We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bord Mer Villa

Save Saved
You added Bord Mer Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bord Mer Villa
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Beau Vallon B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second time at the Bord Mer. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean.
The Bord Mer is literally 1-2 minutes walk from the beautiful Beau Vallon Bay.
The welcome at the Bord Mer is second to none and the staff were great throughout our stay with the balcony breakfast being a particular highlight.
If you don't like the "big hotel" feeling then this is for you.
I would have liked free wifi but this is a minor gripe (you can log on for free at the Coral Strand along the beach).
Would I go back to the Bord Mer? I already have!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OIT Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    31
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
49
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were apprehensive when making our booking purely due to another review concerning a room not being available when the guests arrived. Thankfully, this was not our experience. Email response can be slow but when you visit the Seychelles you realise that the Seychellois are generally laid back. We were also slightly nervous at using our credit card to guarantee the booking but being expected to pay cash on arrival, this seems to be the normal way of payment in the Seychelles. The staff at the Bord Mer were all very welcoming. The breakfasts were good and the rooms kept clean and tidy. The location of the villas means that it is very easy to head for the beach with just your towel and villa key. The only very slight negative point is that you can hear the traffic on the nearby road. The locals do like to have the volume on their car stereos blasting out at full blast, however as there is not a constant stream of traffic this did not effect us and would not prevent us from staying at Bord Mer again. We would highly recommend Bord Mer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

It's a shame to write a review for a place I never stayed at, but believe me we tried our best to stay there. We emailed them to check on availability and following a positive response asked for a room on our selected dates, along with a few other questions about the resort. After several days without a response, followed up and were told that our emails were in their spam folder, hence no reply. (Like it was our fault.) By this time, they told us that we'd have to wait and see if the rooms were free after all as they had tentatively reserved them for someone else. After much to-ing and fro-ing (mainly 'to-ing on our part due to their repeated ignoring of our emails) we were given a terse email stating that we could stay for a few days (not the week that they had originally confirmed) and we could go on a waiting list for the rest of our holiday. Throughout all of this, not a single word of apology for the inefficiency of their service. I'm sure this place is a lovely place to stay; just a shame that they don't feel they have to try too hard to get business. Wouldn't recommend anyone relying on a booking for this place - can totally understand the other 'disappointing' review from the contributor who turned up to be told he had no room. Completely unreliable. Give your business to someone who cares.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Villas are located a one minute walk to the Beau Vallon Beach. Each Villa has two appartments (one in ground floor, one in first floor). The size of an appartment is estimated 50 square meters, including a full equipped kitchen and a flat LCD TV. The two-person shower is wonderful :-) The breakfast includes fruits and eggs any style and is servered on your private balcony ! A rental car can be parked at the street without any fee. There is no swimming pool, but who needs it when the blue-green ocean is very close? The price is very low in relation to the offering. We will return for sure !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We had booked a room half a year earlier and we confirmed our reservation with credit card details. We trusted that the booking was ok. One week before departure we received an email from the hotel owner which said that we had to re-confirm our reservation. We did so and then got a reply that everything is ok with our reservation.
When we arrived at the hotel we were told that we have no reservation! The hotel was fully booked. We showed the confirmation to the hotel receptionist but she said that nothing can be done. They offered us a downgraded room as a replacement in close vicinity. But the room was awful! It was far from the level of the room we had booked. So we decided to skip this hotel and reserved a room from another hotel.
I suppose Bord Mer Villa could be a comfortable hotel with a good location but we just got a negative impression of it because of the problem with the reservation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This place absolutely made our stay at Mahe even better. We stayed here 8 nights and didn't regret once that we chose this place.

Staff is very very friendly and always took time to talk to us and give us good hints for places to go. Breakfast was served on our terrace every morning from 7.30 to 9.30. Only problem was that we some times had to wait quite some time for our breakfast as every body else wanted their breakfast at the same time. As we were travelling with a baby we wanted to get out the door before it was nap time again, and with late breakfast this made it difficult. We found out the best way was to go and tell the girls that we were ready for breakfast and they would serve us first.

The place was very clean upon arrival but could have wished for a bit better cleaning during the week. Also towels were supposed to be changed every three days but were only changed once during our stay.

Location is absolute perfect. You only have to cross the main road and you are at the beach. Also it is very close to several restaurants and right next to Popular Boat House.

The villas are spacy and nice. Beds are horrible though, but bed rooms are at least with a/c. For families with small children it's a great place, as you can cook dinner for them in the small kitchen. It has everything you need to cook a small meal.

We loved the place and would definitely choose this place again, if we were to come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed there with 4 friends back in November 2010 for 6 days and we thoroughly enjoyed the apartments. They are very spacious and nice, bathrooms are very big and clean. Location is very good, few steps from Beau Vallon Beach , close to Baobab Pizzeria (cheap and reasonable pizza) and right next to the Boat House buffet restaurant (this was not our favourite unfortunately - yes you can eat as much as you want and the food is relatively cheap, but not particularly tasty..). Bord Mer Villa was our last stop in the Seychelles. Before we stayed on Praslin (similar standard apartments) and La Digue (better standard house) and Bord Mer Villa was the most expensive of all three hence only 4 stars for value. 4 stars for sleep quality as well as it's very close to the road and you can hear cars - it was very noticable after very quiet Praslin and almost car free La Digue! In summary I would recommend it. It is a little friendly place nearly right on the beach. I wouldn't stay there longer than a week though..it is a lot better to spend a week there, a week on Praslin and 3-4 days on La Digue as all three islands are different and all worth seeing!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bord Mer Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bord Mer Villa

Address: Beau Vallon, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Beau Vallon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beau Vallon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bord Mer Villa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bord Mer Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bord Mer Villa Hotel Beau Vallon
Bord Mer Villa Seychelles/Mahe Island - Beau Vallon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bord Mer Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.