doors/ windows closed and air-con on full.

The hotel has a great location - amazing beach and would be ideal for a party animal but if you are looking for some sleep, book elsewhere. (Our room had a major ant problem and leaky air-con. There aren't enough loungers or umbrellas at the pool or beach either)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've been happy with this hotel until I experienced super slow services. It took an 1 hour to check in, and it took 2 hours to get an rent car. To get draft beer, it took 2-30 min.
What make me mad was the guy around concierge. his job was organizing daily tour or renting a car for customers. When we first approached him, he only tried to book daily tour with tour agency for 85~100 Euros per person. We wanted to get a rent car to explore Mahe, but he said fuel in Mahe is very very expensive. So we went to daily tour first day. It took just 10 min for a car to pick us up. It was fast.
And we rented a car for the next day through him. He said there was no problem and the car would be at robby around 9 a.m. But you know what happend? Our car finally arrived at 11:00 a.m. without airconditioning!! He was so fast when he scheduled his daily tour, but he lied to us about a car like, the road was blocked. And the fuel is expensive. But if you put $20 you can go all the way around the island.
If you are very tolerate person with already scheduled rent car, you can use this hotel. Food is nice, and room is clean. But if you have limited time to stay in Mahe, you better use another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Address: P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The islands’ best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms . The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.