We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop if ever in Tobago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Pot

The Fish Pot
Pleasant Prospect | Grafton Road, Black Rock, Tobago
+1868 635 1728
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Black Rock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
San Fernando, Trinidad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must stop if ever in Tobago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My family and I went here on our very first morning in Tobago, we came off the inter island ferry, checked into our hotel and then we were off to lunch at the fish pot. I must say that we did a bit of research into good restaurants in Tobago before we came and the fish pot came with excellent reviews.

Needless to say we were not disappointed, the menu was small and written on a small blackboard which was standing at the entrance as you entered the restaurant, but the food was excellent, my kids had freshly made burgers with home made wedges which they loved, my wife had the jerk fish with plantains, and I had the grilled tuna and wedges which was perfectly done as well.

My only regret was we did not go back for dinner on our short three day stay, as I happened to see the dinner menu already written on another menu board which looked very interesting, Next time for certain

Prices were very reasonable,and food was freshly prepared and delicious, what more could you ask for, don't forget to give a try when ever in Tobago, you won't be disappointed

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    68
    16
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Eltham
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent fresh fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Small but excellent menu reflecting the catch of the day, but there was also meat on it for you carnivores! The smoked fish pate was fantastic! The food was always excellent, however I would suggest that having visited several times the service is better when the friendly owners are there.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, Devon UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

A lovely setting on a balcony overlooking Stonhaven bay and Grafton beach, the food is always fresh, try the catch of the day, served in a variety of ways, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had a few issues with service-the staff missed putting in the entree order for one of our 8 diners, but all of us agreed the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoy the craic at the Fish Pot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Our first visit to the Fish Pot and we liked it so much we returned 4 days later!
Run by the lovely couple Erica and Fialga ( Irish name so guessing the spelling!) who used to run Indigo Tobago restaurant a few years ago
Informal atmosphere on a pleasant terrace with the sounds from the street outside adding to the feeling that you are truly in the Caribbean.
Good menu, mainly fish based unsurprisingly, and a reasonable wine list. Wine is never cheap on the island and the Fish Pot is no exception, but you can pay more elsewhere.
Some of our best ever memories on the island were provided courtesy of their previous restaurant and the sound of the steel pans, and we were so pleased that Erica and Fialga did not let us down.

We'll be back one day!

p.s. The fish Pot is open most evenings- forget the reviews that say its only open 3 days a week.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Pot also viewed

Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
Tobago, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to The Fish Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.