We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rheinstein - Assmannhausen dead resort.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rheinstein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rheinstein to your Saves list
Hotel Rheinstein
Niederwaldstrasse 8, 65385 Assmannshausen, Hesse, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Assmannshausen
southend-on-sea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hotel Rheinstein - Assmannhausen dead resort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Travelled as part of a coach party - hotel quite small and fairly dark. Our room was a good size, but bathroom very small. Food for a German hotel was rather good and we were surprised as quality was good too. Resort on the edge, only shops were a small bakers, butchers and small corner cafe/shop - all other shops closed down, no souvenier shops, no supermarket, no doctor, no post office, but there was a bank.
The hotel has no lounge to relax in. apart from an area just across the road and small roof terrace with not much of a view. No easy access for disabled and dining room far too small, noisy and crowded for a large coach party. You don''t need an alarm clock as church, just across the road, wakes you up at 7 and quarter hour thereafter and the trains thunder past not stop day and night. Sleeping not good. Best place to visit and probably stay is Rudesheim am Rhine just up the road.

Room Tip: No matter what room, there is no escaping the church bells and the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

After starting out at 0210am and arriving 18 hours later at our hotel we were given a hot meal but as you could imagine all we wanted was sleep.The rooms were basic but very clean ,the food was plentiful but no choice of starter or dessert although there was two choices of the main course.The hotel was very close to the railway so if you are a light sleeper i recomend you take ear plugs although it never bothered us.They run 24 hours a day.The staff were very helpful and freindly.Ziggy is a lovely person but totaly mad in a nice way.The trips were very good and the driver STEVE was very knowledgable and came across very freindly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had a great time.our rooms were good sizes,clean, food plentyful and good assortment.Staff were so helpful and very happy.True to word live music on two of our evenings till late and very lively,great music a very happy holiday.Ziggy was the life and soul of the evenings with his entertainment had everyone laughing.He was happy and hard working like the rest of the staff
Only one complaint the smell of drifting cigarette smoke
To Ziggy Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.also Happy Birthday,Easter,Valentines Day and Halloween.
Rooms warm. Trains,Bells once asleep never heard them.

Room Tip: Anything you are not happy about just mention it to the staff,and they will put it right for you. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My wife and i spent my 40th here and it was the best time we've had!!! We travel extensively through europe, More than most people would! We arrived to a warm welcome and settled into our room, a typical german room very functional and spotless!! we then went to the restaurant for our meal, again typical german style dining with benches and long tables for sociable eating as is their culture!! not tables of two people wanting to be unsociable!!! the food all week was excelent!!! the best german food we've ever had! if you want fish and chips stay at home. No sign of frozen veg like previous comments!!! all freshly cooked food. The people of the town were all very friendly especially Siggi the barman from the hotel, what a breath of fresh air he is! always happy to see you and make you feel welcome with his great sense of humour, Anyone not finding him endearing needs a sense of humour adjustment! he may be a little crazy but thats what makes life so interesting here, it wouldn't do for all of us to be the same!!! All in all a great holiday and good value for money would recomend this hotel to anyone wishing to endulge in the true culture of a small town in the beautiful middle rhine area of germany!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Ihave for many years been going to this hotel and have made friends over the years with the family and Ziggy (who some previous reviewers think is mad) not a bit of it he is kindness itself and he always has a happy smile and friendly word. I have never found the hotel dirty, dark etc., everything has always been spick and span. The food is different but that is what you expect when on holiday if you want home cooking then stay at home and don't criticise others! I know the holiday referred to by some but it does state there is a railway nearby, but if you go to bed and go to sleep with the shutters down the train noise is minimal, and I sleep with the window wide open every night. There are a lot of hotels that do not have guest sitting rooms to sit and read in and you must remember that in Germany they do not have a "NON SMOKING" policy, it may be EU law but they ignore it and get on with living. I am a non smoker but accept that this is what they do so go with the flow.
I shall be returning once again to this hotel for a super holiday in June and am looking forward again to seeing the family that own it. Roll on June for another terrific holiday. Yes I do wear glasses but do not need to go the Specsavers! Maybe they should remove their rose tints and get back to reality we are not all the same we are different cultures, The hotel they have reviewed is not the one that I know in Assmanshausen

A happy scooter-riding holiday maker, yes I am disabled.

Room Tip: Have stayed in many never had a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We were put into what can only be described as a transformed attic room on the second floor. One window with a view of a roof 1 metre away. 3 slanting ceilings, a floor that sloped and just one easy chair. The light fitting was damaged. The shared tea/coffee making facilities did not exist on the ground floor and the first floor facilities consisted of a kettle, apparently the boiler had not been working for at least a fortnight and the taps to get the water had been removed. The thought of carrying water to the kettle, making the tea/coffee and then carrying either up a flight of circular stairs or in a lift was something not to be considered. The food was very basic, with no sign of traditional German dishes, not very well cooked and what appeared to be an abundance of frozen vegetables. The lounge was a few rows of seats in the reception area. There was nowhere to go to relax either to read or just chill other than our room, which as previously mentioned had just one chair, that made it awkward for the other occupant. We also have severe reservations about the quality of the fire escape system. It seemed to rely on aluminium stepladders which in one location was draped over a wall. Not to easy for more mature travellers. You can make up your own mind as to whether you ever visit. Certainly not worth £1,058.00.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Assmannshausen hotels

Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Good points we had a lovely big room on the second floor, with clean bed linen and towels that were changed everyday. The room had double glazed windows, plus a roller shutter, which when shut cut out a lot of the noise. Once asleep the trains did not disturb us, plus the bell on the nearby church proved to be useful as an alarm clock at 7 in the morning in time for breakfast and excursions which set off at 9.15 most days. Also the hotel is not responsible for either the trains or the church bells!
The food was fine, the breakfasts were good and plentiful, they just need to sort out the small room where the food is, it does get very crowded! The evening meals although not very imaginative were okay. The seating arrangements and style of service were what we have come across when we have been on holiday in Germany/Austria before. As for Siggy he was great fun, perhaps a bit much at the late arrival! After that we just went along with the entertainment, after all we were on holiday!
There are two bars for the hotel, the small smokie one plus one down the street which is bigger and when we were there smokefree! There was a duo on singing most nights. Also we must have been lucky because our room was opposite the roof terrace and it was fine.
The main bad points were the bathroom was small and needed a bit more cleaning, The hotel is a bit shabby and dated.
Assmannshaussen and the surrounding area is beautiful.
p.s. I have just recently been to specsavers!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rheinstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rheinstein

Address: Niederwaldstrasse 8, 65385 Assmannshausen, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Assmannshausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Assmannshausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rheinstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rheinstein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.