We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas day we heard music all day till 23:00” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Save Saved
You added Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Beau Vallon
Glyfada, Greece
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Christmas day we heard music all day till 23:00”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The best hotel on this particular beach (even though there is another 5 star hotel around). The beach in front of the hotel is great with waves most of the time to play. The hotel is average but not bad. Restaurant is not so great with iron chairs that remained you beach frond café. Food on the restaurant is plenty breakfast and dinner (costs €30/person)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    97
    67
    24
    30
See reviews for
59
126
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Around mid December my family (myself, wife and 2 kids (6 and 11)) spent a week at the hotel.

Let me start on a positive (it goes downhill from there).
The location is magnificent. Beautiful views, swimming, beaches etc. The hotel cant take much credit for this apart from the people that put the hotel there in the 1st place.
But I cant fault the location.

Hotel
- Is very 70s (which was very boring architecture. Barely functional)
- It recently has had a revamp and if I room was finished it might have been passable. There were clearly unfinished tasks and missing furniture. Little things like the room safe was not bolted to the wall.
- Small positive - The suites were quite large

Sleep Quality
- Awful, awful. There was a function there the night we arrived. Loud music till 2am. Private function so we could not even have attended if we wanted to. Music from the poolside bar was loud and whilst it did not go on for too long each time it was still a pain

Service
- Poor. Staff not properly trained and seem unsupervised. I dont blame the staff here as they seemed to try but they were clearly missing a level of management

Restaurants
- Mahek. Indian restaurant in the hotel was good. The rest were poor to average and quite expensive
- Restaurants closer to hotel were better but still quite expensive. Scandanavian type prices.

Room Tip: Sea facing more beautiful but if you go to bed before 11 rather choose one far from reception and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

As an extensive traveller, i am very open minded and have never written a negative review .. till now. This hotel appears to have no management function at all. Service is terrible, staff are not trained but the biggest problem is the loud music they play till 2am. There is little in the way of sound proofing - it is impossible to sleep even with all the doors/ windows closed and air-con on full.

The hotel has a great location - amazing beach and would be ideal for a party animal but if you are looking for some sleep, book elsewhere. (Our room had a major ant problem and leaky air-con. There aren't enough loungers or umbrellas at the pool or beach either)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've been happy with this hotel until I experienced super slow services. It took an 1 hour to check in, and it took 2 hours to get an rent car. To get draft beer, it took 2-30 min.
What make me mad was the guy around concierge. his job was organizing daily tour or renting a car for customers. When we first approached him, he only tried to book daily tour with tour agency for 85~100 Euros per person. We wanted to get a rent car to explore Mahe, but he said fuel in Mahe is very very expensive. So we went to daily tour first day. It took just 10 min for a car to pick us up. It was fast.
And we rented a car for the next day through him. He said there was no problem and the car would be at robby around 9 a.m. But you know what happend? Our car finally arrived at 11:00 a.m. without airconditioning!! He was so fast when he scheduled his daily tour, but he lied to us about a car like, the road was blocked. And the fuel is expensive. But if you put $20 you can go all the way around the island.
If you are very tolerate person with already scheduled rent car, you can use this hotel. Food is nice, and room is clean. But if you have limited time to stay in Mahe, you better use another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warsaw
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Upon reservation we paid extra to get a room overlooking the ocean (upper floor on request). We did get the upper floor (4th) but to view the ocean you had to get out on the balcony, stretch your neck and look to the left. To make things worse the AC didn't work. So, watch out for semi ocean view rooms at the price of ocean view. Besides,unlike all other hotels I know, Coral Strand is one hotel where the top floor is NOT recommended. The rooms there are smaller, the balcony is narrow, the door to the balcony is half size smaller than in the other rooms , the ceiling in the room is slanted and the balcony is under a large roof overhang. After several interventions and answers like all rooms are taken, this one is reserved the other just got occupied etc,etc we finally got the room we wanted on the next day..
To sum up the minuses :
-avoid the top floor especially in the south-west wing
-the waitresses in the beach bar should move much faster
-the air conditioner is badly needed in the main restaurant (the ceiling fans are to slow and useless). Good thing we didn't go All Inclusive as I saw people sweating over their meal there.
-the €110 p/p OBLIGATORY (!) New Year's Eve dinner is a rip-off. What happens if the guest wants to spend that evening elsewhere (or in bed) ? The prepaid dinner is thrown to the dogs ?
-the loud club disco music at the bar (there on some days) should be toned down. For those who can not live without loud music, I'm sure there is some disco/club there somewhere.
To sum up the pluses :
-in general the staff is polite, pleasant and tries to be helpful (at least to us)
-the location is great, right on the beach
-the food is good (hamburger almost like in the U.S.'s TGIF or Champion's)
-the live band was good and it should play there every day
I hope my impressions remain unchanged as I'm writing this at the beginning of our 2-weeks holiday stay .
So, hurry up and book this hotel before the Savoy Hotel complex opens up next door and overshadows Coral Strand. (avoid the top floor and make sure you get the REAL ocean view if that's what you paid for)

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor and get a REAL sea view if that's what you paid extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm at the lobby of the Coral Strand Hotel at this point, and I can't be able to write good reviews for the service they provide to us. My girlfriend and I have been staying here for 3 nights so far, and from the start of stay, they always have made us wait for at least an hour to get us in a room and rent a car (which took us wait for 2 hours!!). Everyone understand that time does very matter to tourists, however, they must be the only one who don't seem to understand about this at all. If you have a huge mind of understand-ability, I recommend of this hotel to you. If not, don't expect to have a wonderful vacation here at the Coral Strand Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear 'TommyKim'

Thank you very much for your feedback! You comments are closely studied and the proper measures will be taken to guarantee the best service of our hotel.

It is very important for us to have such an attentive feedback from our guests helping the management to see the whole picture of the operation that we care about! .

Please, believe us that one of our core standard is to cater each guests needs and give a more personalise service. As you have seen, we were still on soft opening with improvements to be done. However rest assured that we are on the right track seeing the numerous of good comments that we have got recently. We hope these incidents will not mar your impression of our hotel and we hope you will give us the opportunity to treat you with impeccable service, upon your next visit to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

With Sincere Regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Second time now have visited the beach bar for something to eat. I thought the first time I was just unfortunate with the service but today it was just as bad. The wait to be served was twenty minutes and then the order was wrong, one meal was missed completely and a large Seybrew is actually only three-quarters of a glass full. When asked if it could be topped up to a full glass the answer was a straight no. And that's just rude. Service during the meal was really bad as it was almost impossible to attract the attention of any member of staff. And it took three attempts and forty minutes to order dessert. All in all unacceptable service. My organisation use the hotel a lot for visiting staff and partners but we shall be using the Le Meridien from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear 'Gary966'

Thank you very much for your feedback! You comments are closely studied and the proper measures will be taken to guarantee the best service of our hotel.

It is very important for us to have such an attentive feedback from our guests helping the management to see the whole picture of the operation that we care about!

We will be glad to see you again and to be a place of stay for your staff and partners.

Thank you again for your time to share your comments with us!

Best Regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel, Seychelles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon
Address: P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The islands’ best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms . The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.