We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haggart Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Haggart Lodge B&B to your Saves list
Haggart Lodge B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lislea, Aclare, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Aclare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pasco, Washington
1 review
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Maeve is "Hostess with the Mostess"!! We were welcomed with open arms and smiles that never stopped. The hospitality was more than everything we had imagined it might be. Breakfast was dish after dish of excellent food. Rooms, hospitality and food were all excellent!! If you want a treasure of great Irish memories, you will find them at Haggart Lodge!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaggartLodge, Owner at Haggart Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was lovely to have you and your family stay with us in Haggart Lodge and that you got to visit close friends here in Aclare was extra special for you all. Thanking you again. Maeve, Donal & Jason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

There are not enough superlatives to describe our short stay at Haggart's Lodge , Maeve had been quite busy the day we arrived but still managed to give us a very heart felt welcome , her help in telling us where to find a great place to have dinner in Tobbercurry was very much appreciated . The owner of the hotel and her daughter were most obliging when it came to getting us a meal even though the kitchen was only open for residence , we were very appreciative and hopefully Maeve , you will pass this onto the hotel .
Breakfast was lovely and again nothing was too much trouble , the Irish coffee Maeve made before we went to bed was unexpected but delicious .
On leaving in the morning it was like saying goodbye to an old friend , Maeve's mum Maureen was so lovely along with Dad . Unfortunately we didn't meet Donal but we wish him health and happiness for the big " up coming " event and especially the best of everything to you Maeve .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaggartLodgeAclare, Manager at Haggart Lodge B&B, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Shanin, thank you so much for your kind and generous review, we here at Haggart Lodge greatly appreciate it. You are always welcome back to our home and to our village. Thanking you again. Maeve, Donal & Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Of our 16 day September 2012 holiday in Ireland 8 of them were spent at Haggart Lodge. Once again what a welcome we got and what a pleasure it is staying there. Rooms superb, breakfast superb, hospitality superb. Cannot think of a negative comment because there isn't one. Looking forward to seeing you September 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Haggart's Lodge (2 adults, 2 kids) for 4 nights & from the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Maeve & her mum Maureen went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We had the most amazing room with everything we needed in it. From the supreme accommodation to the incredible breakfasts, not to mention all the added extras for us & the kids, we were made to feel so much at home. Nothing was too much trouble & we thoroughly enjoyed the entire stay. Great fun & chat with Maeve & Maureen. We didn't get to meet Donal, although his contribution to our stay was greatly appreciated - thanks Donal! This family could not do enough for us & provided every bit of information we needed to help with our stay in the area. We certainly look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

In a nutshell, this B&B is simply sublime. The second we walked in the door of Maeve and Donal's deightful home, we were made to feel like part of the family. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and welcoming; they are genuine, loving and truely caring people. In addition to being so caring and helpful, Maeve and Donal went to such effort to ensure our 6 month old baby boy (and my American in-laws) had everything he (they) needed - warm milk, extra blankets, high chair(s) etc. You name it: no detail was too too much to ask.

Haggard Lodge is full of all the right things - high-end home comforts, genuine, caring and accommodating hosts and a B&B that feels like your mother's home. The sense of love, fun and kindness in the house is felt everywhere. This is by far the best B&B I have stayed at for a long time. Like all the best guest houses in the world, it is the hosts that make the experience unforgettable. We are already planning our next trip to Haggart Lodge.

Room Tip: Room are very generous, ample room and have all the mod cons you would expect in a high end hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Cannet, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

No words can say how good you feel during your stay in Haggart Lodge. It is not a special service you note, you just feel at home and not a guest in this peaceful and friendly ambiance!! So calm in the heart of nature, Aclare is the ideal departure point to drive to Connemara as also to discover Sligo and Donegal and the coast up tp Slieve League by car. After my first visit in 2007 and my second this year, I promise to come back soon! :-)
Definitely my favourite B&B in the West of Ireland, as so much more than a B&B. Maeve do not change anything, just keep yourself!!!!! All the best for you and your family. Kindest regards from Cannes!! Simone

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaggartLodge, Owner at Haggart Lodge B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind review, you and your friend where a joy to have staying in our home and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Sligo and of course in the West of Ireland. You are always welcome back to Haggart Lodge and we will keep in touch with you. Thank you again. Regards, Maeve & Donal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumilly
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were a group of four french people. We have stayed one night in this wonderful house, all was perfect, the owner's mother was charming and very warm. Maureen offered us tea while we were late. The breakfast was excellent, the view from the room was beautiful and the room was very clean and comfortable.
A ne pas manquer!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaggartLodge, Owner at Haggart Lodge B&B, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and very kind comments, my Mum Maureen enjoyed meeting you all and making you tea and coffee and of course that you all enjoyed breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to Haggart Lodge at some time in the future. Kind regards Maeve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haggart Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggart Lodge B&B

Address: Lislea, Aclare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Aclare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aclare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haggart Lodge B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haggart Lodge B&B is close to the village of Aclare and is near the Mayo Border. It is less than 20 minutes drive to Ireland West Knock Airport. Free WiFi available, All Bedrooms have ensuite facilities, IPhone/IPod docking stations, TV & Radio,Tea & Coffee making facilities. The local pubs are easily reached from the B&B, and traditional Irish music sessions in the Border Collie Pub and Joe Dan Mullarkeys. Local Walking and Cycling routes nearby, Fishing on the nearby River Inagh and River Moy. Lough Talt and Lough Easkey Loop Walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Haggart Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haggart Lodge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.