We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth revisiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vaughans Anchor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vaughans Anchor Inn to your Saves list
Vaughans Anchor Inn
Main St, Liscannor, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Liscannor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Donegal
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Always worth revisiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I've been to Vaughans restaurant in Liscannor before, well worth going back.
They have a great reputation for seafood and any time I've been there I have to say that it's TRUE. It's a good idea to reserve a table but at quieter times of the year you could take a chance. The staff are helpful, cheerful and efficient. I can highly recommend Vaughans Anchor Inn in Liscannor, Co. Clare.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    10
    12
    5
See reviews for
16
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We were late enough arriving in Liscannor and decided to eat first in the bar. The food was amazing. I had the Pork which was both a pork loin and pork belly with potato dauphinoise, have to say the pork belly was the best I've ever had wish there was more of it and the dauphinoise was sublime. The BF had the mussels, which I tasted..not to my taste but he really enjoyed them. Also his portion was huge...a big pot full to the brim. The persentation of everything was superb.
We then went to check in, room was really lovely and cosy. Our room was right over the kitchen fans which was quite load but they went off at about 9pm and had been turned on when we left the next morning so did not really bother us.
A really nice touch was the basket they left outside the room door with bewleys tea, cookies, ice and glasses.
Breakfast was also lovely. Would definitely eat/stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Beautiful rooms, soft comfy beds with clean white linen. Homemade cookies served with your tea to your room daily and the best breakfast you can imagine. All this at very, very competetive prices. Everything is homemade, the jams, breads and probably smoke their own salmon. The resturant is very spendy, but the menu looks fantastic and it was full and taking reservations for seating. Wonderful stay and very convenient to the Cliffs of Moher, Doolen, and the beautiful Burren. I hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Unlike one review here I found the adventurous food combinations on offer at Vaughans really good. I had the Lobster, sauteed cod with crispy 14hr pork belly. Absolutely delicious combination. Everyone else at our table was similarly impressed. I'll definitely be back here for a treat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Vaughans is renowned for excellent food , we eat there at least 5 or 6 times over the summer over past 7 yrs & yet have to experience a bad meal !it's child friendly & the children enjoy the food there as it's not typical kids food !
Lunch menu good value & seems to be available up to 6 pm but check first. Evening menu is expensive but worth it for special effort chef puts into experience & food is of course first class ....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Ate here with my partner while staying in Liscannor for a weekend. Both of us had a wonderful meal and evening. Although the setting and layout of the restaurant were not great, the food and staff were excellent. We must have spent three hours in this laid back atmosphere enjoying the seafood platter, goats cheese, steak, cheese board and lovely wine. Cannot say enough good things about the food. A few candles or nicer table layout and it would be more than perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Vaughans Inn is a lovely place to visit, staff are friendly, food is great and the welcome was unique. I would recommened staying here, it is plesent, and a resonable price.

Room Tip: Reserve a room that is not over the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vaughans Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughans Anchor Inn

Address: Main St, Liscannor, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Liscannor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Liscannor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vaughans Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughans Anchor Hotel Liscannor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaughans Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.