We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Shirvan Rd, Black Rock, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My mother and I stayed at the hotel in the month of June 2014. Firstly its close to the beach, staff very friendly and helpful, however needs to sort out housekeeping. overall I considered it a budget hotel. breakfast ok, dinner way to expensive! but if you're out to explore have the breakfast package only lots of food to eat elsewhere. rooms have good views but you must ask housekeeping to change your bed sheets, its not good to assume they would! learned that the hard way, I liked the open air atmosphere, good pool, need more channels on TV. IT IS NOT A FIVE STAR HOTEL! so don't get your hopes up and expect to much, but if you're like me and exploring most of the day these things would not matter much. I would stay there again. Oh it also has a spa and gym but like I said good location very close to the good beaches.

Room Tip: "ground floor rooms have pool and sea views!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    89
    45
    47
    38
See reviews for
31
113
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just returned from Tobago two days ago..The hotel is well maintained,room comfortable,large gym with modern equipment. The view "is to die for". Staff were very courteous and minor issues were dealt with promptly. The breakfast was sufficient and tasty. The hotel was very quiet and there is no entertainment, so if you are looking for a lively atmosphere stay elsewhere. The beach is lovely for an early morning walk/run/swim.The downside is the hotel is advertised as adults only 16 yrs and over but there were children staying in the hotel and the trees across from the ocean view rooms should be cut / trimmed as they do block part of the view.Overall very relaxing,comfortable and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: On checking in ensure that your view of the ocean/beach is not blocked by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

always a beautiful stay, lovely, serene...beach front property and close to most things. concierge service is very helpful.
Pool is amazing! Service is perfect and fantastic boutique (NINI)! Stay while in Tobago!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at Le Grand Courlan in Tobago last fall (2013) and it was absolutely amazing. The staff, amenities, and location were everything we could have hoped for. The beach and water immediately in front of the resort are like a post card. The spa was incredible and on-site dining was very good. If you are looking for a less "commercial" holdiay and want to experience a real Caribbean paradise, this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have just returned from a very happy two weeks at Le Grand and am hard pushed to make any negative reviews. I am however a regular visitor to Tobago and was aware of my expectations but was more than pleasantly surprised. Each member of the staff was really warm and friendly and did all they could to assist me within their capabilities. The hotel does need an uplift, particularly the spa which has so much to offer if brought up to date, they have the facilities and competent staff but the treatments are very limited and dated, prices need to be much more competitive to attract outside clients, and small touches like headbands for during facials are missing.

I am a vegetarian and had no problems, the chefs would always accommodate in whatever way they could. Steve (bar and beverage Manager) is very much "on the ball" and is doing a great job. My room was perfectly acceptable and beautifully maintained. Janet and her "team" at the Beach Bar are a pleasure to spend time with and do their best with what they have to offer.

I agree that the hotel needs to have a facelift and hopefully the management will take the reviews on board. Incidentally I did not have the pleasure of meeting the Manager which may be indicative but to everyone else, and you all know who you are,, a huge thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Bathtub fixtures in 1301 need to be replaced. Rusted and stained.
On a day we scheduled an ear;\ly morning tour, breakfast started 15 minutes late. Had to rush, Pluses: very quiet and peaceful, great ocean views and sunsets. Easy to get to. Great beach! Staff friendly and courteous
.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Le Grand Courlan is a spa hotel located on Grafton beach in the vicinity of Black Rock in Tobago. The rooms are outdated and in dire need of an upgrade. However they are clean, which is genuinely my number one concern. It took us ages to get service at the front desk but we weren't too bothered by that, as we had just bought lunch and were munching as we waited. When we got to the room, our keys would not work, but that was resolved fairly quickly. The bed was comfortable and spacious. Lots of room to roll around! The room was also a good size. We had a pool view room, which was fine.

The hotel is generally deserted so there was no crowd really by the pool or beach. The pool area is ok, average size, but nice to swim in, good depth. Grafton beach can be kind of rough, but when it isn't it is one of my favourite beaches in Tobago. The beach is really wide, with a lot of sand to sit and relax in.

One night, we went to the front desk and got the board game scrabble to play, and also went downstairs to the recreational area, and spent our time playing pool. It was incredibly quiet, except for very soft music coming from some on the wall speakers, but it was midnight, and really nice to have the place to ourselves.

Overall room: 5/10
Beach: 7/10
Pool: 6/10
Facilities: 5/10

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa

Address: Shirvan Rd, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Courlan Resort And Spa
Le Grand Courlan Hotel Black Rock
Hotel Le Grand Courlan
Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Tobago
Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa Tobago/Black Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Courlan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.