We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME BEER AND GREAT ATMOSPHERE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Mile River Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Six Mile River Resort to your Saves list
Six Mile River Resort
1031 Tagish Road Hwy 8 at Tagish Bridge, Tagish, Yukon Y0B-1T0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Come Dine with Me Tagish
Düsseldorf
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“AWESOME BEER AND GREAT ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is people like Mitch and Doug that make life living (in the Yukon). There is not one time that I have not felt at home by there outstanding hospitality and can do attitude to please. The restaurant serves some of the best food in the Yukon (it gets better every year) and their accommodations are exceptional (old and new cabins).
Doug is an avid angler and so enjoys to share his experience and secrets for the big catch. If in Tagish, do not hesitate to take advantage of the hospitality and just a good time.....

Room Tip: The rustic cabins are the real Yukon Experience......... A fishing Charter is a must.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tagish, Yukon Territory, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Six Mile River Resort will have the most beautiful swans shortly. Feeding, and doing their lovely dancing...The mountains and the lake will take your breath away in the early morning and at sun set. The cabins are unique, very modern or very rustic, you have a choice. If you are hungry you will have the best meal in the Yukon-- In the most intersting resturant, filled with treasure from all over the country.The couple that own this most intruigingly delightful place will make you feel relaxed and at home. You will be faultered when you eventually head for home..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchyc, Owner at Six Mile River Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It always brings us great joy knowing that our efforts are appreciated. We aim to please all our guest who have fortune to find us. From our tent campers to Rv'ers, Cabin guest, dinning guest Those of you who drop in for a fishing charter or canoe/kayak rentals, who drop in for a cup of Java or just come by to take a peek, you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I highly recommend Tagish the best place to be! You wake up in the morning in your own private log cabin, step out and breathe in fresh air and see the mountains across the lake. The setting, the condition of the cabins, the food – amazing! What I loved most about this place was not only the fact how well their guests are treated, but also the amount of respect they have for Mother Nature. This is an unspoiled piece of paradise on earth. Love the food and the atmosphere of the resort. Mitch and Doug are extremely great hosts and guides. They are both wonderful and gracious hosts that provided fun and excellent conversation, very clean and comfortable and no shortage of tasty treats and wonderful prepared meals. The surroundings are breath taking and Doug’s collection of antiques is endless. I highly recommend this resort. I can't say enough to let you know how exciting this place is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchyc, Owner at Six Mile River Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your most generous review! Its always a pleasure to share our little piece of Paridise with folks , such as yourselves, who appreciate our wonderful Tagish. L. you are a fabulous baker and culinary artist and its a real compliment having you enjoy my cuisine. Your always welcome and I would like you both to know that we enjoy your company endlessly. See you in the sping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great place, Great times! Were dining regulars, good food and good times with Mitch and Doug! When traveling through Tagish, take the time to stop here. Beautiful patio deck, great view, and always lively and welcoming. Haven't stayed in the cabins but toured them, unique and comfy. Place is full of collectibles and lots of stories, very worth the visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchyc, Owner at Six Mile River Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
What would Friday night in Tagish be without the pleasure of serving you! Thank you for all your support and very nice review. We look forward in seeing you both in the spring and hope that we will be able to delight you with some new menu choices. In the meantime, keep enjoying your lovely getaways in Tagish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Tagish! is a beautiful isolated area of the Yukon its not exactly a town its a strip (so don't blink ;)) a community of wonderful people Six Mile River Resort is defiantly part of their colorful 10 percent Mitch and Doug "ARE" the definition of the hostess with the mostess they have wonderful food! and home made bake goods the dinning room is exquisite for a Tagish restaurant the circle of people are friendly and Mitch's mother is a absolute doll and very funny the view from the restaurant is amazing in the morning around 6 and 7am they have fishing charters with Doug or Douglas Roy Rogers Dupont the Third :D and kayaks and canoes I would go back there any day and the Yukon itself it a beautiful place. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchyc, Owner at Six Mile River Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are so glad that you love the Yukon and the Strip of Tagish. We actually enjoy calling "Six Mile River Resort" DOWNTOWN TAGISH. Thank you for all your kind remarks and for mentioning Mrs C., My mother, who has been a wonderful support, and can be included in the 10% of colorful characters of the Yukon. Hope you will join us for a nice cinnamon bun in the spring. M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Situated next to Tagish bridge this is an ideal location for launching a fishing or canoe trip into the Southern Lakes region of Yukon Canada. Suitable for a day excursion on the water as Resort has loaner canoe, paddles & float vests. The Duponts (Mitch & Doug) have done a wonderful job remodeling and updating the main lodge and cabins. While we were there Doug taught my son how to clean a lake trout. I have the pictures & memories. You will not want to miss any of Mitch's "Slow Cooking" meals. Everything fresh everything cooked from scratch. We arrived last minute and they took very good care of us. You never know who is going to show up or what's going to happen; but its always fun. Six Mile River resort is now our Yukon escape of choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchyc, Owner at Six Mile River Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Its always a thrill to see your family arrive, you are always so greatfull for the littlest of jestures. How much fun to clean Lake Trout and have a good teacher like Doug. Hope your young man will be back to catch alot of bigger Trout this season. Always a pleasure. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagway, Alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Mitch really goes all out, to provide great food choices, atmosphere and conversation! I've brought some of my small tour groups here, from Skagway (Beyond Skagway Tours), and am always amazed at how quickly Mitch gets the food ready and how delicious our lunches have been! Fine dining in the middle of the Yukon! Who can ask for more?

Thanks, Mitch, for all your efforts to help make my tour groups a happy bunch!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitchyc, Owner at Six Mile River Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Its always a pleasure to meet with your guests and share stories! I truly appreciate you stopping in for lunch and am delighted that you enjoy the ambiance and the meals. We are committed to serving you only the best now and in the future. We look forward in seeing you this season. All the best to you and yours in the New Year. Cheers Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Six Mile River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Mile River Resort

Address: 1031 Tagish Road Hwy 8 at Tagish Bridge, Tagish, Yukon Y0B-1T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Yukon > Tagish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Tagish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six Mile River Resort is a perfect place to stop and rest after your long drive on the Alaskan Highway. Located in the Southern Lake loop, 21 KM from Jakes Corner. You will be amazed at the serene beauty and tranquility of our location. We feature 3 well appointed cabins, 12 RV sites with hook up, tent camping and a 5 star rated licensed dining room at "The Rivers Edge." A gem to behold amidst the rural wilderness. History,collectables and Tractors galore to be viewed for the antique enthusiast. We also offer Chartered fishing, kayak & canoe rentals. Birdwatching are few of the activities that can be taken in during your stay on this migratory route. Join us for a Yukon experience you'll not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Six Mile River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six Mile River Resort Tagish, Canada - Yukon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Mile River Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.