We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frangokastello Beach

Frangokastello Beach
Frangokastello, Sfakia, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice beach for swimming with showers/beds for hire etc. The nearby Taverna handy for drinks/meals/snacks - good service. The Venetian Fort behind the beach is well worth a visit if you are a history lover.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    22
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
“Trip review 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It was lonely and magically distant. All kinds of people, friendly, nice place for snorkeling, shallow water is excellent for kids, no urchins of jellyfish.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible experience in Taverna Drosoulites - overcharged and intimidated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We love our visits to Crete and have toured extensively around the north of the island, Rethymnon, Knosos, Spili, Vrisses - all magical with great hospitality. Today was an exception, with our visit to Frangokastello turning into a nightmare. We parked at the castle and strolled into the big taverna -opposite the fortress, where we were charged €250 for a meal for 2 adults and 3 children.

€250 for lunch- all we had was a fish, 2 children's portions of calamari, one glass of wine, one coke and a bottle of water!!!! We challenged the bill 3 times, refusing to pay the ridiculous charge. On the third occasion, we were surrounded immediately by 3 members of staff, who proceeded to intimidate us for 5 mins until we paid - not the full amount - but all the cash we had on us for our day trip from Rethymnon. Very threatening, especially with 3 small children in tow - which is probably why we were targeted in this manner.

Our advice, avoid Taverna Drosoulites, the big taverna opposite the fortress, at all costs. 5 star hotels on the Champs Elysses are cheaper. We have been to Greece 10 times and have NEVER been treated so badly anywhere. It's a disgrace to the island and all the other fabulous tavernas in Crete. It has ruined our holiday and we will never return to the south of the island. Didn't stay around after the horrible experience in Taverna Drosoulities, so can't comment otherwise on the area.

We have reported the matter to the tourist police as we hope nobody else will be 'robbed' and intimidated the way we were.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, CZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Picturesque side-trip from Samaria Gorge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We came to the area for the Samaria Gorge and were looking for something else to do. This is a pretty, wide beach with an interesting fortress right on the bluff. Fun to wander around. We would have liked to tour the fortress but time was limited.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Clean beach, please keep it clean and take your rubbish (including cigarettes) with you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have loved our visits to this beach, some areas are sandy and others with fine pebbles. The snorkeling is amazing.

Please help to keep our beaches clean, and take away more rubbish that you arrived with - including cigarette butts. I always hunt around for old ciggy butts and put them into our bag which we dispose of away from the beach.

There some lovely bars and restaurants above the beach where we have enjoyed lunches and drinks.

The water is crystal clear with a sandy bottom and does not get too deep too quickly. Ideal for children.

Half of the beach is naturist, and there is a good tolerance between naturists and non-naturists.

Once of our favourite beaches in the area.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frangokastello Beach also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Frangokastello Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frangokastello Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.