We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a wonderful trip and enjoyed it immensly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village

Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village to your Saves list
Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village
Rathmore, Ashford, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Longford, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful trip and enjoyed it immensly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We went to Rathmore to celebrate a hen weekend and had a fantastic time. We were welcomed by Mrs Cullen and she had our accommodation all decorated with great fun Hen party stuff. We arrived on the friday and Mrs Cullen organised our entire weekend activities for us including transport down to the local village of Ashford. We found the accommodation lovely and clean towels and fresh linen were in all the rooms. We had full Irish breakfast both mornings there and the food was great and lots of it. There was a barbeque put on for us on the saturday evening after our activities and that was great fun and Mrs Cullen provided some local musicians which were very entertaining. Overall it was a great weekend and we would definitly go back again for the wonderful fun and hospatality that was offered to us.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

I would like to take this opportunity to thank MR&Mrs Cullen for having myself and my work colleagues stay at their village where they made us more than welcome during our stay while we were working at Greystones marina for over 2 years,they made us feel it was home from home and anything we needed was attended to imediately.It is a great place with acres of land which is safe for anyone including children to play about and do exactly what they like and be safe,lovely bbq area made out of stone as is all of the rest of the property a real country place indeed.It is also right beside the motorway (n81)where it is convenient to travell north or south in no time.Mrs Cullen is also constructing an aerosoft shooting and hunting estate for kids and adults alike where you can hunt and shoot the kids all day(lol).Your are also only 2kms from Ashford village where you can do a bit of shopping or go for a nice meal and a drink in the local hotels or pubs if you like,sometimes Belinda and Ed might join you.Myself and my coleagues will be back if Ed and Belinda will have us again.once again thankyou for having us,
Robert Anthony
Co.Antrim.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

we went to the rathmore for a long weekend with a few friends and their children. On our arrival we were unable to track down anyone to check in. We had told her that we would arrive at 4pm which we did, and she was not their to meet and greet us. She then had the bookings mixed up and tried to backtrack on what was actually booked for the price quoted. We got 3 rooms, with 1 not ready for another hour or so. Terrible organisation. Our room was absolutely terrible. The floors were rottten, worktops dirty and toilets dirty. Woodlouses found on floors, amongst other things, and the amount of cobwebs was unbelievable. One of the other family's apartment was much the same but the apartment that was'nt ready when we arrived was slightly better but still covered in cobwebs and dirt on the floors.
The owners had a lot of animals on the premises and we were forever dodging dogs and cats litter around the footpaths, which was not suitable for the children. It was a nightmare trying to keep them away from it. First impressions was great, beautiful location, stone work etc but soon realised they were shortlived. I would not recommend this holiday village to anyone, not even my worse nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napier
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Having stayed at Rathmore Country house& Holiday Village, I would say it is an amazing place to stay, for both business and family, It is very close to the village of Ashford within 2 km and to the beach, close to great golf courses. I went with a group of golfers and our families we telephoned ahead to let the owner know of our arrival time ,we were welcomed with a welcome pack and vouchers which was the offer at the time, The kettle was boiled, snacks for the children and information for things to do. Mrs Cullen was very helpful to us on what to see and do and what was suitable for our children as the weather was not great. The enclosed play area was brilliant and the children went about safely we didnt' have to worry about them.
The cottage was a 4 star two bedroom cottage, Which sleeps 7 people and the other two cottage we rented was beside it. we all found the cottages to be of excellent cleaniness and very functional. Everything was very comfortable, althou it was a cold time . we asked for more bedding which was given to us free of charge. We were told on our arrival that the electric which had been told to us that during coldweather the cost woulld be around €7.00 a day, In fact it worked out for us at €5.32 a day which was not to bad.
Would we go again, the answer would have to be yes, it is a fantastic place and so peaceful, even if it is close to N11 motorway. In the houses you can not hear a thing. and the screening aroun dampens the sound. brilliant place .

  • Liked — beautiful surroundings and excellent beds
  • Disliked — no shops on site, slow broadband
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

I stayed at this property on a self catering basis in january 2009. On arrival, the owners were not ready to meet us and took a long time to actually track them down. After banging on several doors/windows we were finally let into the cottage which was freezing cold. The heating had not been on for what must have been days (storage heaters which were freezing cold) but we were told they were cold as they had turned them off as they were expecting us 2 hours earlier!?
Due to the place being so cold, the beds actually felt damp. The rooms were a good size, however, they had not been cleaned from the previous guests as there were sweets/tissues/dust on the floors in the lounge and general dirt/dust on the floors in the other rooms. The blinds had strings of dirt hanging from them and most of the blinds were broken.
The bathroom/ensuite has a small window behind the toilet which is not etched or has a blind so any modesty would be gone after a shower/toilet as passers by would see everything. So we had to carefully prop a small suitcase in the windowsill to cover the window. The shower didnt actually work and the handle fell off when turning the shower up. There was no toilet roll as apparently this isnt supplied when self catering, although washing tablets and dishwasher tablets were supplied?!
One bedroom window too also doesnt have a curtain and looks out over the courtyard so towels had to be strategically placed to prevent people watching me sleep.
This property has been cleverly advertised in that it is marketed as having easy access to the N11, it is infact practically on the N11. In all brochures it is made to look like it is in the countryside, however it is next to a very busy road (N11) and has a constant droan of traffic all of the time. The brochure says it is walking distance to a bus to get into Dublin, however, you have to walk for over 1/2 hour quickly to get anywhere near a bus stop.
The kitchen is basically equipped, however, the microwave is nowhere near a plug socket so it has to be carried to the shelf area to plug it in. The knives are very dangerous as some of them were actually unattached from there handles and swung around when cutting into bread.
The main thing to be aware of was that after we had paid for our booking, we were then told we had to pay for electric on top of the fee, which is not mentioned anywhere else. I queried this but never had a reply to the email until after we arrived at the property. We were told the electric would be beteen 3-7 euros each day and it actually came to over 50 euros for 3 days (we were told we had one day for free, with the place being so cold). The owner was supposed to show us the meter reading before and after our stay but they did not, they gave us the huge bill as we were leaving and we were told it was so high because we had the heating on!!!!
Rathmore claims to be a 3-4star accomodation, however, i cannot believe that it is. It could be a lovely place if more effort was put in, communication improved and properties modified as it really did feel like we were camping. The place had warmed up by the time we left. We were told we would get a 10% discount for our third stay here - there unfortunatly will not even be a second stay.

  • Liked — Has potential to be good
  • Disliked — Not very clean
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village

Address: Rathmore, Ashford, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Ashford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathmore Country House & Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.