We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Holiday at the Grafton Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grafton Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grafton Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Stone Haven Bay | PO Box 25, Black Rock, Tobago   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday at the Grafton Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

I am delighted to report after a year of reading some sad reports of the Grafton Beach, that we have just returned from two fabulous weeks at this resort. Yes, the Hotel is in need a of face lift, but it did not in any way detract from our holiday. The bedroom was a good size and very clean. The aircom, hot water and fridge were in good working order. The Restaurants were well run and served a good standard of cuisine. The Neptune Seafood Restaurant which we were fortunate enough to dine in three times during our stay, was excellent. Having dined at the nearby Seahorse Restaurant, although enjoyable, offered the same standard of food as that enjoyed in the Neptune... Quite impressive for a 3* all inclusive I thought. The beach was very clean during our stay, no sign of the dog mess previously reported. No problems also dining at the beach bar either. Yes they can be a tad surly, but roll with it and smile, it didn't spoil our fun and the view is great. The Grafton staff and management work hard to give its guests a good holiday and in the main the staff are most attentive and efficient. Having travelled with Virgin Holidays to Tobago I found the whole experience excellent value for money. I would however highly recommend hiring a jeep and touring the island as much as possible. (See Mytobago for hire companies - we used Sheppy as recommended - very good value for money and booked simply via email). The island is stunning and has some lovely places to dine (see the Rough Guide and 'Mytobago' for recommendations). Also visit Canoe Bay, its beautiful and you'll probably have it all to yourself! It's a pay beach (£1.50 per person) but offers shower and toilet facilities, lovely gardens and a bar. Our holiday worked because we saw the island and its people - a hotel cannot fulfil all your needs. Mix it up a bit and you'll have a fantastic time. I would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    115
    79
    40
    69
See reviews for
77
88
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

I got home from this hotel on 15th March after spending two weeks there with a friend. The hotel was excellent for three star and the staff could not be faulted, very friendly and helpful all the time. We made some fabulous friends there as it is a very sociable place and would suit anyone on their own as they can sit in comfy seats (although hotel manager please note they need to go in the washing machine urgently) and everyone chats to you during the day and in the evening. We even made friends with some gatecrashers from the 4 star sister hotel next door who came to ours as they felt very isolated and found their hotel too formal and although food and facilities were better the friendliness was not there in the holidaymakers.
Yes there are a few things that could be better but, hey, we are talking three star here and some people expect too much for their money. We were delighted with what we received and to have tea and coffee available 24 hours a day and decent food and a fabulous beach and environment was worth the few little bad points.
The beach bar was a haven in the hot sunshine, even if the lunch menu was slightly repetitive, and the staff were friendly and very obliging. They helped make my 50th birthday an absolute delight. Just what I needed, some wonderful friends made on the holiday, a very good friend who I'd gone on holiday with, some champagne and the best birthday cake I've ever tasted made by the staff of the beach bar. And, the best laugh I've had all year. The birthday candles which they lovingly placed on the cake looked wonderful stuck into the icing. Only trouble was they thought the candle holders were little roses for decoration and stuck them in separately. So we had waxy icing and lovely decorations of sticks with petals on them and holes with nothing in. I'm sure the staff are still wondering why we all collapsed with laughter.
To the person before who moaned about the sunbeds on the beach, I have to agree with them as that is a bad point but what a delight to be up at 6.15am, not washed, run to the beach down all the steps after being awake for precisely one minute to grab a sunbed and an umbrella and to see the empty beach and have the luxury of being able to go back to bed for another two hours knowing you have the whole day ahead of you in a prime spot with shade on the most delightful beach and views imaginable. Yes, all in all a fantastic way to spend a fortnight. Nothing is perfect in this life but there are many more pluses in this place than minuses in the Grafton Beach Resort. If you don't like getting up at 6am to grab a sunbed on the beach with an umbrella there are plenty around the pool and if you find any of the meals not to your liking there is always cheese and biscuits, ice cream, melon, wonderful soups and various salad items and of course the obligatory gateaux for desert. You will not go hungry so just enjoy and don't make problems where there aren't any!!!! Go and have a great time.
Do not go to Sunday School on the excursion with Virgin without asking other guests what to expect, you may enjoy it or you may hate it and want to go home as soon as you get there. Just a warning but make up your own mind on that one.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

Stayed at the Grafton Beach Hotel for two weeks during March 2005. Decided to travel then after a bad experience with Hurricane Ivan in Grenada the previous September. Weather up to 35°C dropping to a pleasant 25°C at night, much less humid than mid-summer,with an occasional heavy shower.

This hotel is quite old and looking “tired” in places however our room was comfortable, clean and any problems were dealt with promptly. We booked a Garden View Room in block ”G” with a decent view of the grounds and the ocean, no point in paying extra for one floor higher. The hotel is built on the side of a hill and there are about sixty steps from the pool to the beach, in short flights, so the hotel may not suit people with severe walking difficulties. Families beware there is no dedicated children’s pool and the shallow end of the main pool is over 3ft deep.

This was our sixth visit to the Caribbean and found the hotel staff excellent, especially the girls in the restaurant. About 70% of the guests were from the UK, most of the remainder from Northern Europe and a couple of North Americans. Entertainment of a local variety was provided every evening, but if you want a wild night out do not come to Tobago.

The all-inclusive deal included a full meal in the restaurant at lunchtime, this could have been much improved if the food had been served hotter, try the beach bar which is open to 5pm. Breakfasts was fine with eggs and omelets cooked to order. The evening meal usually included some Caribbean specialties, these tended to be spicy and not to everyone’s taste, apart from that the choice was restricted. We did not try Neptune’s a la carte restaurant; some guests had an occasional meal at the Seahorse Restaurant, next door, which comes highly recommended.

The beach at Stonehaven Bay is excellent but the biggest disappointment of the holiday was the rough seas. Maybe we were unfortunate but the first week was fairly rough and the second week very rough. Snorkeling was out of the question along with swimming on some days, casualties included a broken arm and cracked ribs when two people were bowled over by rough seas. We spent three days at Pigeon Point Beach which is a picture postcard Caribbean beach protected by Buccoo Reef. Taxi from hotel $70 TT, entrance $18 TT and sun lounger $10 TT. Boat trip to the reef for snorkeling, view coral gardens and visit Nylon Pool can be arranged from Pigeon Point for $100 TT per person.

A few other observations. Try and travel on a direct flight some call at other islands which prolongs the journey by a couple of hours. In our opinion Scarborough is not worth a visit. The roads to the East are very tortuous, pot-holed and subject to mudslides. Better to negotiate a deal with a taxi driver/guide than hire a car to visit Charlotteville and Speyside. The flora is very impressive I cannot remember seeing so much Bougainvillea anywhere in the Caribbean. Lots of colourful birds and recommend a visit to the Grafton Bird Sanctuary about 15 minutes walk away.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Grafton Beach Hotel and consider it a good value 3 star hotel, BA Holidays rating, and 50% cheaper than the 4 star establishments.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haywards heath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2005

My wife and I stayed here for two weeks. I must admit we found both the food and the staff very good indeed. Admittedly they are somewhat less than speedy but it forces you to relax. We were generally surprised at the overall quality of the food, but we did make a point of eating both breakfast and dinner early so the food was usually hot. We also tried to eat out at lunchtime as my wife found the beach just too rough compared with say Pigeon Point. (I echo review re the Seahorse Inn..excellent.)
Tobago itself is a dream island and everyone should take some time to sightsee, with the possible exception of Scarborough. The locals are really very friendly and we were never harassed on the beaches no matter how deserted.Also we did have an upgraded room. I recommend the 2nd/3rd stories at the back of the pool area. Our maid was excellent and the room kept spotless. Also the range of drinks on offer was very wide considering it was all inclusive..Harvey's sherry and Campari were two items not expected.
Well done everyone. You can only speak as you find, but we will certainly revisit.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2005

My husband and I aswell as two other couples went to Grafton Beach Resort for a conference. The grounds were lovely, the service staff was wonderful- they actually remembered all our names and called us by our names everyday. The food was very good and we never experienced any illnesses due to the food.
My only complaint if any would be the darn rooster cock-a-doole-dooing every morning at the crack of dawn!!!

  • Stayed January 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

We have just returned from two weeks at the Grafton Beach and on the whole we enjoyed our holiday. The atmosphere at the hotel allows you to simply chill out which is exactly what we wanted to do. The hotel is very well laid out which means that you need little energy to walk from the bar to the pool or the beach or to your room!

The hotel is showing its age and is in desperate need of refurbishment in places. Our room had a patio door which didn't close properly and which couldn't be locked at all and, as it was just a couple of yards from the perimeter fence, was not really acceptable from a security point of view. Our fridge door was literally falling off which meant that we constantly had puddles on the floor. Our maid asked the security man to look at these points but he simply shrugged his shoulders and walked off. Other facilities in the room were in good working order. Our fellow traveller's room looked to be in much better condition than ours and a problem that they had with the safe not working properly was quickly attended to. The chairs in the bar area are insufficient to seat most of the guests, were in a filthy state and many of the seat supports were broken. The pool and area around it were kept very clean and tidy.

The downside - during our stay the food was absolutley disgusting!!! Now I know this is a three star hotel and I should only expect three star quality but I do at least expect the food to be hot (if it is supposted to be) and edible! Unfortunately it is the worst food I have found in some 10 visits to the Caribbean. Breakfasts were generally OK, although a little limited in choice compared to other three star's I have stayed at. Lunch and dinner were not acceptable though. The food was always cold, luke warm at the very best. On occasions the roast joint was so tough that the chef had difficulty carving it - eating it was impossible. Many of the dishes were the previous day's left-overs. The food was very spicy, which I like, but children would have had great difficulty eating it. We saw parents actually sending out for pizza's. So we were left to sort through what was on offer to find something decent to eat. I would say though that on the days when there was a different chef the food was really quite nice so the hotel, no doubt, has a problem with one particular chef. I hope that you are luckier than us. I know that the management received a great number of complaints about the food in particular. Stangely, the sandwiches and cakes at tea time are kept on a hot plate! Tea and coffee is available all of the time which is a much better service that I have seen elsewhere. Try the Seahorse Inn for a really good meal. It's only yards from the hotel's back gate and the reception staff will open the gate (normally closed at 6pm) for you to go out and back in again.

The beach is lovely and long. It does have quite a few dogs but these are quite friendly and will share your sunbed if you let them. There is some snorkelling although the fish are not particularly colourful. The waves can be very strong and we saw two nasty accidents resulting in a broken arm and a back injury. I wouldn't think that it is safe for children or to use much of the water sports equipment unless you are a particularly strong swimmer. Many other beaches on Tobago have the same unpredicatable and strong waves.

The hotel has a squash court but if you intend to use it then take your own raquets as the ones we were offered were old and one had a broken head so was useless.

Oh - the best thing about the hotel - no "all inclusive" wrist bands !!

Tobago is lovely - it has a vast protected rain forest which takes up most of the island. There is some natural damage - to the palm trees from the 2004 drought and from the recent mudslides. Its a shame that some of the locals in the north-east of the island use the streams as a rubbish dump though. Give Scarborough a miss even though your rep may recommend a visit, at least until the new shopping facility is completed.

I would recommend a visit to Tobago but only to the Grafton if you are not too bothered about quality. There are a lot of cheap deals available to this hotel and I guess that you would be very disappointed with the quality if you have paid the full brochure price. Fly direct (Virgin) as travelling time is only 8 hours, other airlines have stop-overs which lengthens travelling time considerably.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

Only improvements needed and lots more beach loungers & sunshades on beach.
Need a box so you can give tips to the many excellent restaurant,bar,front desk staff & all staff behind the scenes ; there are to many good staff to give to individually but they need rewarding.
We allready made plans to return back for next year.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grafton Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Beach Resort

Address: Stone Haven Bay | PO Box 25, Black Rock, Tobago
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Black Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grafton Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Grafton Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Beach Hotel Black Rock
Grafton Beach Resort All Inclusive
Grafton Beach Resort Tobago/Black Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grafton Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.