We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great place to spend a holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles to your Saves list
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 550, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island 550, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LIVE. STAY & REST
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart, Mauritius
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Not a great place to spend a holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Disappointing stay in what is really a very overpriced 2 star.

Check is was fine but thereafter things went down hill. The overall hotel (opened in 1974) is tired and needs gutting and redecorating. The rooms (although big) were badly finished and the amenities available in the room were basic.

The restaurant and bar areas were the same story - very old and very dull.

The Berjaya group need to check whether they really want to be in this business i think!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ken, General Manager at Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Mr Murray, we are a 3 Star plus Resort. It is correct that the Resort was build in the 1970s. However, we have recently renovated the Standard rooms of the Resort. At the moment, we are carrying out upgrading works on the Garden Superior Rooms. We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    172
    185
    73
    66
See reviews for
95
279
36
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have recently returned from Beau Vallon Bay resort , we were married in this hotel 25 years ago and returned as part of a two stop holiday to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. Our trip was organised by Destinology who we can't praise enough, our stay at Beau Vallon was made magical by the staff at the hotel especially Josianne the guest relations officer, the food at the hotel was excellent and a comfortable room. The beach at Beau Vallon is very special just as we remembered with warm sea and soft sand and not crowded. We must mention Masons travel who took care of our airport transfers, they treated us like royalty and made a special start to our stay. Hire a car and see all this island it's beautiful along with the Seychelles people it was like going home for us and will always have a place in our hearts.

Room Tip: Rooms are constantly being re furnished and the hotel is gradually being upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ken, General Manager at Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear BryCom, Thank you for spending your 25th wedding anniversary with us. We are glad to be of service to you. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurants, especially the Chinese restaurant was very good. The hotel itself is more of a 'budget' hotel although it was some nice features to it. The casino is average but with friendly staff. We tried to have a meal when the restaurants were closed and the restaurant staff said the restaurant was closed but still went in the back and prepared something for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ken, General Manager at Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Ace222, thank you for acknowledging our staff in their efforts to exceed customer satisfaction. We are glad to be of service to you. Glad you had a great holiday in the Seychelles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Seychelles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My experience is different from most as I had an extended stay at the Berjaya Beau Vallon Seychelles. I was here to work in the Seychelles for an extended period. From the time I arrived I found the staff very friendly and helpful with my many questions ranging from how do I travel in the Seychelles to where should I shop when catering for myself upon leaving the hotel.

My room was quiet, a/c effective, and cleaned thoroughly every day. I appreciated being given a non smoking room. I would have liked a balcony but not so important. I liked that the hotel blended into the environment and allowed one to flow through the reception area to the beach via a grassed area. Also, that it was set back from the beach with numerous palm trees lit at night. The pool was always clean and pool staff courteous and always keen to assist. Let me state unequivically this location is right up there. Beau Vallon beach is superb and needs to be put one's bucket list.

The hotel has a number of restaurants with the chefs doing a good job with what I know are generally limited foodstuffs available in the Seychelles. Choice was always good and I particularly enjoyed breakfast each day. Drinks were expensive but I know that this is same anywhere you go in the Seychelles. it was not an issue for me as I was working.

The reception staff were for me the highlight of my stay. From their welcoming smiles every day to providing newspapers, or assisting me developing my Creole nothing was ever too much trouble.

I observed managers supporting their staff to deliver first class service. I would recommend this hotel to all and sundry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ken, General Manager at Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Annia K, we are glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. Beau Vallon Beach is indeed beautiful. We looking forward to welcoming you back in the Seychelles. Thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Much of the Berjaya Beau Vallon’s criticism is well deserved but much of it is not and in our opinion some of it’s just downright unfair. We flew Emirates from Manchester and were met at Mahe airport by Masons who whisked us off to the Berjaya where check in was quick and efficient. We asked for a room in a quiet location and room 261 ticked that very important box very nicely. We heard nothing from our neighbours (not sure we had any at times?? ) which was fantastic and we slept really well all week. The basic rooms do not have balconies which is a little bit frustrating and the bathrooms are rather small but the double beds are enormous and very comfortable and the AC was easy to control so we did not wake up at 3 in the morning in sub zero temperatures. We have no complaints about the room.
Breakfast was included in the price and the choice was perfectly adequate. We are not sure what kind of choice people want at breakfast. To us the cereal, toast, fruit and some cooked options is fine. The tea and coffee are not great but you do get Nescafe sachets in your room which is something of a luxury as a visit to the supermarkets in Victoria will reveal that a standard jar of Nescafe costs over £20 !!!! in the Seychelles. It is a very expensive place to live and life is a struggle for many of the locals.
The Beau Vallon beach is right next to the hotel and it is lovely. The Seychelles are a stunningly beautiful tropical paradise and the views in the mid- morning are sublime as the turquoise Indian Ocean meets the white sand and the sunsets are spectacular. You get very little hassle from local coconut and boat trip hawkers. The Berjaya pool is also better than the ones at the nearby Meridien Fishermans Cove and Coral Strand if you’re the kind of person who actually wants to swim in a pool rather than just use it to cool off.
OK so now the bad bits. Some but by no means all of the hotel staff are definitely not the friendliest. Good customer service is not their forte. Some seem to adopt a laid back “I really wanna-be Jamaican” outlook on life but they lack the roguish Caribbean charm to pull it off without leaving you with the distinct impression that they are simply lazy and usually make you feel that they are doing you a massive favour by simply doing their job. The hotel bar prices are also a joke. £6 for a small 280 ml Seybrew and £3 for a litre of water. Thus the hotel bars are pretty much deserted most of the time and so the evening entertainers generally perform to an audience of none which makes you feel very sorry for them. The restaurant food is also overpriced and you can get much better quality and value further up the beach. We along with many other guests bought our beer / wine in the various local Beau Vallon supermarkets (where sadly it’s still overpriced!!) and drank it on the beach.
We got the impression that the Berjaya Management are aware of the hotels shortcomings and are trying to do something about it but they need professional guidance in the area of food and beverage pricing and a good customer service policy. Would we go back. Yes ! As far as the location, room and breakfast option is concerned the hotel represents value for money in an island economy where it appears that collusive price fixing cartels seem to rule the roost.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ken, General Manager at Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Jimmy and Heather, glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay in our Standard Room 261. Glad you enjoyed our restaurant and newly renovated pool. Pricing in Seychelles is comparatively higher than most major cities due mainly to the shipping and freight cost into the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our wedding was in December 2012. Shortly afterwards, we flew to Seychelles on Ethiopian Airlines with my new lovely wife. Seychelles is generally a small extremely gorgeous country (Island) with literally thousands of clean beaches and perfect weather. on arrival at Berjaya Beau Vallon at Mahe (The main island), we had a bit of an argument with the customer service representatives. This is because our flight had been postponed by a day and they wanted to charge us for that day. However, when the manager was called, he sorted the matter out in a spectacularly cool, calm and collected fashion. That's where the good times began rolling. From the beautiful room we got, excellent service, sumptuous meals, in-hotel bar with live band, crisp clean swimming pool and best of all a beach front to behold! In Kenya, our coastline has a coral reef which breaks the ocean waves as they approach the shore. But in Seychelles, there is no reef so the waves come all the way to the beach. The fun is un-imaginable. It my first real holiday and I will be definitely back there..soon. I encourage anyone to try Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Hotel & Resort (Sychelles) for themselves.

Room Tip: Please ask about the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ken, General Manager at Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Crispus, the management and staff were glad to be of service to you during your stay. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Please avoid this resort if you are on a honeymoon or any romantic holiday! I was here for work and it was accettable. The rooms are terrible, dated, no balconies, old windows difficult to open, one of the smallest bathrooms I have ever seen.
Very noisy all times, communicating doors between rooms. Breakfast not very good. Personnel at least very friendly and beautiful beaches nearby. Good luck!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Ken, General Manager at Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear FlightAttendant64, our standard rooms have been recently renovated. Management has taken your feedback into consideration and improvements have been planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles

Address: P.O. Box 550, Beau Vallon, Mahe Island 550, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greeneries and crystal clear waters, wellness and serenity await at this resort. Situated on the northwest coast of Mahe Island, the largest island in Seychelles, discover the fulfillment of a vacation filled with excitement and enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles Hotel Victoria
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort And Casino - Seychelles
Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berjaya Beau Vallon Bay Resort & Casino - Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.