We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Namibia geteway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zebra River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zebra River Lodge to your Saves list
Zebra River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   D 850 | Maltahohe District, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park 9000, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Namibia geteway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing holiday. The service is amazing and the rooms comfortable and uniquely decorated. Compliments ti the chef. Dinners were delicious and it was no problem to accommodated vegetarians.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Zebra River Lodge was our first stop outside Windhoek. We'd had a long drive on gravel roads which we took very slowly as we had hired a saloon car - wished we'd hired a 4 x 4!. We were late arriving but received a lovely warm welcome from Geraldine and staff and enoyed a good meal. The rock chalet had magnificent views.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We arrived at the lodge after a 10 hour drive and had a wonderful time there for 2 nights. Geraldine the landlady gave us a warm welcome and we felt at home straight away. The lodge is located about 80km from Soussusvlei surrounded by mountains. Pure nature. Breathtaking view especially when swimming in the pool which is big enough to do some lenghts. First night we were driven up the mountain for sundowners. Afterwards we had a fantastic meal in the tastefully furnished restaurant. Day 2 Louis the landlord drove to Soussusvlei with us, climbed up Big daddy and showed us how to run down the dune. He is good fun and made the trip very special. Back at the lodge another delicious meal and a fun night with the landlords and a lovely couple from Belgium who were on the trip with us that day. We stayed in a fantastic house with terrace. The interiour was cosy, original, special - just wonderful! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we had to leave the next day. There is far more to do around the lodge which we will explore next time we are there. Out of the 4 weeks in Namibia this was one of the 3 best places - close to paradise. People we met there are in our hearts.
Thanks again Geraldine and Louis for making our stay so magical.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We spent 2 amazing days at Zebra River Lodge. The staff were the friendliest we have experienced during our travels through Namibia. The owners Louis and Geraldine were very welcoming and made us feel as though this was our "home away from home". The food was excellent and well presented, the rock chalet we stayed in was spotless and the interior tasteful. The walk to the natural spring was like discovering a gem in the middle of the desert, Jobie our guide was very friendly and informative. We will definitely be back as this Lodge was one of our highlights.

Room Tip: The rock chalets at the foot of the mountain are recommended as the views are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsa Alam, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have been visiting Zebra River Lodge yearly since 2006. The area has a long history to show. It hosted the first living organism with a shell a few hundred million years ago , as well as our prehistoric forefathers that used handaxes as tools, and is still today a magnificent place to be. Zebra River Lodge is a wonderful lodge with welcoming warm hosting by Geraldine and Louis located in a fantastic scenery! Ideal for nature lovers with its remote location, rich hiking trails and view upon a waterhole that is regularly visited by wild life.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent a night here en route from Sossusvlei to Windhoek and it was a great place to break the journey. Wonderful setting in the mountains and really nice sundowners on the top of a hill with sightings of the mountain zebras which was very special. Great food and very friendly staff. But this is not a place to go in midsummer-we were given rooms without an air-conditioner or ceiling fan and one room didnt even have any screens so one coudnt even open the windows.-quite unbearable.There was also only a flimsy shower curtain between the bedroom and bathroom which was very awkward.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We loved this lodge which is set in its own canyon. It is obviously very well managed by Louis and Geraldine and spotlessly clean. The food is home cooked and delicious, and well above the standards of most lodges, even ones that charge several times more. It was clear that the lodge treats its staff very well and much better than the larger lodges so attracts very good people who seem to enjoy working there. Everyone we talked to genuinely seemed to love the place.
We went on some good walks with a guide and on our own, and Louis took us to look for pre-historic hand tools in the valley which we greatly enjoyed. The owners have been there just over a year and really deserve great success. We will return on our next visit to Namibia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zebra River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zebra River Lodge

Address: D 850 | Maltahohe District, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zebra River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zebra River Lodge is situated on 12 500 hectares of dramatic scenery, deep in the Tsaris Mountains of southern Namibia and merely a hour and half drive from Sesriem and the Magic Dunes of Sossusvlei. Zebra River Lodge has welcomed guests to its special environment for more than 15 years. Let the warmth and our Namibian hospitality welcome you to a place of light and airy spaces on the slopes of the Zebra River Canyon. We invite you to relax under an azure-blue sky and to feast your senses on our tranquil surroundings where you can listen to the silence of nature. Visit this magic place where the setting sun makes the mountains glow in golden color and beautiful stars guide you through your sleep ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Zebra River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zebra River Lodge Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zebra River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.