We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that much choice of meals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castara Retreats Restaurant

Castara Retreats Restaurant
Northside Road, Castara, Tobago
+1 868-766-1010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Castara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Organic, International, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open daily for lunch and light bites (11am - 3pm) and supper (5pm - 10pm).For reservations call 766-1010. Castara Retreats Scenic Restaurant with spectacular views of the beach and ocean, on our terraced pavilion deck. We offer a range of home-made foods from fresh fish and quality steak to hand-made ravioli and interesting vegetarian options. We offer a choice of inventive starters including fishcakes, salads and chilled soups, and popular desserts such as chocolate mousse and passionfruit cheesecake. We have a range of cocktails, cold beers, fine wines, Italian coffees, and home-made juices. Our restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation for good food and a warm welcome where guests can take a break, eat and drink, take in the spectacular views and sunsets and observe the wonderful hummingbirds as they display on our feeders.
Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not that much choice of meals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The few restaurants are o.k., but you don`t get that big variety in choosing what to eat. Not so many local dishes.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennyCastara, Owner at Castara Retreats Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We appreciate that someone seeking local food will be disappointed with our menu. Castara has seven or eight restaurants that all offer local style food cooking and lots of visitors enjoy what they offer. We opened our restaurant partly because of feedback from guests seeking something different to local style food and to have an additional dining option in the village. Hence our emphasise on fresh grilled fish, a variety of home-made pastas, and also a choice of starters and deserts which again are not generally available in the village restaurants. We do not have a big menu as our emphasis is on freshly prepared. We are listed on TA as a restaurant with international and Italian style menu and there are many positive reviews that recognise us as an alternative to local style cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    31
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbeatable view, A1 service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have been there two times and were really impressed by the location, the view and the quality of the food and service. Probably the best table in Tobago! Average of 250-300 TT$ per person for starter, meal, wine, coffee and dessert.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“One of the best in Tobago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Located on the southern hill overlooking Castara, this restaurant is a gem on the Carib coast. Parking is a bit tight up thr sterp driveway, but you can park on the street, walk, or take a cab. It's a hike for some though. The restaurant is actually part of a rssort with hillside cottages. This location offers some of the most beautiful views in Tobago overlooking the Caribbean. Getting into the restaurant is much easier than trying to get a room to stay in as the place books up months in advance. Very well kept place though. The menu is limited, but is growing fast. Had seafood one day and pasta the next. Both were excellent. Service was very personable. The drink specials are always good to try, with native rum used in the lot. Have to say the Chocolate mousse was outstanding. Made from real Tobago chocolate/cocoa, it's excellent. Best restaurant in Castara and definitely in the running for one of the best in Tobago. One note though, as of this writing they are still on a cash-only system, no credit cards accepted. Best to hit the ATM beforehand and keep in mind it runs about $40-50 USD per person for dinner and drinks. The views are amazing though especially at sunset, so it's worth the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennyCastara, Owner at Castara Retreats Restaurant, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for finding time to write a review and for alerting customers to the advisability of having cash. We do in fact have a credit card facility, but it is dependent on the phone line, and Castara suffers from a poor service from the telephone company. This means that some days our facility is working and others not. We are working on this, including having a wireless facility linked to our cell phone and hopefully soon we can more confidently offer to take credit card payments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we went to in Tobago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We loved the restaurant at the Retreats. As with everywhere we went in Tobago, the staff was the best part - super friendly and helpful. The food changes daily according to what is fresh, and the homemade ice cream is to die for. Make sure you go for a cocktail to watch the sunset!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginsheim-Gustavsburg, Deutschland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you plan to have a great dinner, you should visit that restaurant. The incredible view on bay, birds and the perfect service will stay positively in your memory.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castara Retreats Restaurant also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Castara Retreats Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castara Retreats Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.