We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place, slow internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nypugardar Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nypugardar Guesthouse to your Saves list
Nypugardar Guesthouse
Myrum | Hornafirdi, Hornafjorour 781, Iceland   |  
Ranked #2 of 4 Hornafjorour B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Pleasant place, slow internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place is relatively nice. They had a shared bathroom for 3 rooms. Bathroom was clean but the shower curtain has some red stain at the bottom of it but I could not see any mildew on any of the walls. The bathroom sink also needs more counter space. The bed was very comfortable and had no issues quickly falling asleep. The room was very well built to block out the outside sounds of the wind. The owners were friendly and spoke English well. One issue with this place is the internet. Extremely SLOW, and that was at midnight. This place is also cheaper than Guesthouse Steig, Arctic Comfort Inn, and Bjarg B&B. Definitely a good place to see the northern lights if available but in terms of composition, you basically have the guesthouse building and the mountains in the FAR distance. No bodies of water nearby for composition. We did not try the breakfast here.

Garmin GPS coordinates: N 64.26179° W015.43884°

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and it was a lovely place. Really quiet and wonderful view to glacier and sea side. It was located in a farm 30km far from hofn.
Lady was cery nice an cooked the dinner for us. Only inconvenient was that we had to share bathroom but rooms were new and clean. I totally recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed two nights at Nypugardar Guesthouse. It was located within a ranch owned by the same owners, Ms. Bogga, and her husband. The dining and TV areas offered panoramic views of the vast ranch, the distant sea and glacier icefields. Although our room was basic, it was very comfortable and clean. There was a shared bathroom on the ground level and another on the upper floor. These were well maintained throughout our stay. We highly recommend going half board at this guesthouse because the well prepared home cooked meal by Ms Bogga herself was extremely delicious. There were starters, several mains, cake and Icelandic ice cream at 25 Euros. It was like a mini buffet with quality food served. Bogga also served us hearty breakfasts - local fresh breads on our first mornings and home made waffles on the second morning. Fresh fruits were also given. The gueshouse was a good base as it was an easy drive away to Vatnajokull and the Jokulsarlon Glacier Lagoon. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gooik, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse has a wonderfull location with a magnificant view on the countryside (plenty of sheeps) and the vatnajokull glacier. The rooms are small but nice, friendly host which served us a good meal for a reasonable price

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The host was very friendly and helpful! When the wifi wouldn't work, she spent a very long time on the phone to the internet company to try and sort out the problem. She made lots of effort, for which we are very grateful.

The only downfall was that the wifi wouldn't work properly. This made our online planning for the rest of the trip difficult but the host was helpful and explained that we could book a tour on the glacier on the day or even upon arrival at the glacier!

She showed us to the farm which was so wonderful to see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed with Bogga in August 2011 and I have been wracked with guilt since because I haven't yet written this review! Our stay was simply wonderful. We were there with some friends (5 adults in all) and our 2 year-old daughter. The setting of the house is amazingly gorgeous- you feel like you're somewhere in Middle Earth or something, with glaciers on one side, the ocean on the other, and misty grasslands in between dotted with sheep. Inside, the house is adorable and sparklingly clean. Beds were comfortable, and furnishings were typically Icelandic (stark, Norwegian style). But the highlight was the amazing hostess, Bogga! Some people have a gift for hosting, and Bogga is one of those people. She was cheery and sweet and so completely welcoming and helpful. She provided a crib for our daughter and doted attention on her. She also made us feel like royalty with her incredibly generous and beautifully crafted meals! DON'T miss out on her Icelandic dinner. Simply the best we had on the entire trip. She also went above and beyond to help us to plan a snowmobile excursion on a glacier for some of our group, and gave great recommendations for me and my daughter to go to the beautiful pool in nearby Hofn (well, as "nearby" as things get in Iceland...so, a 30-minute drive).

Oh, and as for the guy that said in his review that there were no private bathrooms, that is simply wrong. There are private bathrooms, it's just that they are not in your room but in the hall. Also, the price for dinner was a deal for Iceland (where food is crazy expensive) especially given the quality and quantity of food!

We swore up and down that we would send pictures to Bogga, so here's a few, and I'll get some more up later!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Delightfull little B&B. We stayed for one night only, no dinner just breakfast. House is just short drive from ringroad and easy to find. The host is wonderfull, friendly and helpful. Huge dinning/ living room on the ground floor and bedrooms upstairs. Shared bathroom (hugh room with walk in shower). All very comfy and spotless clean. Quiet surroundings, house is located between sea on one side, mountains and 3 glaciers on other. Views are breathtaking!
Breakfast was great (continentaly with plenty of choice for everyone), you can discus serving time with the hosstess. Also, plenty of informaton about local attractions (Vatnajökull National Park, Jökulsárlón just 30min away).
You can easly find it on bookings.com, check the pictures - you really get what you see :)

Room Tip: Speak with the marvellous hosstess :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nypugardar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nypugardar Guesthouse

Address: Myrum | Hornafirdi, Hornafjorour 781, Iceland
Location: Iceland > East Region > Hornafjorour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hornafjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nypugardar Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nypugardar Guesthouse Iceland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nypugardar Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.