We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pedracin Village

Save Saved
You added Pedracin Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pedracin Village
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ribeira Grande | near Boca de Coruja, Ribeira Grande, Santo Antao, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ribeira Grande
Krkonose National Park, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in Pedracin in June 2013 during our wedding journey and were not satisfied. The staff did not speak English and was not very helpful, we had many animals - ants in our room and the breakfast was very poor - very small buffet with moldy food - especially cheese and bread - when we told this to the receptionist, he did not tell any excuse.
We liked the place and the style of the hotel but after this experience we would not come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
6
34
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waasmunster, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed begin April 2013 for 3 days in Pedracin (5 adults and 3 kids). This is a very good hotel with bungalow style rooms (2 rooms per bungalow). The bungalows are well hidden between the plants and are on the steep side of a ridge, which gives a fantastic view on the valley. The bungalows are mostly located at different levels, which allows enough privacy.

The way this hotel is integrated in the environment gave me trully a strong connect with nature. The peacock wondering before our doorstep, between the banana and papaya plants all added up to that feeling.
We had half board. The breakfast was all made of local ingredients with delicious flavours. We stayed in 3 hotels around the islands and this was the best and most authentic breakfast. The diner was very fine with local food (patatoes, rice, local vegetables, bananas served with fish and chicken).

The rooms are ok but not top. The shower was old with left and right some fungi coming up.
And the room smelled a bit humid, but after enough ventilation this was better.

The swimming pool is fine, not to big but just enough to have that great refreshing swim. Be aware that around 17:00 the sun gets behind the top of the hills in April.
Service was great and friendly !

Overall, i would recommend this hotel to others, for its unique and authentic concept.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am just back from my 2 weeks holiday in Pedracin. Overall, it was what I expected: great views from my room window! Yes, the shower was with cold water, but it was actually great and healthy after the whole day of hiking. Yes, the room was simple and smelled of damp, but we were keeping the window open and after all, we were only there to get some sleep. Yes, non English speaking staff, but they could say the same about us as we didn't speak their language, so that is not the issue. The service - Anderson was very helpful and always going the extra mile. The only issue that we found was: very loud French people. Some of them were hotel residents, like our neighbors, having a party till 3am! Some of them were just coming for lunch, being really loud and no respecting others at all. So I find it quite contradicting as the idea of this hotel is to promote a peaceful rest, that was my understanding anyway.

Room Tip: Room 308 has a splendid view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is perfectly integrated into the beautiful landscape of Santo Antao, rooms are large and clean, the restaurant is good and the whole is offered at a very reasonable price. From the hotel the islands allows endless hiking possibilities. A great place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Vicente, Cape Verde
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ok, no hot water for two days, food not bad, but no variety. After 4 days you would like to have something different from cold pasta. Rooms simple, clean, bathroom same. View staggering, swimmingpool luxury after a long hike.
It's not the Hilton, but for the price you pay it is a very good place to stay. Fun to meet all the other hikers. First days everybody walks like a crab because of the muscle pains. 80% French guests.
Staff is kind, once you know how to manipulate the wifi, you can communicate with friends.
Recommended
The Cabo Verde islands were a big surprise to us. Sao Antao: Paol Vally, the crater, the seaside hike and the inland road to Ribeira Grande were unforgettable. We have never seen such amazing and inspiring landscapes.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the restaurant. You have a bigger chance for hot water. While booking, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Technically speaking this hotel is not a three start hotel at all. The rooms are outdated, the beds are very uncomfortable. The shower is not hot in the morning (and only warm for a little while in the afternoon), but the friendliness of the staff makes up for it big time. Service with a huge smile, even though the language is a problem at times, the staff go out of their way to please.
The view from the pool/dinner area is amazing and we were lucky to be part of the new years party with Cape Verdian live music and great food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzern
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Nice location with a great surrounding view up and down the valley. Nice looking stone bungalows. The room was a bit outdated but ok and clean. Great view from the terrace All the houses are seated in a very nice looking park.
Very friendly service and helpful staff.
Breakfast buffet was nice and dinner was really great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pedracin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedracin Village

Address: Ribeira Grande | near Boca de Coruja, Ribeira Grande, Santo Antao, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Santo Antao > Ribeira Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ribeira Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedracin Village 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Pedracin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedracin Village Hotel Ribeira Grande
Pedracin Village Ribeira Grande
Pedracin Village Santo Antao, Cape Verde - Ribeira Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pedracin Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.