We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My little piece of Heaven(ly Bay :0)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments
Save
You added Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments to your Saves list
Depot Road, Castara, Tobago   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“My little piece of Heaven(ly Bay :0)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

After staying a few days with a wedding party at some all inclusive bland resort to start my holiday, my planned move to The Seabreeze was simply stunning & everything I wanted my holiday in Tobago to be...
I was transfixed to my view from the balcony, the continuous sound of the waves on the beach immediately in front/below was wonderful.

Clean, charming & very comfortable. Alibaba & Stephanie & Makaya were there for you for if you needed anything but at the same time very respectful of your independence & privacy.

I was travelling alone & felt completely safe and every single other guest in the Seabreeze & the few surrounding places were very friendly & likeminded.

Often you would have the beach all to yourself or maybe 1 or 2 others dotted around.

I am definitely returning, like a home away from home :0)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
62
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

If you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday in a beautiful location, without the artificial environment of an 'international' hotel, then Alibaba's in Castara is the place to go.

Castara is a small village, with two beautiful bays surrounded by rain forest. There are no hotels, and hence no crowds, but the small number of self-catering apartments and villas means that there are enough facilities to make your holiday comfortable. There are several places to eat and drink, and a few small shops selling fruit, vegetables and all the essentials. Fresh fish can be bought inexpensively from the local fishermen as they land it. They will clean it, and slice or fillet it, for you. Just chuck it in the frying pan with some olive oil and garlic, and serve with salad. Delicious!

We drove all around the island, and Castara really is the place with the ideal combination of beauty and facilities. It does not have the crowds, bustle and traffic of the southern end of the island, but it does have all that you need for a perfect holiday.

Alibaba's has the best location in Castara, in the corner of the smaller of the two beaches, and with a view that takes in both, plus the bay with the boats and the fishermen, and the rain forest and hills beyond. The rain forest comes right down to the sea, and even frames the view from the balconies of the apartment at Alibaba's. As well as the birds and bats that will come to take fruit from your balcony, you can see frigate birds, pelicans, and others, diving for fish in the bay. The beach is just a few steps way, unlike most of the other accommodation which is further up the steep hills that form the village.

The accommodation at Alibaba's is spacious, clean and comfortable, but not expensive. The bed is large and firm, with a mosquito net that works. The bathroom is well lit, so you can see to shave, and has an excellent hot shower. The kitchen is well equiped, and the balcony has comfortable chairs from which to enjoy the view. They clean the room and change the sheets, towels and beach towels (even though their website says they do not provide them!) every three days. They even change the shower curtain.

All in all, we thought that Castara was the best of Tobago, and that Alibaba's was the best of Castara.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was really paradise. A nice appartment with a nice bathroom, very pleasant and large bed, well equiped kitchen - and a veranda with a stunning view!

We enjoyed every minute in the appartment - and in the bay - The Heavenly Bay - absolutely a correct name.

It is not Hilton or Waldorf - but that's not what you are looking for in Castara. You look for a nice place to sleep and relax in the morning and the evening - and friendly hosts.

We enjoyed every minute, and this was the highlight of our 10 days in Tobago

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

If you want a place to relax in the most stunning setting, this is it.

'The Alibaba's' run a professional operation; a maid comes in to change the linen three times a week, and the apartments are well appointed if you wish to do your own cooking.

You won't need to close the patio doors once you get used to the waves which crash below the apartments. Be prepared to wake up and go to bed early; Castara is that sort of place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

wonderful little gem with 4 appartments, directly to the beach. Excellent balcony with comfy chairs and great views to birds, fishermen, boats, divers - very relaxing. Very friendly and helpful hosts in Alibaba and Stephanie. Great tours with Alibaba Tours, do try the boat trip to Buccoo reef.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

My significant other and I stayed at Alibaba's for 6 nights. The view was INCREDIBLE. We were woken every morning by wonderful birdsong. I would cut up pieces of banana and papaya and would get 25-30 birds coming to feast. One bold bird even came INTO the apartment to help himself to some bananas I had on top of the refrigerator!

We did end up using the mosquito netting, but not because of mosquitoes. If you kept the kitchen or balcony light on, the bugs would come in (very tiny flying bugs). There was only one traumatic bug story - a HUGE black beetle, twice the size of a Junebug, came flying in one night. I didn't see it up close - I was cowering in the bathroom. The net went down that night too :-)

The kitchen had everything you needed and the bathroom was very nice. We had a new mattress on the king-sized bed, which was a little hard for my taste, but might be OK for others. The ceiling fan kept the evenings cool. It was never really uncomfortable, because of the ocean breezes.

Even though the apartments are side-by-side, you couldn't hear voices or noises from the others unless they were out on the balcony or in the hallway - the ocean served as white noise. And it was great falling to sleep with the ocean crashing against the shore. It was wonderful to just put on your suit and be in the water in a matter of minutes.

It's a self-catering apartment, so other than a change of sheets/towels every three days, you're on your own. I much prefer that over having someone come in every day to bother you, and wasting water to change sheets and towels that really don't need washing.

There's also no airconditioning (wasn't needed), internet, tv or telephone (they do offer a top off phone you can rent). But that was great for us - we really needed to get away from it all and relax.

We took a wonderful all day tour of the rainforest/Argyle Waterfall, then had lunch with one of Alibaba's tour guides.

Everything I had read about Alibaba's was true - I had no complaints. We had a WONDERFUL visit and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Islands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Alibaba's is located in an unbelievably picturesque village in a bay at the base of very steep rainforest hills which my wife compares to the scenery in the movie 'Jurassic Park'. Enough said . The setting is georgous.
We stayed in late November and early December. The weather was quite warm when we arrived but became easier for us from the north as time went on. We acclimatised and it became less humid.
Our trip with Brian from the airport was exciting. The roads run along cirques and what is a 15 K by the crow trip takes around 40 minutes but very scenic. The village of Castara is at the base of a big incline where the beach was originally a landing place before decent roads. Because of the trade winds blowing by, there is big surf so no docks. The Castarans are excellant surf boatmen and the fisherman have to bring most things in by carrying them through the surf. We witnessed them unloading tuna through the surf one day which we had for dinner that night. Inexpensive and delicious!
We suppose you want to know about Ali Baba's. All great. To complain about the surf waking you up at night is something, isn't it? We live in an area of great natural beauty but this is more than the tropical equivalent. Your balcony is right above the beach (10 metres). From the balcony we noted 22 birds of the 41 birds that are listed in the Tobago guide. Down at the beach, if you are slow, two minutes away, the surf may be a little daunting. Once through the surf, the snorkelling begins maybe 100 feet out . If the surf is high it will be a little cloudy and you will have to go further out. We saw all the basic reef fish that one usually sees as well as turtles and a moray eel.GO TO BUCOO REEF WITH ALI BABA (BRIAN) I am using up too much space but this trip is a social history lesson as well as visiting the reef (some of the best snorkelling I've done in the Caribbean). Great hosts, good food, good beer and punch! I could go on forever.
Brian and Steph were wonderful hosts. We felt welcomed while enjoying our privacy. The kitchen was well equipped and there was lots of hot water which certain people need. At our time of year, you will appreciate the overhead fans. It is a must to go on the rain forest tour through Brian. Our guide was so informative and showed an obvious love and respect for the forest. When we go back, I'm taking another hike up there to find out more of the history of the area.
In conclusion, this is not an all inclusive type setting BUT, if you have the smallest adventurous bone in your body, you will enjoy the hospitality of your hosts and the Castarans. Have an ice cold Carib at Rev Codrington Wallace's bar at the top of the hill. My wife, yes, she's the one, got to dance with Santa at the outdoor Christmas pageant. Get involved when you can in the community activities. What fun ! Great holiday ! Did I mention the outdoor clay oven bakery and the local music (exciting) !

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments

Address: Depot Road, Castara, Tobago
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Castara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Castara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alibabas Sea Breeze is located in Castara at the Caribbean Coast of the island. About an hour from the airport with stunning views from the balconies, a few steps distance to the beach, hot water showers, fully equipped kitchens, back support king size beds with mosquito nets, big fridges to always enjoy a cold drink or do some cooking with the fresh produce and fish you can buy in the village and also a restaurant close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments Tobago/Castara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alibaba's Sea Breeze Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.