We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, you will be happy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vaughans Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vaughans Anchor Inn to your Saves list
Vaughans Anchor Inn
Main St, Liscannor, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Liscannor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bend, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay here, you will be happy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Beautiful rooms, soft comfy beds with clean white linen. Homemade cookies served with your tea to your room daily and the best breakfast you can imagine. All this at very, very competetive prices. Everything is homemade, the jams, breads and probably smoke their own salmon. The resturant is very spendy, but the menu looks fantastic and it was full and taking reservations for seating. Wonderful stay and very convenient to the Cliffs of Moher, Doolen, and the beautiful Burren. I hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    10
    12
    5
See reviews for
16
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Unlike one review here I found the adventurous food combinations on offer at Vaughans really good. I had the Lobster, sauteed cod with crispy 14hr pork belly. Absolutely delicious combination. Everyone else at our table was similarly impressed. I'll definitely be back here for a treat!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Vaughans is renowned for excellent food , we eat there at least 5 or 6 times over the summer over past 7 yrs & yet have to experience a bad meal !it's child friendly & the children enjoy the food there as it's not typical kids food !
Lunch menu good value & seems to be available up to 6 pm but check first. Evening menu is expensive but worth it for special effort chef puts into experience & food is of course first class ....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Ate here with my partner while staying in Liscannor for a weekend. Both of us had a wonderful meal and evening. Although the setting and layout of the restaurant were not great, the food and staff were excellent. We must have spent three hours in this laid back atmosphere enjoying the seafood platter, goats cheese, steak, cheese board and lovely wine. Cannot say enough good things about the food. A few candles or nicer table layout and it would be more than perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Vaughans Inn is a lovely place to visit, staff are friendly, food is great and the welcome was unique. I would recommened staying here, it is plesent, and a resonable price.

Room Tip: Reserve a room that is not over the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a night whilst visiting nearby attractions such as Cliffs of Moher and Doolin, and it was absolutely fantastic. It was very busy when we arrived but we were shown around and taken to our room to settle in. Later when we returned we had been left a lovely basket outside our room with tea, coffee, bottled water, ice and some lovely homemade cookies. The room was lovely and modern and equipped with everything we needed. We didn't eat in the restaurant that night as we had had a big lunch earlier and looking at the size of the portions we wouldn't have had room! But it all looked fantastic. The breakfast was to die for, my husband said it was the best breakfast he had had anywhere and coming from him that is some compliment! Everything was homecooked and fresh. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend with my partner and we thouroughly enjoyed our time here. the rooms are generous in size with comfortable queen and king sized beds and large bathrooms, plenty of closet space too. We were delighted to find a welcome basket brought up to our room which contained some tasty homemake cookies and fresh milk-no uht used here!!!!!!!! There was ample hot water and no shortage of towels either. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we were treated to a large Irish breakfast each morning with some delicious homemade breads to accompany. We also had a mouth-watering meal both nights in the restaurant. A menu which includes delicious Scallops, Monkfish and tasty Liscannor Bay Crab Claws but there is also something for the carnivore with meat dishes including the extremely tender Donald Russell steak and Irish Lamb and of course we had to sample some of the homemade desserts which included a decadent chocolate fondant but best of all a dessert for two with a sample of everything- well worth a try. Over all it was a wonderful experience and defeniately well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vaughans Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughans Anchor Inn

Address: Main St, Liscannor, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Liscannor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Liscannor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vaughans Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughans Anchor Hotel Liscannor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaughans Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.