We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to spend most wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa to your Saves list
Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Vihula Kula, Vihula Vald, Vosu 45402, Estonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Vosu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to spend most wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Vihula Manor is a historical place with most amazing manor, conference centre, spa and wellness facility, and many other outdoor activities. Highly recommend to visit! Food is very good and a lot of raw material is grown in the manor garden.

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
63
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This historic estate is well restored and offers a relaxing place to stay and explore Lahemaa National Park. The amenities are good, with a beautiful spa, pleasant gardens and even a vodka museum. The quiet, countrified grounds offer good opportunities for relaxation.
My minor criticisms as to what could be better: the doors proved tricky to open (especially with a bag in hand) in the building by the pool and it would be good to have an internet connection there.
I ate in the main dining room and Kaval Ants and was positively impressed by both.
All told this place has great potential, looks very good and has the potential to attract business people for conferences and couples seeking a romantic break.

Room Tip: Rooms are spread across the estate, so it comes down to what you really like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have stayed during the weekend in Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa and I think it is a very nice, friendly and peaceful place to stay, it is great for romantic weekend as well as for rest with children. They offer a lot of facilities, our children were inspired about Eco-Farm with friendly animals, also swimming pool is well equipped for small kids, they had a lot of fun there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After three days in Tallinn this makes a different experience. 4km from a nice sandy beach with walking and cycling routes- Hope for good weather and watch out for insects . Bike hire from the hotel . All staff friendly and helpful
Buildings well restored , nice grounds. Junior suite in main house was good size , light and had whirlpool bath
Food in main restaurant is good and excellent value (Euro 80 for two with wine) not alway well-balanced flavours but well-cooked and very good service . Good breakfast -except for the OJ
Tavern is Estonians food worth a visit once!!( great jam with the pancakes though)
Swimming pool costs extra

Room Tip: Main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

After having spent a week city hopping, we wanted a few days to relax, and vihula ticked all the boxes, location was perfect, in the middle of a national park with the coast a mere bike ride away. Facilities were excellent, anything you would need for a few days away is avaialble ( we made good use of the spa, pool and gym ) and what really made the difference for us was the service, i would say the lovely helpful girls at the recepetion and aiki at the information centre really stood out, and went out of their way to help.all in all a delightful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great place. Well trained staff. Special thanks to F&B manager Alexandr for an outstanding house tour and personal care during our visit.
Amazing pieceful beech only 4km away.

Unfortunetely wi fi signal was vry poor in some of the buildings
Sauna in swimming pool was not hot enough in my opinion

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to Estonia. We tried three manor houses during our trip:
Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa, Padaste Manor on Muhu Island and Padise Manor just outside Tallinn.
In short, avoid Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa. If you have the time go straight to Padaste and if time is short go to Padise.
Vihula Manor is a beautiful manor and several outbuildings. The reviews I read were mostly positive so this review will only be helpful if you look for similar things in a hotel.
1- Cleanliness
This was a real problem. The shower didn't drain so we pulled out the plug to find it was caked in hair. I left this by the shower and in the four days we stayed this was never cleaned! The room was not made up until we requested that it was cleaned and in four days the room was never vacuumed. The tea etc was never replenished during the stay. Bear in mind that this hotel is supposed to be high class!
2- Comfort
The bed was fine. However, there was no air conditioning in our room - only an ineffective fan. our room was to stuffy to sleep so to keep cool we had to open the windows. The window did have a mosquito screen but it didn't work! If you do not want to get bitten bring your own mosquito net!
3- Breakfast
I always mark a breakfast by the quality of orange juice. The 'orange juice' at Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa is the cheapest orange cordial/squash. You always had to ask for coffee, milk etc The management need to address the staffing levels which are woefully inadequate. Anyone with a management blazer looked like they were helping. However, when you watched them they really did very little.
The quality of the buffet was very poor compared to the two other manor houses we visited.
4. Welcome
When you enter the reception area there is a big desk and at first you do not see the receptionist hiding behind. Management need to address training issues with the welcome you receive and the information provided about the hotel facilities. We were given the room key and sent on our way to find the building and the room for ourselves.

I could go on and on - green mouldy cake at the cafe, staff going around driving golf buggies with a pint of Saku in their hands but the fact that we had to pay for the use of the swimming pool every time we used it and had to walk to the reception and back to our building every time to get the pool unlocked really, really annoyed me.

This could be a lovely hotel but the management seem to be only interested in coach parties and pay absolutely no attention to details. The contrast between the service here and at the other two manor house hotels shows the two ends of the spectrum and I would recommend you give this one a miss and go and experience the outstanding attention to detail at the other two.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa

Address: Vihula Kula, Vihula Vald, Vosu 45402, Estonia
Location: Estonia > Laane-Viru County > Vosu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vosu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Vihula Manor Country Club, a hidden treasure on the Northern coast of Estonia, set amidst the wildlife-rich Lahemaa National Park and near the Baltic Sea. The elegant secluded manor, an estate which dates from the 16th century, is your perfect escape from the bustling city life and a supremely comfortable place to stay, whether you are here on business, attending a family celebration or relaxing on a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vihula Manor Country Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.