We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Camp

Save Saved
You added Desert Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Camp
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   D826 road | Maltohöhe District, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia (Formerly Sossusvlei Desert Camp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Desert Camp! We were greeted and looked after by Francis who was friendly and informative. Reading some of the TripAdvisor reviews from other visitors shows me that Desert Camp must have made some improvements because we had air con in the rooms. I was really surprised by the great quality of the rooms in the canvas tents. Nice beds, awesome bathroom, plenty of air flow through the tents if you unzip the windows. Not sure why people were complaining about it being cold at night as there are plenty of extra blankets in the cupboard. Cool little kitchenette that zips away nicely so it's protected from bugs/etc. Super cold fridge a winner to keep those Windhoek Lagers nice 'n chilly!

Ordering the raw foods to cook yourself was a major bonus. Was very happy with the quality and price. I thought I had ordered 1 kudu steak and 1 beef steak, but we got 3 little kudu steaks and 2 beef steaks! Boerewors, 2 salads, 2 potatoes wrapped in tin foil, 1 tomato & 1 onion all came to R120! Excellent value. If you pay a R300 returnable deposit, you get a green trunk with all the utensils you'd need to cook and eat your chow, including tea & coffee. We had our own wood and firefighters, but those are on sale as well if you didn't bring your own.

We were happily awoken by 2 owls perched on our tent at 3am in the morning. Incredible moonrise and sunrise all included in the price! Very near to the entrance of the Sossuvlei Park (about 2km's). Great swimming pool & bar.

I highly recommend Desert Camp. It's 1/3 of the price of Sossusvlei Lodge & if I was offered the choice to stay anywhere in that area again & had no idea of the rates, I would have chosen Desert Camp anyway because to us it was the most authentic, chilled Namib Desert experience. It's a shame that the gate keepers and staff at the actual entrance to Sossuvlei Park weren't as friendly and helpful as those at Desert Camp.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Shoutsta,
Thank you for your excellent review! Very happy to hear you enjoyed everything about our accommodation units so much and that you liked your ‘fresh food’ parcel. Thanks for the kind compliments to Francis and all our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
P.S. We do have 1 unit in Desert Camp with an air conditioner, so guess you were lucky ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    49
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
83
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at desert camp and were very happy with the location (close to the sossusvlei entrance) and with the tent and the facilities. Both nights we ordered food for the braai, which was very easy with the ordering form and was delivered at our tent. The kudu tasted very good! We also enjoyed the swimming pool and bar. In the evening we also had some nice cocktails at the bar, the staff was also friendly. Only downside was that it was hot in the tent and no airco and there could have been more sun beds at the swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaleniAfrica, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Lovetogoonholiday,
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the swimming pool and bar area and that you found our 'fresh food on order' so convenient.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved this place.

The name says it all: it really is a camp in the desert. Great view from the terrace of the tent (bigger and much more comfortable than that word implies, with a great en suite bathroom). Well-equipped and so useful to have a fridge.

Silly little swimming pool, but better than nothing. Friendly, informative, welcoming staff.

Excellent breakfast and dinner taken at nearby Sossusvlei Lodge (as no restaurant at Desert Camp).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear BackInLondon,
Thank you for your review and very kind compliments to our staff! We are delighted to hear you loved Desert Camp and the views so much.
Looking forward to your next visit!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifensee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Desert-Camp is located just a short distance to the entrance of the Sossusvlei national park. So the location is quite good. There are some petrol stations nearby, and also some resorts, so no need to worry about food ;-) Staff is very friendly, and the tents as such are in very good condition. Be aware that no AC is available, and it can be extremely hot in the Sossusvlei area. That is definitely a disadvantage if you go for the tents - and that is the only thing the desert camp offers. There were also some relatively minor details such as some things being out of order when we stayed there, but nothing drastic. So I would say that it was probably not a perfect, but a very good stay.

Room Tip: Tents are all the same, so no worries about getting a special one ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Whatever007,
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the location of Desert Camp. Apologies for the minor out of order issues – it has been resolved soon thereafter.
Looking forward to welcome you back at Desert Camp on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrip, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Tent Camp next to the soussuvlei Gate. Well organized, clean and a Great view to both sides of the Valley. We desided on a barbeque by ourselves and found the Service to be excellent, the Camping Box included just everything and the Steaks were Impala, kudu and eland. We relaxed at the very small, but scenic Pool during the afternoon. Just do this Camp, much better than the next by Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Kerstin R,
Thank you so much for your review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, the views, the small pool and the steaks you ordered to barbeque.
We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Desert camp is basic and adequate. Our group of 8 stayed there and had no complaints. It is self catering or like us you can trek up to the Lodge 5ks away and get your meals. (coming from overseas self cater was not an options). Once we checked in we did not see hair or hide of anyone - so were left in complete peace. If you want your bed made up in the mornings and clean towels this is not the place to be. There is also no air-conditioning and one of our group had a fan that was not working. The meals at Soussesvlei Lodge were really good. The activities also take place from the Lodge. Because we were just one vehicle and all wanted to do separate activities, it necessitated lots of driving backwards and forewards. The road is also slow going, being dirt. Desert Camp was peaceful and none of us could complain but in future we would opt for staying at Soussesvlei Lodge just for convenience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Meredith,
Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the peacefulness of Desert Camp and the meals and activities offered at Sossusvlei Lodge.
Looking forward to welcome you at Sossusvlei Lodge on your next visit to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We chose Desert camp after looking at several places and we were not disappointed. Desert Camp was our last stop in our 1 week trip of Namibia and we enjoyed what I was told was 'glamourous' camping. I don;t regret the glamour aspect at all!

Set in the middle of nowhere, it had magnificent views and provided an easy distance to the dunes. The tented chalets were great and we had a good deal on the luxury one which included an air conditioner. We loved the self contained kitchen units and it gave us the freedom of making our own meals...this was particularly great as the other option was to go to the Sossusvlei lodge for a high priced buffet - high priced for us because we are vegetarians and it would not have made much sense for us to pay a princely sum for a limited meal! The option to choose from a pre-prepared grocery list is a brilliant idea and the what we got in terms of vegetables was of superb quality. The service itself was excellent and the team we had of Franz, Rueben and Irene made the difference.

The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were spacious and had a good running hot water. Thanks...it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had the Tent 1 which afforded us a lot of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Desert Camp, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Harrypot,
Thanks for your wonderful review of you recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your ‘glamorous’ camping experience! Thank you also for the compliments to the quality of food you received from the pre-order-list and we deeply appreciate the kind words of praise for our staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Namibia!
Best wishes,
The Desert Camp Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Camp

Address: D826 road | Maltohöhe District, Sossusvlei, Namib-Naukluft Park, Namibia (Formerly Sossusvlei Desert Camp)
Location: Namibia > Khomas Region > Namib-Naukluft Park > Sossusvlei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty lodging in Sossusvlei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Camp 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sossusvlei Desert Camp Hotel Sossusvlei
Desert Camp Sossusvlei, Namibia - Namib-Naukluft Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.