We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles to your Saves list
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Resort Credit SCR850
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
south africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Coral Strand Hotel on Mahe Island from the 17.11.2012 to the 23.11.2012 and i must say that i was amazed at the awesome szervice i got from the hotel staff. On arrival at 6h30 in the morning the reception ensured that i was checked into my room at 7h15 and note that check in times are only from 12. We were also given an ocean view room which we did not except. The rooms and toilet was neat and clean. Even tho the hotel was under renovation, every effort was being made to ensure that the guests were not inconvienced. The hotel is situated in a great location and one can find water sport right next door to the hotel. There are many restuarants and shops around the location of the hotel and one can get some great food outside the hotel. A very big thank you all the staff in the kitchen who made my birthday and anniversary on the 18.11.2012 a memorable one. Thank you to all staff for your kind hospitality and whilst my friends from other hotels were always moaning about their stay, i could proudly say that this hotel was worth the stay. I would recommend this hotel to family friends and travellers abroad.

Room Tip: I was in a standard ocean facing room and the views were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

We are truly delighted to read from your review that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us. On a more positive note, we were happy that once you had settled in your new room, you had a lovely stay from thereon and nice to know that you all enjoyed the surprise organize by our staff for your birthday and anniversary. I am sure such beautiful comment from you will enhance their motivation.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share feedback on Trip Advisor and recommend our hotel to your dear ones. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

With Best Regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel, Seychelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    180
    110
    43
    46
See reviews for
110
244
32
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been preparing our trip for few months, following reviews of different hotels in Beau Vallon and in the south of main island.

I remember in August and September Coral Strand (advised by friends who stayed in 2010) was still having some work but providing great discounts. Still that time we had chosen another place to stay. Due to some changes at work we had to cancel the booking and in November – seeing a note that renovation is over we booked this one due to its very much reasonable price and perfect location.

We stayed 6 – 16 November, my friend joined me with her kid. We wouldn’t regret any minute! Location, beach, ocean, food, sunsets – all is simply perfect. Views are so stunning from each corner of the hotel – that only peevish losers can go and complain after, that there is slow service in the restaurant. You have come here to enjoy, to memorize, to breathe – not to sit with the stopwatch in order to ask for compensation.

They served early breakfast when we went to the sunrise hiking, they had some great bands playing and singing through the approaching dusk. We booked with breakfast only, but after checking out neighboring places to eat out for few day – came to the hotel and didn’t move further, here you are certain about quality and the price is better than in any other clean restaurant, plus you can eat in front of the ocean. There is a pizza and coke take away (100 m to the left) – if that is what you wish for during your tropical holiday. There is another restaurant few steps from the hotel – not bad, but more expensive, far from ocean and when the cocktail straw was dirty it spoiled my appetite.

One more thing to mention – we came prepared, we knew exactly what to visit, where to rent a car, and how much it costs. But I have noticed that friendly staff was explaining to others with maps about each view point ! these people really care you can see all beauties of their country. Smile to them and they will always smile in return (don’t forget - they are a bit shy islanders from the small country)

To cut the story short – we loved the place, we recommend it and I plan to come back in Feb (when it gets too hard without the sunshine) and those who can’t share the good mood – should stay at home on the couch, not a single beauty of the country and neither

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel online. Your praise is most appreciated and encouraging for all of us.

We wish you a most joyous festive season ahead and a terrific start into a successful and healthy 2013.

Seasons greetings!
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We knew the hotel was going to be still undergoing renovation but little got in the way of us enjoying ourselves. This hotel is right on the most wonderful beach in Mahe and offers a wonderful outlook to Silhouette island.

The staff were most helpful and could not do enough to make our stay the best possible.

The Indian restaurant on site is wonderful but you need to book to ensure a table.

Its not complete yet but what has been done to this hotel is very good, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: As the hotel was still being renovated we were upgraded to an 'Ocean View' room from a '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your views online. We always do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you had a very pleasant stay. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.

Wishing you and your family a memorable festive season and great start to an enriching 2013!

Kind regards,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel, Seychelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently enjoyed a brief stay at this hotel. We arrived very early in the morning and the hotel strived to get us a room as soon as possible. They were still in soft opening and we got a very good value.

Rooms & Facilities: Our room had a very nice ocean view. There was a nice balcony with 2 teak chairs and table inside that you could put outside if you wanted. A nice desk area, flat screen TV, good space for luggage, good hanging space and storage for clothes, and a safe and refrigerator. The bathroom was small but adequate. Soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower (shampoo was very difficult to use), hand soap dispenser, tubes of body lotion, and string hanger for wet items. There was only one sink, but there was adequate storage space for all our toiletries. Wifi signal was not too strong. Pool was beautiful. There was a shower on the pool deck. Adequate lounge chairs on the beach, but limited shade - under a building overhang and under a tree only. At the pool, there was only one umbrella with 4 chairs under it. The rest of the umbrellas were used for tables and chairs, but I saw someone moved one to their lounge chairs. Lack of shade could be a problem if the pool area and beach are full; it rained most of the time we were there so this was hard for us to judge. The beach is spectacular, as others have noted.

Reception: The bulk of the fine tuning is needed here. There seemed to be inadequate help. When our room was available, there was no one to help with the luggage. Only one person was at the desk and she was struggling to keep up with people demanding rooms. The elevator by the lobby was not operational. Someone from the back office (I think it was a local tour operator) showed us to another elevator and our room. We received only one voucher for towels, so we had to make a trip back to reception later in the day so that we could each have a towel. At dinner that night we discovered we had been listed as BB and not HB. Another trip to reception to fix this. We stopped at reception to ask if the water was safe to drink and were told that 2 bottles were provided every day in the refrigerator. The second day we didn't receive any water. We saw Housekeeping and she said you had to ask at reception for additional water after the first day. This was weird. Housekeeping came back a few minutes later and gave us 2 bottles so we never investigated further.

Food: Good selection at breakfast. There was a buffet our first night and there was entertainment and a good selection of items. The chairs in the dining room are metal and not comfortable for any length of time. No atmosphere for dinner. The second night we ate in the Indian restaurant. I ate the Indian food and ordered whatever I wanted off the menu. The food was delicious. My BF does not eat Indian food so he received a HB menu to order from. There were only 4 items (beef, fish, chicken and something else) on it. None of the choices interested me. This is a rip off and not disclosed on the website when you book HB. In fact, I am wondering if you are even allowed to eat in the Indian restaurant or if this was a fortunate mistake for me. I could not imagine eating off the HB dinner menu 2 nights in a row. Luckily we had the buffet the first night and only stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback. It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to the location of the hotel, cleanliness and features of our room. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues as you mentioned regarding of the training of our reception staff, more varieties of the HB menus and more umbrellas on the pool deck.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Get there as soon as possible, before the big resort close to the Coral Strand is completed. When it becomes operational, the vast beach will probably become overcrowded (at least for Seychellois standards.
Breakfast, if not included in the cost of the room, is definitely expensive.
The hotel has just been renovated, which is definitely good news.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience at the Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel online. Your praise is most appreciated and encouraging.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our family friendly hotel in the not too distant future and wish you a most joyous festive season ahead and a terrific start into a successful and healthy 2013.

Seasons greetings from Seychelles to Italy!
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our vacation began May 16th-23th. We went for relaxation, beach, drinks, and sun. We got all those and more.Our room was on the ground floor center of all, our beds comfortable and the air nice and cool. Our room next to the construction which we could not hear unless we opened our door. As for hearing the construction on the beach or poolside., (no), the entertainment music and crowd from the pool was so much louder. The staff was friendly, our rooms were clean and little towel designs eveyday on our bed, so cool. We are from Europe and have to say that the food was delish. The drinks were as I remember from the last times we came to holiday, all yummy. The beach was wonderful. Our excursions were just wonderful, the islands, snorkeling, food and more. Most of these days we watched the fishes then relaxed on the beautifull beaches. Reception was just wonderful in helping with any need or questions. We made some new good friends, exchanged emails and we hope to keep in touch.

Over all would we go back to Seychelles & Coral Strand, yes

thanks for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hotel's location is great as it is situated right on the lovely beach and is not far from the city and shopping (5 km) at the same time. The room I stayed in was beautifully equipped, very cosy, clean at all the times and I enjoyed to stay on balcony with the breathtaking sea view. The restaurant is located straight on the beach so you can enjoy your meals watching the sea and other islands and sunset in the evenings. The food was delicious and tasteful with a good choice. The always clean beach with comfortable sunbeds offers not only a perfect relaxation but also lots of water sports and entertainment. The swimming pool with clean water feels comfy and is not overcrowded. The Hotel's surrounding proposes for long and enjoyable walks. All the staff I met and spoke with was very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is not only suitable for a perfect holiday but also for the business trip stays as it offers a business center, parking, wi-fi internet connection and other useful facilities. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to all who want to enjoy a peaceful holiday, or feel comfortable during the business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Address: P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The islands’ best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms . The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.