We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrig House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liscannor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carrig House
Save
You added Carrig House to your Saves list
Holland Street, Liscannor, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Liscannor B&B and Inns
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“100% recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our stay at Carrig House has already been in May (4 months gone), but only now I get to write a review... My boyfriend and I still talk about Maurice and Shirley now and then, they are SO remarkable people!! When we arrived there (without pre-booking, just driving by), they welcomed us warmly and asked, if we wanted a tea. Turned out the "tea" was not only that, but accompanied by bits of cake, biscuits, bread, tomatoes... and they didn't charge for this! The house is lovely, our room was nice, clean and quiet, with a lot of cosy details and very practical things like a hair dryer (which I needed) and even a hot water bottle! (which I didn't need, but good to have anyway, just in case!!).
We had been travelling around Ireland for 2 weeks, every day in a different B&B, but the breakfast at Carrig House was by far the best!!! I even took pictures of it, it was almost too nice and perfect looking to be eaten. Shirley is a real chef! Maurice, meanwhile, gave us a lot of very useful information for our walking trips. So we ended up staying 2 nights at the Carrig House, even though initially we wanted to stay only 1 night. We never regretted it and recommend this place to all our friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boardman, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Carrig House was recommended by a friend and lived up to everything they said! Maurice and Shirley were wonderful hosts! Maurice helped us plan our activities and gave us tips on how to make the most of the area near the Cliffs of Moher. Breakfast was a definite highlight! We were never even hungry for lunch. They had a wide variety of options. My son loved the eggs with smoked salmon and I enjoyed the traditional irish breakfast. Our room had a view of some old ruins and you could see the sea in the distance. On our next visit, I'll choose a room with less of a view and a larger bathroom. The rooms themselves were very clean with a few nice touches. The room had a tea kettle and tea. There were several others staying and it was still very quiet in the evening. The location is off of the main room, so it stayed very quiet.

Room Tip: Some rooms have large bathrooms, others quite small. Maurice advised me that we might want to switc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nights at the lovely Carrig House in Juily - we wish it could have been longer - we will definitely return. Maurice and Shirley are so welcoming and we have never seen a breakfast like it! Shirley makes the best ever porridge and there is so much food it keeps you going all day. Maurice gives lots of advice on the local area and things to do. Nice room and big bathroom, lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg in Holstein, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a very warm welcome by the hosts, Maurice and Shirley, so we felt comfortable and at home at once. The room we had was clean, large and bright like the other ones, just the bathroom was very small, but we managed. Our hosts were very accommodating, looking after us charmingly. Maurice has a lot of useful local informations and trip advices and loves to share them with his guests; we had a fantastic and huge irish breakfast, the largest selection ever, everything tasted delicious. It's really a lovely place to stay, highly recommended, we felt happy and welcome here and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a warm welcome as well as a delicious and really excellent breakfast. We stayed in one of the lovely furnished rooms and enjoyed our stay from the first minute in Liscannor. The guest house is locaded above the meanstreet and the rooms are very quiet. The harbour/beach as well as the restaurants and the pub of Liscannor are approx. 300 metres away from the guest house; the Cliffs of Moher a few minutes by car. Thank you very much to Maurice and Shirely Glennon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A group of friends and I stayed at Carrig House to see the Cliffs of Moher. We absolutely loved our experience. Carrig House is comfortable and cozy, and Maurice and Shirley are absolutely lovely. Shirley made us a delicious and elaborate breakfast and Maurice told us the best way to hike up to the Cliffs so that we could see way more than the visitor's center offered. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Great value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Everytime we leave Carrig House, we are already planning our return trip. My boyfriend and I have stayed with Maurice and Shirley several times in recent years, and have only recently returned home from a wonderful January break that, as always, exceeded expectations.

Every encounter at Carrig House is always perfect; each guest is treated like a new friend, and I defy you to find a better breakfast in this country; Shirley is an exceptional hostess and her fresh breakfasts with such variety are fit for a king and presented so beautifully; you'll think that you are in a Michelin star restaurant.


You will feel instantly at home in this place, and whether you are from Ireland or further afieldm should you know anyone with Irish roots, I bet Maurice will either know them or a distant relative!

Rooms are spotless, comfortable and equipped with everything you could possibly need for your break away. No request is too much at Carrig House as your hosts will go above and beyond standard service to ensure that your experience is as enjoyable as possible.

An excellent locatio; you are only a stone's through away from the wonderful pubs and restaurant in Liscannor and it is an ideal location to tour this beautiful part of the country. Their knowledge; both local and beyond is highly useful and you will never be at a loss.

My boyfriend and I are priviliged that we have had the opportunity to stay here so many times and we look forward to many more trips in the future. Although I have travelled all over the world, for service, location and sheer experience, it's hard to beat Carrig House - we promise that you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig House

Address: Holland Street, Liscannor, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Liscannor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Liscannor
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig House is a family run, deluxe bed and breakfast in Liscannor / beside the Cliffs of Moher. The property has sea views of the Atlantic Ocean and is close to Lahinch and the Burren. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrig House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.