We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do a lot better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boa Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Boa Vista to your Saves list
Hotel Boa Vista
Avenida 4 Julho, Sal Rei, Boa Vista 40, Cape Verde   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Sal Rei B&B and Inns
Mali
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You can do a lot better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

To all you Trip Advisor Friends out there, just pass this place by.....
Spent too many nights there. So loud, grungy, non professional service and the list goes on. In fact, skip this review now and find another hotel. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we arrived at the hotel about 2 hours late and there was quite a lot of people booking in so we sat in the lounge had a few beers while the queue reduced and went to book in which was sorted with a very pleasant attitude.The bell boy took our cases to our room showed us were everything was(with a big smile).Time for evening meal which was in the main restaurant the food on display was absolutely amazing and tasted the same,and it was like that all through the holiday. We booked to go the fish restaurant and the African restaurant which was also excellent.The room was cleaned every day and was to our satisfaction.The garden all around the hotel were all kept very well ,all the hotel staff cleaners, gardeners,barmen etc spoke.The pools were of good size and wind breakers were set up on the beach with plenty of sun beds.There was entertainment on every night for the children and then the adults.The only let down was there was no tea making facility,so take a kettle.
All in all we had a good holiday and will go again.

Room Tip: we booked standard balcony room which we got but we had three flights of stairs as there ar no lifts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Booked room for 60Euros on booking.com but they tried to charge us more... was not a problem in the end.
The room was small, stuffy, with a dirty window onto an outside staircase and wall.
The bathroom door would not close.
We did not try the breakfast.
Location was OK logistically if you are staying in town - but nothing special, onto a 'main road', no nice views except for a few top rooms.
Else:
Clean;
Hot water;

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel obviously has some rooms that are for "paying customers" and other rooms reserved for those that would like to "cheap out"...

A friend and I had bought a last minute travel without knowing which hotel we would be placed in and found ourselves in a tiny room without any view and a lot of noise from the adjacent kitchen (below) in the mornings.

The room was basic and sparcely equipped, but had all we really needed (clean beds, toilet and shower). Cleanliness was good indeed, with the room beeing cleaned every day.

A little hassle getting our towels on the first day (had to ask trice), but in general the manager was very friendly and assisting.

We saw the inside of another room when passing in the corridoor, which was spaceous and looked a lot better than ours with a balcony facing the street. This may not only be favourable by the way as some noise should be expected from the street as well (traffic and building noice etc.in the mornings).

All in all a nice place to stay, but do not expect the regular western luxuries that we take for granted in Sal Rei, as the electricity was rather unreliable - the hotel luckily had an emergency generator so there was always light, but not always water in the faucet and not always warm water in the shower... But this is not the hotel's fault.

Breakfast was OK, but a short walk around the corner landed you in the Dolce Vista bakery and here you could get fresh pastry and very good coffee at a better price than in the hotel.

The hotel is situated right in the centre of the city, in the square and is soforth perfectly located for exploring the city and the neighbouring beaches. We thought as kitesurfers that we should rather have stayed further down the beach, but we did not have the luxury of that option...

Room Tip: See the room before you buy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went to Cape Verde for the first time after several friends said how good it is, We arrived in the rain(late November) and had a week of non stop cloud. Apparently this is very uncommon as the week previous was sunny and the day we left not a cloud to be seen. The hotel is spotless. The room clean tidy and large. The resort is quite spread out so if you are not good at walking be careful where they place you as there are no lifts. The food is excellent and if anyone moans then they are extremely fussy. Every taste is catered for but as these hotels are the food is repetitive. The themed restaurants are ok the best is the African set down by the swimming pool.
Entertainment at night is what it is go with it.
If going into Sal Rei please beware of a few things. (1), Don't go with your tour company as they charge 25 euros each. You can get a taxi from the hotel for 10 euros each way.(2) When leaving your taxi don't be pulled in by the guy who says he is a waiter at your hotel and is on a day off so he can show you the sights of which there aren't any then he takes you to his brothers shop and wants to charge 150 euros for a picture and a bracelet. Be strong as we only paid 15 euros in the end after a lot of haggling. The people are lovely but stand firm. We said we only had 25 euro and we had to pay 10 to get back.
The Quad biking was fun. Lots of entertainment ie darts, bowls archery pool polo. We enjoyed our stay very relaxing but would not go back to this particular island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were quite happy with the hotel, staying in the hotel for one week, but keep in mind that we paid just under 100 Euro for our double room for the whole week, because the hotel was just an add-on to a heavily discounted last minute package deal including the flight from Norway.

The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the middle of Sal Rei. You can get from the airport to "downtown" (more like downvillage) for 1 Euro per person in a shared "taxi" (there's a good chance you have to sit in the back of pickup), or you can pay 10 Euro for having a vehicle to yourself. The price is pretty much fixed, as the cartel running all taxi transportation on the island is difficult to break.

There are several perfectly fine places to eat within walking distance from the hotel. The restaurant at the hotel serves good food, but the waiters aren't necessarily of equal standard. I overheard one waiter, Ramiro, ask a European guest who was not sunburnt or anything, just not wearing make-up: "Excuse me, what happened to your face?", after taking her order. Remarkable! Your best bet for not being insulted by bad food or bad manners is to go to the town square, where an open-air restaurant serves good pizza and various other courses. You'll be sharing the place with lots of locals, which is always a good sign. Do share some of your food with the limping cat that patrols the place.

There were various problems with our room, but everything was quickly sorted. There was no remote control for the air conditioning, but they just let us get one from a vacant room. There was no remote control OR coax cable for the TV, but that was also retrieved from another room. Internet is fairly expensive on Boa Vista, but the set-up at the hotel (wifi at 4 Euro per hour) is about as good as it gets. There's a good place to sit with your laptop just behind the reception.

The last night and morning there was no electricity available at the hotel. That wasn't the hotel's fault. The entire town was dark and silent, for unknown and unexplained reasons. No one seemed too surprised or upset by it, so neither were we.

We slept well every night except on Friday night. The nearby Boa Vista Social Club started a really, really loud concert around 11PM, and it lasted for 2-3 hours, during which we had to resort to earplugs in order to have any chance of getting some sleep. We're certainly no fans of the local music, but if you are, maybe you'd actually enjoy that.

You can go up on the roof to enjoy the view between rubble and garbage collected up there, but apart from that there is no view to talk about anywhere in this hotel.

I will not go back to this island voluntarily, but if I were forced to, I wouldn't mind staying here again.

Room Tip: Except for the number of stairs to navigate, it's all the same which room you end up in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boa Vista

Address: Avenida 4 Julho, Sal Rei, Boa Vista 40, Cape Verde
Location: Cape Verde > Boa Vista > Sal Rei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sal Rei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small Hotel, located at the center of Sal-Rei, the main town, 6km far from the airport and 200m far for the beach. We have 29 rooms equipped with, AC or fan, mini-bar, hot and cold water, TV, telephone safety box hair dryer and internet wireless. Restaurant (on the ground floor) serving traditional Creole cooking specialties, seafood dishes, and international cuisine. Guests can enjoy the traditional music, live, every Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Boa Vista Cape Verde/Sal Rei

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boa Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.