We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for your summer holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bussola Gastro Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Bussola Gastro Hotel to your Saves list
La Bussola Gastro Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Giuseppe Berto | Località Faro Capo Vaticano, 89866 Capo Vaticano, Ricadi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Capo Vaticano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for your summer holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were at La Bussola for 5 days in July and we spent very nice days over there.
Fabrizio and the hotel staff were excellent, going to the extra mile without any problem.
Food was absolutely delicious and staff all the time very pleasant and courtesy.
Is a very recomended choice for any type of holidays.
Even if the closest beach is not properly walking distance, the hotel offers a free shuttle bus service which runs often during the day.
Highly recomended if you want to visit beach and all around one of the best spots in italy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    171
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
228
270
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

La Bussola hotel is run by Giuliano family and we were treated like we were part of it.
Hotel is beautifully situated in hillside with spectacular view of Stromboli island. To the beach is approximately 5 minutes by car. You can use complimentary shuttle offered by the hotel or you can take a walk which is very pleasant too (but only if you’ll be able to steal out of the hotel without being catch by Fabrizio or one of his brother always ready to give you a lift at any time of the day).
The food in the hotel is incredibly delicious and after one try to eat out of the hotel we happily stayed for the rest of the week eating “at home”.
But there is no time to rest. Hotel offers many other activities – cooking class, Eolia island trip, boat trip around the coast, ‘Nduja tour (for chilli lovers), biking, hikning and much more!
And after busy day you can relax by the outside pool surrounded by all kinds of Mediterranean plants and trees carefully tended.
The combination of high standard of services, friendly family atmosphere and beautiful surroundings is what makes this place very special for staying and enjoying life. Can’t wait to go back there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked this hotel for one night and wished that we had booked for longer - the management and staff could not have done more to make us feel welcome and make our stay comfortable - an excellent base

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I took a group of 8 people and myself to La Bussola in May. I found it on the internet and it turned out to be even more than they promised it would be. Fabrizio and his brothers did everything to make our stay a great one. We were treated as if we were family. Whether I requested a guide for Tropea, a gastro tour or a place to eat, it was always taken care of and we were treated as if we were family. Even the Calabria Evening was perfect and on the night I requested for the group. They even had a cake and spumante for the three people who celebrated birthdays while we were in Italy! Unfortunately we did not stay long enough! This is a place not to be missed by couples, families, groups or even single! There is no elevator, but you are better off walking up a flight or two to work off the great meals you are served! Bravo La Bussola!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My group and I went to La Bussola as part of our group trip through Italy. Out of all the hotels we stayed at, La Bussola was the most cultural. We got a true taste of Italian culture with an excellent spread of traditional Calabria dishes at the Calabria night festival. There was live music as well as countless different dishes to choose from. The food was outstanding as well as the servers. The staff at La Bussola was not only accommodating, but truly sincere and friendly. They did whatever they could to help our group be comfortable as well as entertained. The pool area is beautiful, and the hotel is only minutes away from the beach. This is a nice family owned hotel and you could really feel the sense of family and culture while staying there. The rooms are very clean and have beautiful views. One of the nights was my birthday and the staff came with champagne and sang to me bringing a beautiful cake with happy birthday written on it. It was a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: there is no elevator, so if you have trouble with steps, pick a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

La Bussola is beatiful place. Air smells by jasmine, in the morning you hear roosters crow instead of trams or buses. On the horizon Stromboli, mysterious island (and homy volcano). Service is professional and friendly. The hotel is ran for 30 yrs by family Giuliano, family with 4 sons each of them involved in the daily business (they learned "mestiere" in the kitchen since they were kids). Food is simple and great in the best Calabrian tradition. Place is traditional yet modern, free wifi and bio is a must. The place is managed with future in mind, carefully with attention to various needs. It's just a great place to be.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Pros:
Nicely appointed rooms, very clean everywhere in the hotel, friendly and helpful staff, nice pool, good location for exploring by car.
Cons:
Traffic noise can be intrusive,service at mealtime (see below), hard beds
------
We travelled out on 3rd October so my following comments may only be relevant to the low season
We booked half-board as the food was well reviewed and I have to say generally what we had for evening meal was very good. The breakfast was uninspiring, some cold meats, tomatoes, eggs etc would have been welcome. Main meals for the evening were selected at breakfast time!
Evening meals were served at 8pm....precisely! Starters and main courses arrived in a slightly 'Fawlty Towers' style on a large trolley, were dispatched and then the trolley was left on standby ready to whisk the plates away, after each course the plates were promptly removed as soon as you had finished, irrespective of whether your partner/spouse were still eating! Dessert was fairly forgettable, no Italian classics on the nights we ate there. Breakfast tables were being laid around us where diners had left and the whole experience was over by 9pm!

I don't wish to paint a negative picture of the hotel, and as I said previously, I appreciate it was low season when we were there. But with just a little more thought the meals could have been a much more enjoyable experience rather than a little comical!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and nearby Tropea is stunning, with numerous restaurants in less of a rush.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for views but 1st floor has a large terrace which is nice to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bussola Gastro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bussola Gastro Hotel

Address: Viale Giuseppe Berto | Località Faro Capo Vaticano, 89866 Capo Vaticano, Ricadi, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > Capo Vaticano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Capo Vaticano
#1 Romantic Hotel in Capo Vaticano
#2 Family Hotel in Capo Vaticano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bussola Gastro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is located in Capo Vaticano Ricadi on Viale Giuseppe Berto, very close to Tropea (8 km - 9 minutes by car). The nearest town to the hotel is San Nicolo of Ricadi which is about 750 metres away - about 10 minutes on foot. The railway station of Ricadi is 900 metres away and is 12 minutes on foot. By train you can get to North way: Tropea (8 minutes), Pizzo Calabro (25 minutes), and other beautiful places along the coast. South way: Coccoriono (5 minutes), Nicotera (10 minutes), Scilla (45 minutes), Reggio Calabria (60 minutes) and other places. Throughout the day there is a shuttle bus service which connects our hotel with nearby Tropea and others places to see. This bus service runs to a fixed timetable. It can be easily reached by car as it near the road which goes from Tropea to Vibo Valentia and is about 30 kilometres from the latter. It can be easily reached by train as the nearest Ricadi station is only 0,950 metres away. The Lamezia Terme international airport is 60 kilometres from our hotel, Reggio Calabria airport is 120 kilometres from our hotel. The nearest beach is "Torre Ruffa" (it is a sandy beach) and is 950 metres away; Here the water gets deep gradually. Our guests also have a beach shuttle service at their disposal to go to "Grotticelle" (Objectively the most beautiful in the all Calabria, gradual depth and with fine white sand). This service runs from the morning and continues throughout the day following a flexible timetable to cover the whole day (Every hour go/back). Grotticelle is only three minutes away by shuttle; At the beach you can take advantage of many services (at prices of the Convention) to name a few: the excursion along the coast (from Capo Vaticano, untill after Tropea with several stops in the most beautiful spots to make the bathing or snorkeling (equipment included), eat fresh fish with drink on board, excursion to the fabulous beaches of Capo Vaticano and many other activities and water sports. Our hotel offers you special beach service rates (not obligatory as the beach is not private one): 1 beach umbrella and sun loungers for € 9,00 per room, per day (2 peoples). It is possible to make a lump-sum payment. Price is exclusively reserved to our customers. Particular attention is devoted to the cleaning of the rooms, every other part of the hotel and to the guest. This is "three star superior" hotel, far 0,500 mts from the centre of the village of San Nicolo of Ricadi. The hotel offer an efficient shuttle bus service from/to the best destinations that must be visited. The hotel is very renowned for its delicious cuisine. We were guests in the italian TV SHOW "Domenica del Villaggio" on Channel 5, "Vecchia fattoria"on Rai 1, We have been reported on the main guides of the sector and on the italian daily newspaper "Repubblica", and we have also prepared the best products of our local gastronomic for some Italian actor of TV series "Gente di Mare" at the port of Tropea. The menu' of our Restaurant changes every day, both lunch and dinner. The pre-cooked food does not exist here, we cook all at the moment. Once a week they organize tastings of Calabrian typical products: "Calabria evening", a multi-course buffet feast during which the best regional specialties are served with popular music, songs and dances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your La Bussola Gastro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Bussola
La Bussola Tropea
La Bussola Gastro Hotel Capo Vaticano, Italy - Calabria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bussola Gastro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.