We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffs of Moher Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cliffs of Moher Hotel to your Saves list
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Liscannor, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Liscannor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel is a new modern hotel in the small village of Liscannor. There are two pubs, another hotel and a shop in Liscannor. Both pubs serve good food. The Location is great for touring the West of Clare (Doolin, Aran Islands, Cliffs of Moher Cruises, Ailwee Caves, Lahinch, Spanish Point and The Burren) and Galway City is only about an hour and a half away. The room was a good size and clean, flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, nicely decorated and bathroom was modern and clean also. It was a pity the fridge in the room wasn't working as it would have been handy to put minerals etc. in it but there was a problem with it and staff were apologetic about it. Its quiet there at night time in Liscannor, noise was never an issue. Staff were very helpful with any requests or questions we had. We stayed on a B & B basis so we didn't have any evening meals there but the breakfast had good variety of food and got us ready for the day of touring. Lahinch is only a few minutes up the road and is a really lively place with restauants, pubs, shops of all kinds and beaches and lots more. The best part about the hotel is that it is new so everything is nice and clean, bar was really cosy and would recommend to anyone staying there,look for a nice view from the room.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
81
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

we had a really nice clean room. Staff were very helpful close to a very good restaurants. we defo use this hotel again . great value .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Great location. A small hotel situated in the village of Liscannor with 3 traditional pubs, 2 serving really good food all 10-20 yards away from the hotel. €5 for taxi into Lahinch bookable through reception and 5 mins drive to Cliffs of Moher.

Rooms are modern and clean. Flat screen tv's, tea/coffee making facilities, iron, hair dryer etc.

Staff were very stressed and over worked, and it reflected in the standard of service. Thats a management issue that needs to be addressed !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We had a lovely quiet New Year break,hotel was almost empty,although I am sure this was no reflection on the accomodation or staff which were both above average for Ireland. The food was very good in the hotel itself and there is a lovely seafood restaraunt nearby which was exeptionally good.

My only complaint which is a really big gripe of mine was the cigarette buts outside the doors.This seems to be ignored by most proprieters, but looks so slovenly and I sometimes wonder if there is any correlation between outside and inside clealiness.

On this occasion this was not the case as the hotel was exeptionally clean,the rooms were very well thought out and maintained,please lets hope the level of care continues,as I would definitely go back.
Please other hotel, restaurant and especially pub owners take note, a simple measure could make your premises more welcoming and improve the appearance at no cost.

  • Liked — clean spacious room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed One night for the new year.I think it had just reopened so I will make some allowences.The welcome was friendly as usual,but some small things started to niggle,no heating turned on in the room,no bathrobes in room and a very limited choice at breakfast,even though they were charging full whack.Had great craic in the bar until the wee hours after a very good meal in Vaughans.I still think it is a very good hotel after my stay last summer and am looking forward to a few long weekends in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

I have stayed at the Cliffs of Moher hotel three times now - and I think it's terrific. Only 22 rooms - all very spacious and well designed. Clean lines, simple yet chic, large rooms (as big as many 5 star hotels) and bathrooms - yet excellent value for money. Its positioning in the middle of Liscannor village is also ideal - you can stroll to Vaughans for a meal and into the somewhat local yet - thanks to an amazing choice of wines - cosmopolitan Egans.

Book this place - you cannot go wrong! They apparently have just opened a sister hotel in Ballyvaughan so you could stay here and there, travelling up beautiful West Clare coast on your way.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealander living in London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

Loved this hotel. I had wanted to stay in Doolin, but found it difficult to find two double hotel rooms within our price range so we looked a little further and found the Cliffs of Moher Hotel.

And what an excellent find, very new (opened I think in June 2006), rooms were spacious and the breakfast was delicious.
Plasma or LCD screen on the wall, and very comfortable bed.

Full Irish breakfast included, and the cooked portion was delcious and very well presented.

Just a short drive to the cliffs of Moher and Doolin.

We didn't eat in the restaurant for the evening meal, but found the breakfast delicious.

All for only 85 EUR a room.

Would definitely recommend and would love to stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Liked — Breakfast, and the spacious room
  • Disliked — no negatives.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffs of Moher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffs of Moher Hotel

Address: Main Street, Liscannor, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Liscannor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Liscannor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliffs of Moher Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Cliffs of Moher Hotel, part of Clare Coast Hotels group, is situated along the Wild Atlantic Way, in the tranquil and picturesque fishing village of Liscannor, 4km from both the world famous Cliffs of Moher and Lahinch Golf Course. 23 Luxurious en-suite bedrooms combine with the splendid Puffin Restaurant and Submarine Bar to provide a splendid and relaxed atmosphere. Our bar and restaurant provide exceptional service, quality food and drink from the Burren and west coast of Clare region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliffs of Moher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffs of Moher Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.