We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach, nice hotel, but still some fine tuning is needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles to your Saves list
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great beach, nice hotel, but still some fine tuning is needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently enjoyed a brief stay at this hotel. We arrived very early in the morning and the hotel strived to get us a room as soon as possible. They were still in soft opening and we got a very good value.

Rooms & Facilities: Our room had a very nice ocean view. There was a nice balcony with 2 teak chairs and table inside that you could put outside if you wanted. A nice desk area, flat screen TV, good space for luggage, good hanging space and storage for clothes, and a safe and refrigerator. The bathroom was small but adequate. Soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower (shampoo was very difficult to use), hand soap dispenser, tubes of body lotion, and string hanger for wet items. There was only one sink, but there was adequate storage space for all our toiletries. Wifi signal was not too strong. Pool was beautiful. There was a shower on the pool deck. Adequate lounge chairs on the beach, but limited shade - under a building overhang and under a tree only. At the pool, there was only one umbrella with 4 chairs under it. The rest of the umbrellas were used for tables and chairs, but I saw someone moved one to their lounge chairs. Lack of shade could be a problem if the pool area and beach are full; it rained most of the time we were there so this was hard for us to judge. The beach is spectacular, as others have noted.

Reception: The bulk of the fine tuning is needed here. There seemed to be inadequate help. When our room was available, there was no one to help with the luggage. Only one person was at the desk and she was struggling to keep up with people demanding rooms. The elevator by the lobby was not operational. Someone from the back office (I think it was a local tour operator) showed us to another elevator and our room. We received only one voucher for towels, so we had to make a trip back to reception later in the day so that we could each have a towel. At dinner that night we discovered we had been listed as BB and not HB. Another trip to reception to fix this. We stopped at reception to ask if the water was safe to drink and were told that 2 bottles were provided every day in the refrigerator. The second day we didn't receive any water. We saw Housekeeping and she said you had to ask at reception for additional water after the first day. This was weird. Housekeeping came back a few minutes later and gave us 2 bottles so we never investigated further.

Food: Good selection at breakfast. There was a buffet our first night and there was entertainment and a good selection of items. The chairs in the dining room are metal and not comfortable for any length of time. No atmosphere for dinner. The second night we ate in the Indian restaurant. I ate the Indian food and ordered whatever I wanted off the menu. The food was delicious. My BF does not eat Indian food so he received a HB menu to order from. There were only 4 items (beef, fish, chicken and something else) on it. None of the choices interested me. This is a rip off and not disclosed on the website when you book HB. In fact, I am wondering if you are even allowed to eat in the Indian restaurant or if this was a fortunate mistake for me. I could not imagine eating off the HB dinner menu 2 nights in a row. Luckily we had the buffet the first night and only stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share such wonderful comments and experience feedback. It was nice to hear your positive comments with regards to the location of the hotel, cleanliness and features of our room. We will make sure to pass on the kind comments to the respective departments.

We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we share these comments with our staff so we may resolve any and all issues as you mentioned regarding of the training of our reception staff, more varieties of the HB menus and more umbrellas on the pool deck.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel on many future occasions.

Sincerely,
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    120
    84
    31
    36
See reviews for
69
164
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Get there as soon as possible, before the big resort close to the Coral Strand is completed. When it becomes operational, the vast beach will probably become overcrowded (at least for Seychellois standards.
Breakfast, if not included in the cost of the room, is definitely expensive.
The hotel has just been renovated, which is definitely good news.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakeel R, Manager at Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your recent experience at the Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel online. Your praise is most appreciated and encouraging.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our family friendly hotel in the not too distant future and wish you a most joyous festive season ahead and a terrific start into a successful and healthy 2013.

Seasons greetings from Seychelles to Italy!
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our vacation began May 16th-23th. We went for relaxation, beach, drinks, and sun. We got all those and more.Our room was on the ground floor center of all, our beds comfortable and the air nice and cool. Our room next to the construction which we could not hear unless we opened our door. As for hearing the construction on the beach or poolside., (no), the entertainment music and crowd from the pool was so much louder. The staff was friendly, our rooms were clean and little towel designs eveyday on our bed, so cool. We are from Europe and have to say that the food was delish. The drinks were as I remember from the last times we came to holiday, all yummy. The beach was wonderful. Our excursions were just wonderful, the islands, snorkeling, food and more. Most of these days we watched the fishes then relaxed on the beautifull beaches. Reception was just wonderful in helping with any need or questions. We made some new good friends, exchanged emails and we hope to keep in touch.

Over all would we go back to Seychelles & Coral Strand, yes

thanks for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jablonec nad Nisou, Czech Republic
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Hotel's location is great as it is situated right on the lovely beach and is not far from the city and shopping (5 km) at the same time. The room I stayed in was beautifully equipped, very cosy, clean at all the times and I enjoyed to stay on balcony with the breathtaking sea view. The restaurant is located straight on the beach so you can enjoy your meals watching the sea and other islands and sunset in the evenings. The food was delicious and tasteful with a good choice. The always clean beach with comfortable sunbeds offers not only a perfect relaxation but also lots of water sports and entertainment. The swimming pool with clean water feels comfy and is not overcrowded. The Hotel's surrounding proposes for long and enjoyable walks. All the staff I met and spoke with was very friendly and helpful. The Hotel is not only suitable for a perfect holiday but also for the business trip stays as it offers a business center, parking, wi-fi internet connection and other useful facilities. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to all who want to enjoy a peaceful holiday, or feel comfortable during the business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent a pleasant holiday with my girlfriend in Beau Vallon in Coral
Strand hotel. It is a beautiful place not so far from the capital
Victoria. The strategic location of the hotel gave us a lot of
opportunities for travel around the island. We have enjoyed the beach
and the most romantic sunsets.
The room was nice, seems new with a balcony overlooking the swimming
pool and beach, plus the bathroom was really clean. That’s what I
expected of a good hotel room.

The meal in hotel restaurant was always tasty,
We tasted the local specialties in the restaurants near the hotel also.
This vacation was one of the best which we ever had and we plan to go
back next year.

Noah

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed for six nights in a standart room. The room is very nicely appointed and tastefully furnished.
It features IP TV, IP phone, wardrobe, tea/coffee facilities, mini fridge, shower, WC, A/C, electronic personal safe and hair dryer. The room was spotless, cleaned every day.
The resort located on Beau Vallon Beach which is amazing. We enjoed beautifull the sunset and great seawater every day.
Also the meal in the hotel is great. I can recommend Mahek Restaurant. It was excellent!

The service is corresponded to price. I think after the construction it is a little bit higher level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location of the Hotel is perfect. it is direct located on one of the most famous beaches in Mahe Seychelles. A lot of activities happening around this area.
Unfortunately the service of the hotel is very poor , so that I checked out after the first night. The check-in at the Hotel took me more than two hours, while the lady at reception keeps telling me 10 minutes more to wait. The room is newly renovated and clean, but the TV does, no Safe to deposit valuables, no coffee maker and the AC is more a kind of lottery.
Additionally the Hotel is currently under construction and therefore a bit noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles

Address: P.O. Box 400 | Beau-Vallon, Victoria, Mahe, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel stands out with a completely new hotel concept for the Seychelles: Premium comfort at an affordable price. The islands’ best value-for-money is located at the absolutely best area directly on the most attractive strip of beach in the famous Beau Vallon Bay on the largest of Seychelles' islands, Mahé. Hardly any other hotel has such a beach and ocean view. The 4 star plus hotel has 161 modern and attractively equipped rooms. There are 140 standard rooms, 4 junior suites, 21 deluxe rooms . The original Coral Strand opened in 1972 as one of the first hotels on the Seychelles. The name Coral Strand has always attracted guests with its breath-taking ocean views and fantastic location directly on the white sand beach. The last 40 years have seen a steady stream of return guests. The hotel bar with its live music has established itself as a legendary meeting point for tourists and locals. The original hotel was completely reconstructed and renovated with new design, equipment and contemporary comfort. The service offer was also completely reorganized. With the new name Coral Strand Smart Choice, the hotel now wants to offer the best value-for-money hotel in the Seychelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Coral Strand
Coral Strand Beau Vallon
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.